Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unsung hero, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. TK Ellis "Bookworm" (High Wycombe, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently finished reading "Surviving the Sword" an account of the horrors suffered by Allied PoWs at the hands of the Japanese during WW2 and encountered the name of Weary Dunlop. From that moment on I had to know more about this amazing man who had saved hundreds of men from death in the prison camps.

I've just finished reading his diaries and would wholeheartedly recommend them as a fantastic insight into the horror of the world the prisoners found themselves in and the salvation that Weary Dunlop brought to so many. The diary is written in a staccato style and does not flow as a normal historical account would, however it was written at a time where diaries were banned by their captors and by someone who had so very little time.

The impression you are left with is of a compassionate doctor and a disciplined soldier who never considered himself to be a hero, but just a professional man doing what was required at the time. His humour, compassion and grief at the losses suffered are exquisite and as the realisation dawns on you about just how far he went to fight for every prisoner you realise what an incredible man he was.

I have just ordered his biography and will write a review of that once I have read it. I would recommend this book absolutely, for it shows humanity in the darkest places and shows the reader just what a true hero is. God bless Weary Dunlop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC MOVING WAR DIARIES, 30 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop (Paperback)
Edward "Weary" Dunlop, born in Australia 1907, studied pharmacy and medicine before going to the UK for post-graduate study. He was in the UK working as a surgeon when WW2 began, was posted to Palestine 1940 and later to Java February 1942 ... becoming a prisoner of the Japanese on the fall of Singapore. These, his war diaries, are edited versions of the diaries he kept as a senior working doctor in Burma and Siam, eg on the Burma-Siam railway.

It's a terrific multi-faceted book, repetitive at times insofar as the grind of daily life shows in medical, budgeting and camp management detail, but the reality of men living in dreadful conditions is the central theme, with the story told via a courageously intelligent "Weary".

There are innumerable insights eg into the brutality of Japanese and Korean guards, the struggle against malnutrition and disease, the sustaining of hope through education and entertainment programs. There were times when my breath was taken away by the lyrical eloquence of the author as he described the beauty of the jungle and wildlife. There were times when I cried to read of another beating that, for the author, might have ended in death.

Wonderful as the book is, at 450 pages it's long and best embarked on by those keen on Burma/WW2 history and/or medicine. It would have been useful if there was a clearer map, and I never did understand where the POWs got their money from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fight for dignity of men and freedom in the world, 25 Jun 2010
My father himself died on the Birma railway. I've been there for four times.
Also the memories of sir Dunlopp was told there.
My wish that freedom will come all over the world. I told my story to schoolchildren in the Netherlands.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Weary!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an amazing man Dunlop is. During the most difficult time ever he managed the most amazing medical practices without hardly anything at his disposal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, compelling read., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop (Paperback)
This book is so real that you really feel like you've gone back in time to the 2nd world war era.
Written from his own diaries, in amazing detail, you can easily imagine that it was written today
about current events.
Best book Ive ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating view of a shocking period of history if you had family involved., 18 Nov 2012
By 
JLF Riordan "Manxman" (Douglas, isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop (Paperback)
The pictures by Chalker shown the shocking issues of this time and area of WWII and the humanity of an amazing surgeon. Essential reading for historians and FEPOW descendants with a strong stomach.
As someone who grew up with elderly relatives who were totally anti Japanese this helps you understand their life view even though the world and individuals have moved on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Diaries, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book from an excellent supplier. Book was imaculate and proved a good read. It should be read by anybody interested in the war in the far east.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A riveting account of what those brave men when through in the dark days of the war in the far east
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read for those interested in the field, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop (Paperback)
My husband is reading this book, but he doesn't "do" book reviews on Amazon, so I thought I'd give it a go. He's been immersed in this book for days, reading aloud passages from it to me, amusing, poignant and depressing. He's been doing quite a bit of research on this topic because his father died in a Japanese POW camp in Thailand, and this book provides a lot of detail information on a daily basis from the point of view of a camp leader and doctor in Java and Thailand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Forgotten, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop (Paperback)
As with the other books i have recently purchased on Amazon another great tribute to the forgotton army of far east.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop
The War Diaries of Weary Dunlop by E.E. Dunlop (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 6.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews