Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real source of indian history, 6 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
For perhaps the first time, we have a native American speaking about one of histories most famous persons. The author vividly, recreates the true man and leader behind the myth, that is Crazy Horse. It is without doubt the best book i have ever read on the subject, it covers the whole of the life style, beliefs, reasons and aims for the taking up of arms against the Angloamericans. Truly an eye opener, and more importantly, a reason why these wars happened. I recommend this book to anyone who really wants to know the real reasons behind the savage indian wars of the 19th century. A book that will stand the test of time and, from a Native American who is open and frank about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 11 Feb. 2007
By 
P. Fallowfield-cooper "Psymon" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
I have read many books concerning the plight and lives of the Native Amercans in particular my focus has and is the Lakota and the tribes/families that are Lakota.

I have found this book to be a most enlightening portrayal of a leader who was extremely wary of the invaders, so much so that it is said he allowed no photograph to be taken of him, and when he was killed, his body was taken to a secret burial place to be remembered and honoured by the ancestors of those who buried him, Tasunke Witko.

Whilst no amount of writing will ever put right the wrongs that took place during the four hundred year invasion of what is now America, perhaps some lessons can be learnt from books such as this.

A great deal of this book has been taken from memories handed down orally, which was the way of the Lakota and of all the other tribes, those that survive and those that were wiped out forever, of 'America'; a way that was dismissed as unimportant by the invaders. However, it comes across as being an authentic insight.

This is a book offering a valuable description of a way of life now lost to our world perhaps forever, a way that we should respect and mourn for the loss of something that can never be replaced.

Mitakuye Oyasin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful, well researched and balanced biography, 23 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
At the beginning, Marshall states that written accounts of the actions, character and even appearance of Crazy Horse are scant. Indeed, the only well documented episode of his life is his death. However, Marshall still manages to weave an extremely effective and gripping narrative which is -- for the most part beautifully and empathetically written to highlight who Crazy Horse was and why he acted as he did. Even though there is not much testimony to work with, Marshall manages to create a three-dimensional picture of a taciturn loner who loved much and tried his best to do right by his people, only to be corralled and killed for being too much of a free thinker. I learned a lot about the Indian culture as well as the man reading this volume which was most enjoyable and I recommend it highly to academics and biography readers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey to oblivion, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
P. J. Orchard (Biggleswade, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
For the serious student of the American Indian it is, in my opinion, a "must have" book.

The story of the life of arguabley the greatest Lakota Sioux indian whoever lived, and the inevitable end of his life,murdered by the whites.

It is beautifully written, with an understanding, I guess, that only another Lakota Sioux, hearing the history from his own ancestors could really appreciate.

Having read this book I feel now that I understand Crazy Horse a great deal better than previously.

Joseph Marshall has produced a real winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey Of Crazy Horse..., 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
A excellent history of this most famous Lakota warrior. The author tells the great mans story fluidly and with great enthusiasm. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Native American history and Crazy Horse in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey of Crazy Horse, 12 Jun. 2010
By 
Mrs. Vera Barber "V" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
I loved this book, it was beautifully written, and easy to read. It is, just as it states on the cover, The Journey of Crazy Horse, share it with him through the story told in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
This is a great book. It is extremely well written with a flowing style. Whilst I appreciate that the story was handed down through word of mouth, the way that it is constructed gives the reader a deep knowledge of how the Native Americans lived their lives until they were rudely interrupted by the "savage" immigrant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The journey of Crazy Horse, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. C. V. Matusevics "chrissi em" (sutton surrey uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
a book both for the historian and enthusiast this tells the story of Crazy Horse from the memories and stories of his own people- not just of the legendary Indian Chief, but the real man behind it, as well as being a the story of his times, and the effect of the coming of the white man to America on the first peoples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Journey of Crazy Horse - highly recommended, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey of Crazy Horse, the (Paperback)
What a wonderful story of an iconic man. Very well written and researched by Joseph Marshall who relates the stories of his ancestors and Crazy Horse, a man we knew little of, a courageous warrior chief in times of great disruption in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK FOR THE CURIOUS, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
B. M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE INDIAN VIEWPOINT IS RARELY DWELT ON BY HOLLYWOOD- THEY HAVE THEIR REASONS TO SUBMERGE IT .

THIS BOOK ON A GREAT SIOUX LEADER SHEDS SOME LIGHT ON THE SITUATION ---IF YOU'RE INTERESTED IN JUSTICE READ THIS !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey of Crazy Horse, the
Journey of Crazy Horse, the by Joseph M., III Marshall (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2005)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews