Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,075
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It's DIARY OF A WIMPY KID #2, and I can't wait to read #3. These books are fantastic. The tales and adventures of Greg Heffley and his creative illustrations are well worth your time.

Greg begins his second diary. He almost decided it wasn't worth it after Rodrick got his hands on the first diary, but once again he writes about his frustrations with his older brother, Rodrick, and his younger brother, Manny. Greg reveals all the embarrassing encounters involving his mother's determination to butt into his life. He also includes tales of his bumpy relationship with his best friend, Rowley.

Imaginative cartoon drawings combined with fresh, wacky humor make the DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: RODRICK RULES popular with even the most sophisticated readers in my middle school. Everyone considers it just plain fun to read. Anyone who is currently striving to survive middle school, or anyone who remembers the pain, is sure to appreciate the good-natured humor in Jeff Kinney's creative series.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
its a very good book with hilaurious illistrations even though its quite easy to read and i finished it very quickly!i rate it 5 stars and i also think its suitiable for 9 to 11 year olds.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1" by Jeff Kinney was previously published as online comic becoming very popular and due to that deserved its release in classic novel edition.

The comic book main character is called Greg Heffley, who is a 6th grade student that wants to become popular, as most boys his age want too.
He lives in an almost normal family together with his parents and two, one small whiny and second big heavy metal fan, brothers.
His best friend is Rowley, who is of same age with annoying parents who are trying to protect him from everything.

Being usual victim of older boys, Greg seems to find himself always at the wrong places and due to his constant desire to be popular and cool he will do numerous things like engage in body building that looks silly due to his thin appearance, he will try to enter Guinness Book due to building biggest snowman ever or creating his version of haunted house...

Unfortunately, the only thing he managed to do successfully so far is acting as guard for kindergarten children while they're going home during lunch.
Although it isn't necessarily a bad thing because it allows you to get free chocolate and not to be on the whole math class...

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is good book if you are middle grade kid or parent to one (or more) because all the events you'll encounter inside will seem familiar.

Greg is having typical problems for teenage years due to which is easy for reader to identify with him.
He's having problems with older brother who mistreats him, due to little one he is always guilty for something, his parents always something forbid for him, and girls do not perceive him at all.
But even though it seems that everything is against him, in fact he is just a normal boy who is going through his turbulent years just as usually teenagers are doing.

The book is filled with humor and it's very entertaining to read it while in same time looking at nicely done illustrations.

Therefore if you want to surprise your teenager or even younger kid with a book gift without a fear you'll be snapped again because you bought a book that kids don't read, give her/him this, you can be certain she/he will have a good time reading it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
usually i don't like reading and when i read a book i wont to finish it straight away but with this book i don't want to read it to fast i want it to last forever and i am 11
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
When last we saw our hero Greg Heffley he had survived everything from cursed cheese to an unfortunate stage debut. Not that much has changed in his life, of course. He’s still a perpetual victim of his older brother Rodrick’s crazy schemes and his younger brother Manny’s three-year-old excesses. Greg might have to do what Rodrick says for a while too since his older brother knows something terrible, HORRIBLE even, that happened to Greg over the summer and he's threatening to tell the world. And though Greg might try to participate in everything from role-playing to writing his comic strip to forget it, eventually that sword of Damocles is going to fall. It’s just a matter of time.

Kinney is almost eerily good at writing material that is as funny to kids as it is to adults. I haven’t yet discussed this book with someone who doesn’t know how the game Dungeons and Dragons works, so I wonder if a D&D newbie would find the game in which Greg’s mom joins (calling her character “Mom”) as funny as I did. For a sequel, there’s a lot of new stuff in this book as well. We finally get a chance to see Loded Diper (Rodrick’s band) play. We see Manny enter preschool on Halloween Day with disastrous results. And then there’s the Mom Bucks program instituted by Greg’s mother. That one sounded a little too real to have been made up, though.

You could probably use these books in class to discuss the concept of the “unreliable narrator” because at a certain point, Greg’s life is what every pre-teen to teen boy feels like his own life is. Everybody gets away with stuff except for you. Parents are too nerdy or out-of-it to be of any use, friends are unreliable, and the world is a scary place where your unique skills are not recognized. You get the distinct feeling that Greg might be exaggerating some of the events in his life, but that's not a bad thing. That said, it’s hard not to feel vindicated when Rodrick finally has something bad happen to him at the end of the book. Who knew that YouTube can be the ultimate high school equalizer! It brings adolescent embarrassment to a whole new level.

There are a lot of familiar callbacks, of course. Fights with best friend Rowley, for example. And I was very sad to find that one of my favorite characters, Fregley, didn’t make an appearance in this sequel. Still, it all basically comes down to this: If you like the first “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” then you will like the second. Maybe it doesn’t carry the surprise of the first book, but what sequel does? Thoroughly enjoyable and unrepentantly hilarious.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
After reading Happyface and The Raven's Gate I found myself looking forward to reading my next illustrated novel - Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I'd been hearing a lot about this series but hadn't ever gotten around to reading them so I thought I'd give the first installment a whirl.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a fun, simple read that will leave you feeling happy and fulfilled, with no worry that the protagonist's heart will be broken being repair/they will remain a vampire/werewolf/other paranormal being forever with no hope of ever falling in love. No, no - none of that here. Just the trials and tribulations of a young boy trying to get through school without too many dramas - but don't even think about calling this book a diary, it's a journal, okay?

Greg is a loveable character from the outset of the story, where he has a rant about the fact this is NOT a diary but a manly journal that he will give out to journalists when he's rich and famous, instead of having to conduct interviews.

One of the great things about Greg is that he's well aware he's a bit of a loser and, although he's not comfortable with this position, he accepts that he's low down on the social hierarchy. However, this year he decides that he will be a loser no more and goes on a quest to get into the yearbook as `class clown', so he will be forever immortalised as a cool kid.

Unfortunately for Greg and his best friend Rowley, nothing they do seems to go to plan, which makes for hilarious writing and illustrations for us to enjoy. I think maybe my favourite mishap was the Trick or Treating escapade - but let's not forget the horror of the Cheese Touch, which I hope will be back in the next books!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
My son is 11, like most boys he doesn't like reading. This book, like all others in the series, is funny with lots of pictures, and it talks about children about my son's age and things they encountered. My son reads it again & again, and laughs everytime, he also read out to me so I can laugh with him! I think this book + its series are good for encouraging children to read, particularly for those who are not keen in reading. I bought all the books in the series, and my son loves it all and still reading them repeatedly. Can't wait for the next one to come out.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Bought it for my 7 year old who is a very good reader for his age, but read it myself as well (he's finished & on the second book, I'm NEARLY finished book 1!) Very amusing, even an adult would laugh at parts of it. It is very well observed.

I'm smiling as I think of one illustration: the narrator was commenting that his parents react differently to bad behaviour. His mother goes off & considers how to best punish the child, while the dad throws whatever is closest at hand in the offender's direction. This is accompanied by two wee cartoons. One shows the dad sitting in an armchair holding a newspaper with the caption 'Good time to make dad mad'. The second cartoon shows dad with some cement, holding a trowel & a small brick. The caption reads 'Bad time to make dad mad' (or words to that effect).... If that would offend you, leave this one on the shelf!

I don't think there is anything nasty or vile in this book that would make you hide it away from your child. The illustrations are funny as well. My son loved it & I think I'll end up buying the whole set. Hope that helps someone!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Meet Greg Heffley, a teenaged boy who is a 100% accident prone (which isn't such a gift when you live with his family...a single mistake can mean BIG trouble). This time he is back in the second Diary of a Wimpy Kid book with more jokes, stories and Greg's fabulous cartoons filled with humour. But you'd better be careful which page you touch as Greg still has the lurgy of the cheese touch!

Greg's older brother Rodrick now knows two of Greg's biggest secrets. One, is the existence of his diary. And the second, is the story about the kiss of death. The worst thing that can possibly happen to him (after death) is people knowing that he keeps a diary. This book is filled with surprising twists and there is a mere amount of things you can be sure of whilst reading it. But there is one thing that you can be sure of...there is no brotherly love between him and Rodrick.

Think he's in enough of a crisis? Well, think again. Aside from Rodrick there's Manny. Greg's three-year-old brother who would do anything to tell on Greg. How can Greg's Mum and Dad let him get away with stuffing a chocolate-chipped cooking in the disc drive of his video game system? How can giving him a ball with toothpicks stuck into it make everything better? How can Greg's life get any worse?

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are perfect reads on a wet boring day that will make your sides ache with laughter. I like the way Jeff Kinney made it into a mix of cartoons and text which spiced up the book and made Greg's character more fun and unique - it looks like a real diary or as Greg likes to call it 'a journal'.

It'd be a great present for someone who doesn't like to read novels yet or doesn't have a stretched amount of reading skills. The fact that it is written with a variety of cartoons and writing makes it less of a harsh book to read and more of a light one which was nice for me to get a mixture of different types of books.

Although there is no real climax to the story line, it covers the ongoing hassles that Greg faces at school and home which, like life, just keep surfacing! It also made me eager to read on because I wanted to know what the twist at the end would be.

My own personal and favourite highlight of reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules was reading it with my Dad who equally enjoyed it - laughing away on the bus together when X happened. Greg and his stories are entertaining and amusing for anyone who's ever been a humorous and goofy kid! You rule Greg!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
This book is the sequel to Diary of a Wimpy Kid and continues Greg's journal entries about his life. This book centres on his relationship with older brother Rodrick and his band, his brothers blackmailing of Greg because of an "incident" in the summer. There are more tales of his interfering mother and his little brother Manny and his friendship with Rowley.

This is a fun, easy going read and my son really likes these books. I think they have a wide age range appeal. The first book was given to my 11 year old daughter when she started secondary school under some scheme to give each 11 year old a free book. She quite enjoyed the book and read some of it to my 7 year old (who dislikes fiction and has just acquired good fluency in his reading). My son really loved the book (even though all the charcaters are in "middle school" in the US - I think that means early secondary?)and read the rest of it himself. I have now bought the rest of the series.

The books have quite large print in a hand written font on printed lined paper and are liberally pepperred with line drawn cartoons of the characters with funny bubble enclosed quips. I think this layout of not being too dense and having the cartoons really makes for ease of reading and would appeal to children who are a bit put off by dense, small print, crowded chapter book/novels that can seem very daunting. They are also good when you just feel like having a light read, nothing to have to think about very deeply.

I didn't think the books were particularly funny myself , really quite light observational humour- but I'm nearly 50 not 10 years old!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse