Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in one of the 20th century's finest voices
The poems of TS Eliot are a spiritual journey from the cynical through the barren to an expected rebirth and the rise of a rich, mature and positive voice. The highlights of the journey are The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock, The Waste Land, Ash Wednesday, Journey of the Magi and Four Quartets. But the scenery by the way-side such as Portrait of a Lady, the Hollow Men,...
Published on 7 Feb 2004 by Martin Turner

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Things fall apart
It is great to be able to purchase a complete works from the author's original publisher. One does not expect full annotation, great typography or the best binding but the sad fact is that the pages of this volume fall out at the mearest hint of repeat reading, as happened for me with Four Quartets. If you want to actually read Eliot find something else. The book can't be...
Published on 19 Sep 2010 by Ivan Kilburn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose yourself in one of the 20th century's finest voices, 7 Feb 2004
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The poems of TS Eliot are a spiritual journey from the cynical through the barren to an expected rebirth and the rise of a rich, mature and positive voice. The highlights of the journey are The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock, The Waste Land, Ash Wednesday, Journey of the Magi and Four Quartets. But the scenery by the way-side such as Portrait of a Lady, the Hollow Men, is worth a long visit. Even the minor and unfinished poems have their moments.
As a bonus, this volume contains all of Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats. Eliot is here in off duty mode, having fun and allowing his genius for rhythm and language to seep into our minds without demanding our attention.
The plays get better as they go on. Many people only know Eliot's plays for the perennial school classic Murder in the Cathedral. This is a pity because it is the least typical. The Coctail Party is probably the best. To understand what Eliot was doing, though, you really need to read some of his critical writing on drama and on religion.
This book lacks some very necessary apparatus. Translations of the cryptic Greek and Italian quotations would be helpful. Of course, enormous volumes have been written detailing all the references in the Waste Land, and we are better off not having them in this master copy.
Ultimately, this is the most economical and useful way of acquiring Eliot's published creative works - but remember that Eliot the critic was as great as Eliot the poet, and probably greater than Eliot the playwright. To understand him, read first his critical writings before you go on to what others have written about Eliot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Things fall apart, 19 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is great to be able to purchase a complete works from the author's original publisher. One does not expect full annotation, great typography or the best binding but the sad fact is that the pages of this volume fall out at the mearest hint of repeat reading, as happened for me with Four Quartets. If you want to actually read Eliot find something else. The book can't be faulted, but the product just doesn't do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eliot in one handy text, 27 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are many anthologies and selected works of Eliot's poems but there is nothing quite like having all of his plays and poetry in one text and this one is ideal. It is also the most sensible and economical way to buy his plays and poems; buy individual anthologies would cost considerably more and, undoubtedly, have omissions.

The collection is vast and, reading through the contents, one sees writings one had forgotten. Like one other reviewer, one omission I think worth correcting in future editions is the lack of translations of some of his more obscure quotations but this is a small criticism.

There are many critical works worth keeping handy, e.g. "A Student's Guide to the Selected Poems of T. S. Eliot" [Paperback]
B.C. Southam, ISBN-13: 978-0571170821.

I would also recommend buying the CDs of Eliot reading his own work. Others do it well but none as good as TS himself.

T.S. Eliot Reads: "The Wasteland", "Four Quartets", and "Other Poems" [Audiobook] [Audio CD] ISBN-13: 978-0007202638
T.S. Eliot Reads: "Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats, the Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock" ISBN-13: 978-1907907050

Also recommended: "The Waste Land Facsimile: A Facsimile and Transcript of the Original Drafts" [Paperback]
T.S. Eliot , Valerie Eliot ISBN-13: 978-0571254507 - it seems to bring the creative process nearer

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works of author complete, 1 April 2011
By 
P. A. Pendrey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains all the plays and poems of T.S. Eliot. Some of the works are quite complex to understand and some are written in Latin and French and some Greek. It would have been nice if the foreign language ones could have been translated in a separate chapter. A good set of explanatory notes would also have been useful. A highly interesting book for any student of the poets.
An interesting read to make you think. Wish the foreign language poems were translated so they can be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the multilingual, 2 Sep 2010
Great to have a complete collection and faber should be congratulated but.... As a previous reviewer noted, there are no translations provided. This is a major problem as entire poems are in french (I think) and other poems have quotes and introductions in French, Greek, Latin, Italian(?), etc.
Glad I got this collection but will now need to get other editions with the poems and passages translated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Also very useful as source of good chapter headings, 30 Jun 2014
keep finding fresh gems each time I open a page at random. Also very useful as source of good chapter headings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars . Essential source for studying T S Eliot, 27 April 2014
By 
V. H. Svoboda (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A comprehensive source of Eliot's poetry and dramatic works. The edition is of a fine quality, but ubnfotunatelly contains some brutal ink written notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some of the best poems of the last century. some lines will stay with me throughout my life - moving music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you love Eliot, buy it, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Adam Smith (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its great to have the poems and plays together in one volume. Those who have gone beyond a first encounter with Eliot will want this, and will not regret ease of reference, as there are many resonances between the poetry and the plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uni. text restored, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent anthology of the the complete poetry of T. S. Eliot. It is a pleasure to be able to read selected writings when one desires. I enjoyed studying Eliot during my University days and have always lamenting misplacing my original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Poems and Plays,: 1909-1950
Complete Poems and Plays,: 1909-1950 by T. S. Eliot (Hardcover - Jun 1952)
£20.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews