Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2011
For perhaps the first time, we have a native American speaking about one of histories most famous persons. The author vividly, recreates the true man and leader behind the myth, that is Crazy Horse. It is without doubt the best book i have ever read on the subject, it covers the whole of the life style, beliefs, reasons and aims for the taking up of arms against the Angloamericans. Truly an eye opener, and more importantly, a reason why these wars happened. I recommend this book to anyone who really wants to know the real reasons behind the savage indian wars of the 19th century. A book that will stand the test of time and, from a Native American who is open and frank about the subject.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2007
I have read many books concerning the plight and lives of the Native Amercans in particular my focus has and is the Lakota and the tribes/families that are Lakota.

I have found this book to be a most enlightening portrayal of a leader who was extremely wary of the invaders, so much so that it is said he allowed no photograph to be taken of him, and when he was killed, his body was taken to a secret burial place to be remembered and honoured by the ancestors of those who buried him, Tasunke Witko.

Whilst no amount of writing will ever put right the wrongs that took place during the four hundred year invasion of what is now America, perhaps some lessons can be learnt from books such as this.

A great deal of this book has been taken from memories handed down orally, which was the way of the Lakota and of all the other tribes, those that survive and those that were wiped out forever, of 'America'; a way that was dismissed as unimportant by the invaders. However, it comes across as being an authentic insight.

This is a book offering a valuable description of a way of life now lost to our world perhaps forever, a way that we should respect and mourn for the loss of something that can never be replaced.

Mitakuye Oyasin
0Comment|100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
At the beginning, Marshall states that written accounts of the actions, character and even appearance of Crazy Horse are scant. Indeed, the only well documented episode of his life is his death. However, Marshall still manages to weave an extremely effective and gripping narrative which is -- for the most part beautifully and empathetically written to highlight who Crazy Horse was and why he acted as he did. Even though there is not much testimony to work with, Marshall manages to create a three-dimensional picture of a taciturn loner who loved much and tried his best to do right by his people, only to be corralled and killed for being too much of a free thinker. I learned a lot about the Indian culture as well as the man reading this volume which was most enjoyable and I recommend it highly to academics and biography readers alike.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
For the serious student of the American Indian it is, in my opinion, a "must have" book.

The story of the life of arguabley the greatest Lakota Sioux indian whoever lived, and the inevitable end of his life,murdered by the whites.

It is beautifully written, with an understanding, I guess, that only another Lakota Sioux, hearing the history from his own ancestors could really appreciate.

Having read this book I feel now that I understand Crazy Horse a great deal better than previously.

Joseph Marshall has produced a real winner.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
A excellent history of this most famous Lakota warrior. The author tells the great mans story fluidly and with great enthusiasm. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Native American history and Crazy Horse in particular.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
I loved this book, it was beautifully written, and easy to read. It is, just as it states on the cover, The Journey of Crazy Horse, share it with him through the story told in this book.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
This is a great book. It is extremely well written with a flowing style. Whilst I appreciate that the story was handed down through word of mouth, the way that it is constructed gives the reader a deep knowledge of how the Native Americans lived their lives until they were rudely interrupted by the "savage" immigrant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
A powerful story is told in this book. The story of a man who foresaw the inevitable change that was going to come, and the anguish in the realisation that he was powerless to stop its effect. This story is tragic. Yet, it is one that must be known. If you want to know Crazy Horse from the perspective of the Lakota, then I would suggest you read this book. It details his struggles, his incredible intuition and foresight. The book also highlights on his acts of valour and genius in battle. Crazy Horse’s humility and leadership by example approach is very inspiring. The book should take you no more than 3-4 days to read provided you give it a fair amount of attention.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
I bought this on the recommendation of the excellent guide we had when I visited the site of the Battle of the Little Big Horn in Montana, USA, and I was not disappointed. It is a vivid account of the life of Crazy Horse of the Oglala Lakota, one of the most enigmatic and significant Native Americans to have lived. It tells of his upbringing, and later his struggle against the unstoppable tide of white people moving ever westward and their increasing encroachment on territory occupied by the Lakota for generations. It also gives an insight into the Lakota way of life and paints a picture far removed from, and much more interesting than, any Hollywood movie. A must read for anyone interested in the so called 'Indian wars' of the latter part of the nineteenth century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
a book both for the historian and enthusiast this tells the story of Crazy Horse from the memories and stories of his own people- not just of the legendary Indian Chief, but the real man behind it, as well as being a the story of his times, and the effect of the coming of the white man to America on the first peoples
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)