Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ceremony
I loved this book and the central character, Tao, who is the product of a very mixed race background with his "light brown skin and hazel eyes". It lets you enter his world as he returns shattered by the experience of war. While he fights in an American Uniform he is a hero but on returning home without his army dress he is again a non-person. He suffers post-war...
Published 24 months ago by Christine Harris

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A powerful tale about a young indian's search for identity
Ceremony is a beautifully written tale about Tayo; a young American Indian who has returned from the conflict of the Second World War with severe psychological trauma. He feels invisible in a modern world that expects him to conform to a sterotype; that of the alcoholic, degraded, reservation indian. Tayo encounters old friends and powerful memories as he returns to the...
Published on 24 Nov 2000 by grahampidgeon@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A powerful tale about a young indian's search for identity, 24 Nov 2000
Ceremony is a beautifully written tale about Tayo; a young American Indian who has returned from the conflict of the Second World War with severe psychological trauma. He feels invisible in a modern world that expects him to conform to a sterotype; that of the alcoholic, degraded, reservation indian. Tayo encounters old friends and powerful memories as he returns to the land where he was raised. He slowly learns that only through reconnection with his cultural heritage will he be able to find inner peace. His journey into the spiritual world of his ancestors, taken through the use of the ceremony, forces Tayo to confront what he has become, and asks him how he sees his future. Ceremony is an extremly well crafted story; Silko uses incredible descriptions of the desert landscape to draw the reader into Tayo's drought plagued home. At times, the plot seems unnecessarily slow, but on the whole the book is a provoking and intelligent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ceremony, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony (Paperback)
I loved this book and the central character, Tao, who is the product of a very mixed race background with his "light brown skin and hazel eyes". It lets you enter his world as he returns shattered by the experience of war. While he fights in an American Uniform he is a hero but on returning home without his army dress he is again a non-person. He suffers post-war traumatic stress but there is little or no help for him. He goes to his own native indian ancestors for help in overcoming his problems by their constant telling of native stories and remedies.

The book is divided not by formal chapters but poems and wonderful prose passages which are a joy to read. I truly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone.

Christine Harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing & thought provoking read, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony (Paperback)
I read this on my 2nd year uni course as part of an "Introduction to American Literature" course. I absolutely love this book as it is written in such a unique way that combines narrative with poetry and older myths. I had never read anything quite like and there is definitely something for everyone in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of healing, 14 May 2013
By 
Zoe Brooks (UK & Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At its simplest this is a tale about a young native American survivor of a Japanese death march being cured of his post-traumatic stress by an extended healing ceremony, which puts him back in touch with his roots. But it is more than that: Tayo's healing is in some ways a more general healing, his ceremony part of a wider ceremony for his people.

I loved this book. It is a fine example of magic realism addressing real issues in a profound way and this is something I look for in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Contains writing, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony (Paperback)
I know the book was used but i wasn't expecting there to be annotations in the book, not that i mind that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SELLER, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony (Paperback)
Rare book supplied quickly and at a fair price. Seller good; book not easy to read. Book seems to capture reality of life of a half native American's existence..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ordered by accident, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony (Paperback)
Not really my kind of thing but then I am super tired of reading WW1 literature. A very nice edition though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ceremony
Ceremony by Leslie Marmon Silko (Paperback - 26 Sep 2011)
9.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews