Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not the movie, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
So, having seen the Disney movie Bedknobs and Broomsticks, you know the whole story, right? Wrong! Being a fan of that movie, I picked up this book expecting some minor discrepancies, but was amazed to find a story that had practically nothing in common with the movie.
This is the story of Carey, Charles and Paul Wilson who, while staying with their aunt in Bedfordshire, suddenly discover that a neighbor, Miss Price is a witch! Not your stereotypical witch, Miss Price is a prim and proper lady who is willing to buy the children's silence with the gift of a magic bed knob that will allow the children to travel through space and time. Seeking to visit their mother, the children find themselves scooped up by the London police. Next, Miss Price takes them to an isolated tropical island, only to discover that cannibals inhabit the island. Their final adventure takes them to Restoration England, where they meet a forlorn (and inept) necromancer, Emelius Jones.
This story (actually two books combined into one) is quite charming. In a gentle and freewheeling fashion, Mary Norton draws the reader along on a fantastic adventure. This book is just right for the young reader, with a few nice illustrations, and a wonderful storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bed-knobs and Broomstick, 5 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
My youngest granddaughter (9) asked for this book for Christmas along with the Video, she is currently reading it and it is giving her so much pleasure, that being the case it is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bed-Knob and Broomstick, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
This book contains the two original children's stories and are the basis of the part animated disney film of the same name.
'The Magic Bed-Knob' and 'Bonfires and Broomsticks.'

I bought this book for my father's Christmas Box, this Yuletide just gone. He had fond memories of renting it from his local library in the mid 1950s and it has brough back many pleasant memories.

I must admit to having not read this Mary Norton classic but having read all 'The Borrowers' stories she wrote I can safely say this is once book your children cannot do without. This is a tale of friendship and love, not to mention adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bed-knob and broomsticks, 20 April 2014
By 
Jan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
loved this dvd, surprised that i have never watched it. Hillarious in some parts, tearful in others. Brilliant to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Obviously not as good as her borrowers stories-pity she stopped writing about them ..., 22 July 2014
By 
D.L.EDWARDS (LEEDS, YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
Obviously not as good as her borrowers stories-pity she stopped writing about them after" The borrowers avenged" which I really enjoyed.Still the book was enjoyable though probably for younger readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly. Good book., 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
Just started reading it and my daughter loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
It arrived as stated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all like the film, 19 Dec 2010
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
This was rather disappointing as I loved the film as a child in the 1970s. The book, based on two novellas, bears only a slight resemblance to its much more famous cinematic counterpart. Much of the book is rather more mundane, though the final section is much more macabre and could not have been part of a Disney film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific children's tale, 26 April 2009
This review is from: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (Paperback)
A magical story that every child will adore, this is a real adventure that leaves you wanting more.
A timeless classic that deserves space on every family's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bed-Knob and Broomstick
Bed-Knob and Broomstick by Mary Norton (Paperback - July 2000)
4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews