Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Higher intermediate and above
Others have described well the layout for this book, which features it has and which it lacks. The stories are pitched comfortably at the higher intermediate reader and you will occasionally have to use your dictionaries - the inclusion of furigana alongside new kanji compounds is helpful for digital dictionaries. The paper quality is similar to a typical English...
Published on 25 July 2012 by Tony Martin

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains pornography
Before you buy this book, consider that the last story contains literary hard core porn, namely the graphic description of intercourses between a prostitute and a soldier. This was quite a nasty surprise to me, as it is effectively a language book with the potential of ending up in the hands of teenagers. For this reason, unfortunately, I cannot recommend this book.
Published 7 months ago by Alex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Higher intermediate and above, 25 July 2012
By 
Tony Martin (Stalybridge, CHESHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
Others have described well the layout for this book, which features it has and which it lacks. The stories are pitched comfortably at the higher intermediate reader and you will occasionally have to use your dictionaries - the inclusion of furigana alongside new kanji compounds is helpful for digital dictionaries. The paper quality is similar to a typical English paperback novel and the text size is a little bigger than you would find in a typical small Japanese paperback - whilst I often struggle with Japanese paperbacks without the help of reading glasses I am able to read this without aid. This book is very much cheaper than most Kodansha Bilingual Books and Penguin are to be commended on producing such an affordable and readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
great for someone that wants to advance their japanese level but hasnt the oppertnuity to be able to afford lessons or even a trip to japan! not recomended for the beginer as their are many kanji and grammar structures that may not be understood. well worth a read to increase vocab and great stories too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm liking it., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
I have just started reading it, but so far so good.
I think that what it lacks is explanations in the same page or borders of it. It is not comfortable to be looking for the explanations at the end of the book. And it needs a little bit more of explanations for expressions.
Other than that I like.
The stories are understandable and it forces you to learn kanji, with comes handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb addition to my ongoing Japanese studies, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
This work permits diving into the next level of Japanese study (intermediate and above) that combines grammar, vocabulary and kanjii together in an educational and informative formatting that at the same time provides a deeper understanding of Japanese culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains pornography, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
Before you buy this book, consider that the last story contains literary hard core porn, namely the graphic description of intercourses between a prostitute and a soldier. This was quite a nasty surprise to me, as it is effectively a language book with the potential of ending up in the hands of teenagers. For this reason, unfortunately, I cannot recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Late, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Paperback)
This could have been a great gift for Christmas, but still waiting for it to show up! I ordered a week before Christmas and paid extra for postage to receive it on time, so I am disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Short Stories in Japanese: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews