Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOMORROWS WORLD TODAY
Having spent my working life mainly on weapons delivery systems I was attracted to this publication, What an eye opener! What a lengthy read - 500 pages. What astonishing facts. The book does much, much more than describe the flash-bang-wallop of aerial drones and terrestial military robots. It examines and describes in great detail the psychological associations and...
Published on 14 Jan 2010 by Michael J. Wilson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative!
This book offers a interesting review of the robotic warfare, the 'new' experience of unmanned wars on warriors, and their effect on war commanders. It also examines the next wave of warbots, how we might fight with robots, the psychology of warbots, laws of war, robot revolt and robot ethics.

Technologic implants might be used to enhance our human capabilities...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by kclam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOMORROWS WORLD TODAY, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Having spent my working life mainly on weapons delivery systems I was attracted to this publication, What an eye opener! What a lengthy read - 500 pages. What astonishing facts. The book does much, much more than describe the flash-bang-wallop of aerial drones and terrestial military robots. It examines and describes in great detail the psychological associations and consequences of this astonishing technology; especially as used in recent years in real war scenarios. Some of the detail descriptions make you stop and think. This is Grand Theft Auto 'real life' stuff. Overall a VERY well researched and produced publication which should be compulsory reading for anyone involved with modern military matters, and of great interest to a wider public. I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking read, 26 Mar 2010
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
A comprehensive study of the next "Revolution in Military Affairs", the rise of the autonomous fighting robot. Opening with a fascinating history of robots (originally named after the Czech for "serf"), "Wired for War" deals not only with the hardware but also at the strategic, tactical, legal, ethical & moral implications of outsourcing the killing of fellow human beings to emotionless drones & robots. These latter aspects are, for me, the most fascinating as technology rarely (if ever) works in a vacuum but rather impacts on the society using it.

From the effects on present-day US-based killer drone pilots of having to switch from killing insurgents during the day to attending a PTA meeting in the evening to the legal & moral quagmire resulting from ever-greater use of artificial intelligence in warfighting.

The book is written in an easy, journalistic style with plenty of first-person interviews with the key players. One (minor) quibble - the regular cultural references are determinably & obscurely American-centric that will mean nothing to the vast majority of any non-US audience (even the reference to "The Office" refers to the American re-make).

Tat aside, this should be a key text for both policy-makers & military staff colleges as well as the citizens in whose name these systems are being developed and increasingly deployed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into robotics in the military, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Si Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought the book after seeing a presentation on the web by the author back in April.

The books starts of by introducing some of the main players, talks about some of technological improvements. Later chapters feature the active use of robots and UAVs with theatres of war like Iraq and Afghanistan, as well as the psychological effects of using technology both for the people operating the technology and those on the receiving end.

The author has spoken to people right across the board from university professors, to senior military officers to grunts on the ground and even people on the receiving end living in places like Palistinian 'Occupied Territories'.

Makes fascinating reading and would interest anyone who likes guns, robots, science fiction or all of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating, well written and important book, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
I originally bought this book at a departure gate store, whilst stocking up on reading material for a long and potentially boring flight east. However, it was so fascinating and enjoyable, upon my return i bought a few copies via Amazon for friends i knew would share the fascination. A major success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative!, 20 Oct 2011
By 
kclam (Hong Kong, China) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
This book offers a interesting review of the robotic warfare, the 'new' experience of unmanned wars on warriors, and their effect on war commanders. It also examines the next wave of warbots, how we might fight with robots, the psychology of warbots, laws of war, robot revolt and robot ethics.

Technologic implants might be used to enhance our human capabilities in war. DARPA has already initiated a "AugCog" augmented cognition program. It aims to implant the memory chips that robots use inside the human body, which might help our brains to overcome the data overload problem. These 'cyborgs' might be the only way to keep up with warbots and the new robotic technologies. However, resistance is futile. Good Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive overview, 16 Aug 2011
Whether you're interested in war or not, this book will contain relevant insights, as robotics are becoming and more more ubiquitous. It contains a very comprehensive account both of the current state of Robotics, and the place of robots (present and future) in war, although he also spends some time looking at the potential of popular comercial robots (such as the Roomba) too.

The technical aspect of robotics only forms part of this account - the author spends a lot of the book dealing with the potential effects and moral questions surrounding robotics, as robots become more autonomous and intelligent, and the current reactions (or sometimes lack of reaction) to these issues. It's clear we need (as a species) to start thinking about what we want from robots.

Well written, with exhaustive references, and packed with information & insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 25 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
this is a great read.It is very well researched and easy to read .The book covers a wide range of topics about robotics its past,present and predictions for the future.highly reccommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise, 8 April 2011
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
A real eye-opener of a book! If you are interested in current affairs, politics, ethics, the future, etc you should read this. It is guaranteed to make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robotic Future, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book for Americans, USA political bias. International overview. Some history. Well written academically . Not a technical book. Aokay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century (Paperback)
Good summary and an interesting subject. I had read Googles Digital Age and found this recommend it that so thought I would have a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wired for War: The Robotics Revolution and Conflict in the 21st Century
7.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews