Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Educational Resource
As a student teacher i have found this book had a magical quality due to its beautiful illustrations best seen in its big book format. The children i used this book were captivated and inspired to learn more about the Amazon Rainforest. I used this book to introduce the children to learning about the Amazon Rainforest in a geographical context and its inspired some...
Published on 16 Nov. 2002 by charlottie

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars dull and uninspiring for
awful turgid story, badly written, dull and uninspiring for kids
Published 9 months ago by B. J. Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Educational Resource, 16 Nov. 2002
This review is from: The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Gulliver books) (Hardcover)
As a student teacher i have found this book had a magical quality due to its beautiful illustrations best seen in its big book format. The children i used this book were captivated and inspired to learn more about the Amazon Rainforest. I used this book to introduce the children to learning about the Amazon Rainforest in a geographical context and its inspired some great geography in the classroom! If you want your child/class to be inspired to learn more about the Amazon Rainforest this book is a must have! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for teaching, 10 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely, simple book with fantastic pictures in. I used it for teaching year 5 children about rainforests. A simple story but story line links well to deforestation and the illustrations link to the different types of rainforest animals. Will use it with my own children too. Suitable for all primary ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kapok Tree, 14 May 2010
By 
Sonya Iovieno (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My kids absolutely loved this book, reading it every day for a full two weeks. The illustrations are great with lots of content to stimulate questions and discussions about the Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read., 20 Mar. 2011
Spent a week using this with my Year 5 class as a basis for our Literacy, Geography and Science work. It also linked in really well with PSHE. The book itself is beautifully illustrated and the message within the text is one that anyone can easily grasp. I would highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the rainforest and in our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fabulous rainforest story ever!, 9 Mar. 2011
This is a really good book. Buy it to tell your children about how it's going to be if we don't stop deforestation. It tells you about the animals that live in the rainforest. An amazing book with great illustrations for children and adults. Interesting too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS BOOK, 15 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Gulliver books) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful story brought to life by beautiful artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree, 25 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our grandson who is only three and a half and crazy about animals loved this book. Very colourful and with interesting facts and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
Be The Change (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
A really lovely book for everyone. The illustrations are beautiful and the story filled with meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Jan. 2011
I spent ages looking for this book after using it a while back during a teaching practice, so glad I now have it to share with my class! The story is beautifully illustrated and well written so engages both younger and older children.
My year 4 children loved sharing it, and it inspired lots of fantastic Geography/Citizenship work on deforestation and the animals of the rainforest.
Well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, the Great Kapok Tree., 16 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to be used with my class of 8 and 9 year olds. The book is beautifully illustrated, and the story is a clear one. It's about the wildlife that depend on the tree for their survival, and the impact of deforestation on wildlife. It's gone hand in hand with whole school environmental work we've done for Healthy Schools NQA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Gulliver books)
£11.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews