Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If I knew then what I know now !!
I was born in 1958, so I guess I'm a Cold War baby. I can't say I remember the Cuban Missile Crisis, but as a teenager, and a young adult I was aware that nuclear oblivion was no more than the push of a button away. I took a history degree, and grew into adulthood as a supporter of nuclear deterrence, I liked the idea that war was so terrible that nobody dared risk...
Published 14 months ago by M. J. Duggan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars scary reading
I enjoyed the book, it makes for a shocking story that makes anyone over 40 feel lucky to be alive. That said it's a bit of a slog and the main disaster story is too heavily punctuated with additional facts and accident references to read well.
Published 8 months ago by Steve Hocking


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important and exciting at the same time, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
A. D. Smith (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seldom read a book that has gripped me so completely. It reads like a thriller but is in fact serious history. The writing is brilliant and the author manages to convey a huge amount of information, fully referenced, without disturbing the flow. The content is extremely important and the story of how by chance we just managed to avert accidental nuclear explosions should be known to everyone. The importance is even greater, because the book makes one question very deeply why we are still keeping these horrific weapons. The answer is not straightforward. Please read it - you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly well researched, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An engrossing read using the tale of an accident in an ICBM silo as a backdrop to the history of nuclear weapon development, deployment, strategy and control. Fascinating and yet terrifying, it seems miraculous that society survived the cold war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and terrifying, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating slice of history which should be required reading for everyone in power and anyone interested in the military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 2 Oct. 2013
By 
R Brown (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I own this is both Hardcover and Kindle edition. Amazing read - filled in a lot of details from a period I was unfamiliar with. Mixing the political/command&control context with a more narrative telling of the Titan II incident made this book impossible to set down. Four evenings well spent.

I'd recommend the Kindle edition - it makes it very easy to jump between the text and the citations/notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account and so readable, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
David Coldwell (Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reads like a novel. Excellent account of events that I lived through but didn't appreciate at the time the risks that the world was facing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, scary account of America's nuclear weapons. Very thoroughly researched, and comprehensively referenced to the source material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an important book and also a page-turner, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Jim Forest (Alkmaar Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Command and Control (Hardcover)
I'm well into "Command & Control" -- an important book and also a page-turner. It's far from comforting, but perhaps it is already helping renew the struggle for nuclear disarmament. It would be at the top of my list for White House and Ten Downing Street reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Control (Hardcover)
Great book, well written AND FACTUAL. Has references for everything. Increadible piece of work really.

Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good engineering thriller, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Command and Control (Hardcover)
A very good engineering thriller, but at little feeble in the writing, taking its time to tell the very interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read - an eye opener - poor title because ..., 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Command and Control (Hardcover)
Really good read - an eye opener - poor title because it might put people off, the message is more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command and Control: Nuclear Weapons, the Damascus Accident, and the Illusion of Safety
£32.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews