Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£11.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2010
this book was magical, i collect leaves all the time and other natures offerings, my three year old also gets leaves for me- after reading leaf man he pointed out of the car window on our long drive to work and shouted leaf man- i've just seen leaf man! i looked and there was a pile of beautiful leaf men coloured leaves! it was magical thanks lois xxx
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Great seller - item arrived as described

I ordered this book along with many others to fit in with an Autumn theme at school and it is such a beautiful book. My daughter now can't wait until Autumn so she can find her own 'leaf man' - I hope my pupils will feel the same!

Ideal for all ages of children (my class are 4 to 5 year olds, my daughter is 10) as the way it is written can be interpreted at different levels.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
This is an amazing book. I bought it as a Foundation Stage teacher embarking on a creative Autumn / Harvest topic. The ideas and illustrations are magical - love it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
This is a brilliant book! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. This book is great to use in the Autumn when the leaves are colourful and falling from the trees. A great activity to go alongside this book is to get children outside making their own leaf people. This book and activity always goes down well.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
As a book from 2005 I was a bit surprised that it was still only available in hardback and thought that it was fairly expensive for a child's book, but this book is amazing and definitely value for money. It is so much more than yet another Autumn story. It is a simple tale that captures the imaginations of the young and old, initially everyone wanted to know what happens next and turning the pages that are cut into the scenery is fun and eye catching, but it is the incredible illustrations that make this book a must read. Lois Ehlert has really shown that you can use any media to create a picture (my favourite by far is the leaf cow), the colours, the patterns and the shapes are so clear they almost jump out of the book at you. By the end of it you really do want to go out and play in the leaves and make your own characters. The book is set in America but the theme carries across the Atlantic nicely, making it an ideal teaching tool for an early years class, key stage 1 children or any forest school or outdoor setting. It can also be enjoyed by older children and grandparents too. It is also worth remembering that this was written before Julia Donaldson's Stickman as the themes do overlap, and I would highly recommend both books as they nicely compliment each other.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Beautiful seasonal illustrations. Animals referred to in the story are created from leaves. Very inspiring. Suitable for one to one or group reading.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
Great book to inspire and help develop the imagination in small people! Artwork is fantastic page size great.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
A fantastic, colourful well illustrated book to grab the attention of young children. A great book to introduce the Autumn season. Opens opportunities to develop craft work both indoors and outdoors.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
Its good artistically but not very varied...I think children might not visit often....it will be up to the reader to add imagination as the art is good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A beautiful picture book, very much enjoyed by my grandchildren who go out for walks often and collect natural things.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.