Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good now as when I was 8!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
S. Lake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I was a bit worried about reading this again after so many years. It was one of my favourite books when I was eight, and I really wanted to re-read it because I couldn't remember the ending.

I shouldn't have been worried, it is still a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this countless times as a child, 21 Nov 2010
By 
F. Jordaan (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this out of nostalgia for a book I dearly loved as a child (the same edition). Between the age of 11 and 14 or so I must have read it a dozen times. I have not yet re-read it as an adult as I fear the Suck Fairy (google it) might have visited. But I'd recommend this to any young reader. Its evocation of the call of the wild not far from urban sprawl is thrilling; it's realistic and unsentimental. The introduction to the philosophy of Thoreau is subtle and may well plant a seed in a young mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Side of the Mountain, 5 April 2002
This is a brilliant book about a youth who lives on his own in the wilderness. In this diary, he explains all the survival techniques he learns, the animals he meets, and the anventures he encounters. A book suitable for all ages, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice return to a childhood memory, 13 Jun 2013
By 
R. H. Minchin "Bol" (Yarmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I remember reading this book when I was a young lad and am now enjoying reading it to my son 40 years later. I believe he is enjoying the tale as much as I did at his age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A wonderful book which was delightful to read. As someone who is very interested in living a more natural way of life, it was inspiring to read Sam's adventures as he embarks on a life in the mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Side of the Mountain, 29 April 2010
By 
Paul C. Wiggins "Wiggs" (SW London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A real boys own adventure - could not put this down. It's too short, I wish it had been longer. Jean George's observation and detail entwines beautifully with the thoughts and trepidations of this young boy and his life alone in a beautiful wilderness. A great read for all types and all ages - I watched the film straight after and was not so impressed - the book stays with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and valuable, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Baught thiis for my seven year old, for whom it is too advanced. But it is a beautiful book from 10 years onwards, highly recommended. The nature description and what you learn is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book as a child 45 years ago and have always remember it, so when i saw it on amazon i thought i would read it again and was just as i remembered it. Still an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for junior age children, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
My wife bought this book. This is what she says...
My mum, who was also my teacher read it to me when I was a top junior. I have subsequently read it to many classes of children, from all sorts of backgrounds and it has always been received with unanimous interest and joy. It has timeless appeal. I would thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My side of the Mountain, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I think this book is amazing everyone should read it. I read it to my three children, my grandchildren, and when I was teaching English to foreign students they were given it to read! Greatly loved by all who read it in our home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics)
My Side of the Mountain (Puffin Modern Classics) by Jean George (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
4.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews