Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the cutting edge of the debate
There's been a lot of talk about file sharing and copyright theft. But usually it's big greedy corporations talking about the public stealing its assets like we are going in and taking their desks. But what this book talks about is what I've upheld for some time, that copyright law should be all about protecting the creators rights, not the rights of the traditional...
Published on 14 Sep 2006 by Mr. P. South

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Product is Great!
It was the last buy I did before Amazon have changed policies postage to Europe. Today would be vastly more expensive to Portugal, even twice the price. If i want to buy another now would be impossible and i would like to do it. Lawrence Lessig go to another webstore for a buy more things from you..

Thanks for your atention...
Published 2 months ago by Luis Silva


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the cutting edge of the debate, 14 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. P. South "snouty" (Frome, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity (Paperback)
There's been a lot of talk about file sharing and copyright theft. But usually it's big greedy corporations talking about the public stealing its assets like we are going in and taking their desks. But what this book talks about is what I've upheld for some time, that copyright law should be all about protecting the creators rights, not the rights of the traditional megalithic distribution networks who basically contribute nothing to the creation of the works they claim to protect.

Wonderful stuff, well presented, cogent, relevant and totally absorbing. Lush historical perspective on how Hollywood and the music business were born from exactly the kind of piracy they now claim to be fighting against. Read the bit about how if P2P was having the impact that the record business claims that their drop in profits would be 100% not 7%. Brilliant!

A tour de force, and I don't say that about many things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he said it all, 4 Feb 2009
By 
J. Smith "Jinx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity (Paperback)
This will educate you and open your eyes....it is one of the cheapest but innovative version of the story of copyright culture which has grown out of control. Originally intended to protect the artist this law is now being used to keep the pockets lined of fat multinational conglomerate companies. Whilst criminalising alot of children, the law has failed to respond to changes in technology such as the internet which has allowed for new forms of creativity which have made the old laws insubstatial.
It recognises a shift from when the laws were created with a balance to protect businesses but also the people.
Laws that protect the interest of large businesses have been pushed into evolution by pressure from these firms, but those to protect the people are not. And remain unchanged and therfore unequipped to protect those it was originally created to protect. Where does this leave us?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Casual and accessible book with interesting stories from the history of copyright. If you enjoyed "Code" and "The future of ideas" you will like this one. It is not a typical legal text book, but I found it very useful as Lessig helps you see copyright in a different perspective. Enjoyable anecdotes!
Useful for both non-lawyers and lawyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Product is Great!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity (Paperback)
It was the last buy I did before Amazon have changed policies postage to Europe. Today would be vastly more expensive to Portugal, even twice the price. If i want to buy another now would be impossible and i would like to do it. Lawrence Lessig go to another webstore for a buy more things from you..

Thanks for your atention...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lessig at his best?, 1 Nov 2010
By 
C. Buckingham "Christopher Buckingham" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity (Paperback)
This is possibly Lessig at his most dazzling.
Superb read from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 Oct 2010
This book clarified what I thought and gave me further insight into what I didn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity
Free Culture: The Nature and Future of Creativity by Lawrence Lessig (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews