Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the film and read the book
The book provides a wealth of detail of the work carried out on the engine and the incredible near death accidents whilst racing motorcycles throughout his life. The Indian was not his only motorcycle and if you wantr to find out the other motorcycle he raced you will need to read the book. He lived for motorcycling and the book makes a good read for all motorcyclists and...
Published on 25 April 2006 by Mr. D. K. Sanders

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One-sided biography
In the introduction, the author admits that in the lack of information, some of the descriptive aspects of the book are shall we say, `up to the writer's prerogative'. Whilst the technical and factual aspects of this book are extremely informative and interesting, I felt that I had only read half of someone's life story.

From his childhood, and throughout his...
Published on 1 Feb 2007 by Somnambulist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the film and read the book, 25 April 2006
By 
Mr. D. K. Sanders (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
The book provides a wealth of detail of the work carried out on the engine and the incredible near death accidents whilst racing motorcycles throughout his life. The Indian was not his only motorcycle and if you wantr to find out the other motorcycle he raced you will need to read the book. He lived for motorcycling and the book makes a good read for all motorcyclists and enthusiasts - a man who lived life to the full and a book to inspire to others that they too can reach their goals. Well researched and a book to be read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed a must read, 14 Mar 2010
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
This book in my opinion is a very good read and I prety much enjoyed it from cover to cover, Reading between the lines if you are more interested in Burt's or Bert's character rather than his quest you can certainly see he was bit of a stuborn old git, but I do belive he had his fans and some good friends too. all in all a very gripping book and in some way quite inspirational. Burt was a true talent in his own right and deserve's a place in the history books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Burt Munro, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
A very readable account of the life of Burt Munro, legendary motorcycle racer from New Zealand. Some of the things Burt got up to were even more outrageous than the film with Anthony Hopkins suggested. If you know a committed petrolhead or are one yourself you will love this book, because Burt probably tops the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One-sided biography, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Somnambulist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
In the introduction, the author admits that in the lack of information, some of the descriptive aspects of the book are shall we say, `up to the writer's prerogative'. Whilst the technical and factual aspects of this book are extremely informative and interesting, I felt that I had only read half of someone's life story.

From his childhood, and throughout his quest for speed, the book portrays Bert as some sort of tragic mechanical doyenne to the God of speed - something that he couldn't help but pursue. Whilst his undoubted mechanical and engineering skills, combined with his single-mindedness and nerves of steel are beyond question, it was the darker side to Bert that I found more interesting - and missing.

As a man who was chasing speed records right up until his death on a 50year+ old motorbike he was undoubtedly a hero, but his dedication to his dream left a tight-wad man without a wife (left), or many (good) friends. Whilst this is perhaps more of a character assessment of Bert than the book itself, an acceptance on the part of the author that Burt was not only a speed freak, but frequently a plainly unpleasant man, would have been welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of life's One-Offs............., 18 July 2009
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
Yup, this is a great story of one of life's true one-offs.

Burt Munro.

I'd have loved to have met this guy, even though I guess he might possibly have been a less than perfect character. (Reading between the lines, and of what others have said of him)

It wasn't just his courage, guts and determination that I felt, but the heroism that is in constantly rebuilding and re-engineering machines that fail, and break. Long hours in a lonely workshop.......... hour after lonely hour, after lonely hour, after lonely hour, after lonely hour, after lonely hour, after lonely hour.

You get the drift?

I've loved motorcycles all my life, and have never had anyone else but myself do any work on any of them....... about 25 bikes in all; British, Italian American and Japanese. I've worked on them in pretty much all circumstances. Out in the open, all night into the rising dawn, in weather so bitterly cold the water I poured over the tools to warm them froze solid as it ran over the ground. Under polythene sheet draped over the bike in pouring rain and wind. In an improvised workshop no more than three feet square, and in case you're thinking it........ no, you can't get a bike in a shed that small. I could only use it for modifying components and engines taken off the bike.

I've modified them, tried things that don't work or fail, so you have to go back and start all over again. I've been so frustrated on occasions, that I've either destroyed components when the last twig I was hanging onto broke, or just plain cried over the tools. I've cursed the sadists who designed the damn thing in the first place and even prayed "Please, PLEASE God, make this work", although I wasn't in the least bit spiritual at the time. Struggling with machines you love brings a unique desperation sometimes. A huge satisfaction at other times.

I tell you all this, not because I'm comparable to this amazing man, but to illustrate in some small way just what it takes to do what he did. It's a lonely struggle against the odds, is an extremely frustrating pastime, and is often taxing of even the most patient person. As I said earlier, so many lonely hours, and often cold and miserable hours too. It's awkward, fiddly, and takes a lot of skill. It taxes ingenuity and inventiveness. It takes great diagnostic skills, often complicated by so many variables acting simultaneously on one another. Most frustratingly of all, the effort and skills are completely unappreciated by those who don't experience it.

This man achieved the impossible in the performance he wrung out of this very old Indian motorcycle........... quite amazing, ESPECIALLY pretty much out of a shed. I found myself shaking my head in disbelief many times, and felt intensely his disappointments.

I can't help thinking of Rudyard Kipling's poem, `If', and pretty much all of it applies to this man, especially......

"Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,
And stoop and build 'em up with wornout tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breathe a word about your loss;"

How many people these days can truly say ANY of this poem applies to them?
It was far more common a couple of generations ago.
If this book even begins to take your interest, and as you're reading this, that level of interest is quite enough............

Man or woman, mechanic and engineer or not, it is an inspiring and uplifting story.

BUY IT!

Buy the DVD too.......... A little bit out of line with the book, but it's excellent nonetheless.

K. :o))))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro, 24 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. S. Bate (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was in the condition exactly as described and was delivered within reasonable time. Watched the film, The World's Fastest Indian, and then had to read the book. Well worth it, the guy's a star and had my wife and daughter in tears!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
What a read - simply gripping cover to cover.

The film does this story no justice, but it was still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best reads, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
i have bought over 4 copys of this book and given all away !!
this one i will keep .
i have read the book tree times and will be reading it again!!
what a brilliant man old Burt was,one man i would have loved to have met
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one good run, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
brilliant bookt from start to finish
well written
describes bert munro as the ledgind that he most definately is
a suburb engineer and great new zealand character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars got the film ? now get the book...., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro (Mass Market Paperback)
brilliant , rtiveting, humorous, entertaining, an eye opener to the past . thought i knew a bit about old bikes, yea a bit. read this and learn. will be going into my will for my grandson, with the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro
One Good Run: The Legend of Burt Munro by Tim Hanna (Mass Market Paperback - 23 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: 18.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews