Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever
while i was over in america i read an article in usa today about this upcoming book and having seen some great movies with denis in them i really got intrigued by it

went to a bookstore and read the back cover and i was sold #

not the biggest reading fan in the world
but this book hooks you right from the start and doesnt let go till youve read...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Alan Kerr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle aged rant!
I'm a 50 yr old fan of Leary & i get it what he's saying..
But half way through this book it had gone from LOL to OMG-STOP MOANING!!
Some really good anecdotes of his childhood & Parenthood though & as i said
very funny in places but a bit whiney in others.
Do as i did & if it gets a bit much take a break part way through & finish
it a week or 2...
Published on 6 Sep 2011 by minstercarpets


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever, 4 July 2009
By 
Alan Kerr (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
while i was over in america i read an article in usa today about this upcoming book and having seen some great movies with denis in them i really got intrigued by it

went to a bookstore and read the back cover and i was sold #

not the biggest reading fan in the world
but this book hooks you right from the start and doesnt let go till youve read it over and over

the book is one of those that you feel you share a connection with the reader in that he makes sooo much common sense

laugh out loud soo much during this read which does get the odd stare if your out in the park reading but you just cant help yourself

what you waiting for buy it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Denis Leary and this book did not disappoint. Straight to the point and expresses lots of opinions which I share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Denis Leary is the King !, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Denis Leary you're gonna love this book. Irreverant, politically incorrect but still one of the funniest men on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very entertaining little book,I bought it without knowin the author,but I enjoyed the read anyway.It makes you laugh and it makes you think,so it does its job well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Middle aged rant!, 6 Sep 2011
By 
minstercarpets (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a 50 yr old fan of Leary & i get it what he's saying..
But half way through this book it had gone from LOL to OMG-STOP MOANING!!
Some really good anecdotes of his childhood & Parenthood though & as i said
very funny in places but a bit whiney in others.
Do as i did & if it gets a bit much take a break part way through & finish
it a week or 2 later!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all its cracked up to be, 10 Jun 2011
Reads like a forced assignment - right I've got to write 10,000 words. I'll repeat myself alot, talk about my family, tales from the old days and a ton of stuff from the internet.

I've liked his work for some time but found little new here. I've read a couple of years on from publication but very little felt new.

Began to grate very quickly and every mention of just how great his wife and children were and just how fat, stupid and ridiculous everyone else was just wore thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderfull ramblings!, 2 July 2009
By 
Jakob Ove Madsen (Aalborg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Denis Leary as we know and prefer him: angry, aeger and agitated. I'm not american but i recognized a lot of my own thoughts in the book. Priceless! I hope he continues writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth About Women (And Other Things), 3 Mar 2010
I am a woman and American-born and it is just *great* to finally see someone saying out loud what is really wrong with America and (because we've stuck our collective heads up America's ****), in some ways, here in the UK. Is Mr Leary's ability to view America so clearly due to his spending a lot of time in Europe? Who cares? Buy this book; it's not only informative and right on but laugh out loud funny. Rock on DL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DR,DENIS ON FINE FORM, 4 Aug 2009
Buy this book...why?..cos he talk about everything we hate in life...pompous, overpaid so called tv experts, crappy beer, non smoking everywhere..the lot...Leary for President...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6f669b4)

This product

Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid
Used & New from: 4.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews