Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee, Tea or Me
Working in the industry, this book is very true to life. Given plenty of giggles and oh my god, I've done that or know somebody that has. The biggest problem with this book is once you have read it you pass it on to friends and it does the crew room circuit, Hopefully get it back soon looking not to dog eared and coffee stained. Well worth the read.
Published on 22 Feb 2006

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1960's uninhibited memoirs, but not 2012 style
The best thing about this book is the fruity illustration on the cover. Written in 1967 it purports to be the uninhibited story of the working lives of American air stewardesses. Lighter than a soap bubble, it is pretty good on the day to day operational stuff but falls well short of uninhibited. The parts where the author explains how different nationalities behave on...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by Foden Wheatley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee, Tea or Me, 22 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
Working in the industry, this book is very true to life. Given plenty of giggles and oh my god, I've done that or know somebody that has. The biggest problem with this book is once you have read it you pass it on to friends and it does the crew room circuit, Hopefully get it back soon looking not to dog eared and coffee stained. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1960's uninhibited memoirs, but not 2012 style, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best thing about this book is the fruity illustration on the cover. Written in 1967 it purports to be the uninhibited story of the working lives of American air stewardesses. Lighter than a soap bubble, it is pretty good on the day to day operational stuff but falls well short of uninhibited. The parts where the author explains how different nationalities behave on an aircraft are an interesting period insight as are the comments on Hollywood stars of the era. And she names names, up to a discreet point.

Anyone fascinated by the etymology of words, particularly the slang of the period, might be interested to read a very early appearance of the word 'gay' for homosexual, co-existing alongside the same word a paragraph later used as an adverb to describe a bright, lively, fun weekend in a European capital city. In many ways this book is about the first liberated women to use their work to break down the inhibiting barriers of the day and earn their independence in a new post-war generation of money, jet travel and sexual liberation. On the other hand, they also have one foot in an earlier time where catching a successful man is the ultimate goal. If you liked the Pan Am TV series you'll probably enjoy the background detail in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
I joined the airline industry in 1965 (a major us airline) and not long after this book became the rage. Although I was very much a part of the growth of the industry I never actually read the book until recently. As i write I was disappointed as in my view the book fell short of the "Work hard, play hard" ethos of those times. Note this is only my view. Many other people have really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and insight, 14 Aug 2006
By 
L. Vincent "Lozza" (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
as an air hostess this was an extreemly funny ready and a great insight to how things were back then, although it was more glam and strict in someways the crazy air crew and passengers never change!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars coffe tea o me?, 22 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
i read better than this, very repetitive, boring and nothing new even if we know this histories are from the last few decades i find a lots of unbelieveable pieces of staff, also i dont believe that everything its nice and rosy as the girls make it to be, in reality i think this book should be in the fiction section.
Perhaps for the 70 year olds is perfect may remind them of the good old PAN AM days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars airline stewardesses, 2 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
AS A STEWAEDESS I FOUND THIS BOOK BOTH FUNNY AND INTERESTING MORE TO THE POINT IT IS VERY ACCURATE AS THE THE CAPERS THEY GET UP TO REFLECT THE WAY THINGS ARE TODAY VERY ENJOYABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T,Coffee or this book., 12 April 2009
This review is from: Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses (Paperback)
I found this book a brilliant of an insight of an Cabin Crew day in a life of this career.
I found this book hilarious,in so many ways Trudy & company were the most funniest & the things they got up to.
Makes most Cabin Crew wish almost that they had the same partner on every flight. I found the stories believable & enjoyable in every way. I have now finish reading this book & 1 of the stories is when 1 of the crew member was making extra buck on the side & they pretend to be her,got 1 of clients up to their room,only to find out how she getting the extra dollars that she needed,only to discover..........No way you gotta purchase this book to find out,apart from that there is plenty of other things they got up to. A good read if you are becoming Cabin Crew or you are,even it your a passenger on flight,this book is more like the eyes of Cabin Crew itself,the only thing is I didn't expect is that it's taken from the 60's so things are a little in the past for today's people on the go.
But all n all it's a good read,very laughable,tummy tickler too, I got a few good stares on the bus,train reading this coz it's a laugh out loud book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coffee, Tea, or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses
7.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews