Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2009
I realised last year that I have never actually read Peter Pan as a book, even though I have seen it many times on stage. I read it with huge enjoyment, and was really struck by the wonderful way in which it is written. The narative is much more dark than I would have thought, but that is not a bad thing, at all.
I was engrossed from start to finish
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Beautiful, dark and complex classic stories for children and adults, full of underlying themes about play, growing up and the imagination. Good introduction and notes by Jack Zipes. Lovely illustrations from original editions, although the book itself feels slightly flimsy and I noticed quite a few typos, which surprised me in a Penguin Classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Well written of course. but I was unsure. I found Peter Pan to be quite abit darker than I expected. Considering its a children's book. Peter is a complex character and Hook comes across as a good deal more evil than I imagined. For adults its excellent, allows you to explore childhood again without regretting growing up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
I had to read these two books for a class at University.
Peter Pan in Kensigton Gardens is wierd. It's good, but not the Peter Pan that everybody knows and loves.
It's a baby that lives with some birds and fairies, thinking his mother doesn't love him.

Peter and Wendy, however, is quite different. More of an evolved version of Peter from the previous book. It is somewhat different from the Disney book and films, even from the various plays/pantomimes but still follows basically the same storyline. It is a really imaginitive story and concept.

Ignore the whispers of J.M.Barrie's personal life and how it comes out in the book because that just ruins the story. It's pretty interesting to see the difference in versions of Peter and that is why this combination book is better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
A 'must have' for young and old. My wife and I took our great-grandchildren to see Peter Pan as a Christmas play and I thought I should read the story before we went. ....... Absolutely fascinating and really great writing! Both stories in this book come to you as stimulating and enjoyable experiences, recreating a little of the wonderful world of childhood and 'imagination' for 'young people' of any age..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I love the beautiful original illustrations and cannot wait to read the original stories its fantastic that they're put together in this paper back version - fantastic for train reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Arrived pretty quickly. Good story, very different to the disney version but still a good read. Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Not really a great reproduction. Which is sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
more than perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.