Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
40
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2016
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
I think this was a freebie and the story was good as far as it went. Not sure if it was a download problem or if it was meant to be a sample.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
I had read this over 30 years ago, so it was nice to re-read it again. This is early Twain, but there is still a sense of his future style and his colorful way of describing both people and situations. There are also some parts that are direct references to things that are in later writings; for example stories from his days in the Nevada Territory and as a river boat pilot on the Mississippi. This, much to my surprise, is an Amazon book, so it leads to me believe that it is perhaps from a batch of "print on demand books." The formating is very mechanical as if it were dumped from a digital file with gaps between each paragraph. Worst of all, there is no form of scholarly essay about the work, which was something that I was really looking forward to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A masterpiece. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
In 2016, it's fun comparing modern excursions to those of the past as well. Well worth reading. Nice one Sam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Something different. Probably the first travel book. Well written and the use of the English language is a pleasure to read after becoming used to the shoddy and slapdash way many books/articles are written nowadays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
The original travel book. Twain's experiences across Europe and the Holy Land are hilarious and insightful, mixing sharp satire with beautiful descriptions. The best bits are when he arrives in the Bible-lands and gets to work on the hypocrisy of organised religion. For me, Twain's biography and journalism (A Tramp Abroad, Roughing It) are better than his novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Quick delivery with no fuss,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.