Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2015
Are you passionate about science and ready to get challenged by a clear narrative? This book, as others, presents classic mechanics under a brilliant perspective. You must be familiar with physics laws, conceptualiztion etc and math! Nonetheless, even with your memories of school training you can get through this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Great, easily readable and thought provoking. Supplement it with the online lectures and it really is brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
What a rip-off and a scam. I ordered this Penguin version at the same time as I ordered "The Theoretical Minimum: What you need to know to start doing physics" (Basic Books). After browsing through the physics book, I got the feeling it was more a mechanics book than a physics book. I then had a look at the Classical Mechanics book and it looked very similar to the physics book. They are the same books, but retitled and issued by different publishers. The preface of the physics book even contains the line "Welcome, then, to The Theoretical Minimum - Classical Mechanics".

The books themselves, including the Quantum Mechanics book, look quite good at first glance, but it's a one start rating for the re-naming of the book.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
As a course supplement its sublime and as good as you can get and lenard susskind
has the charasima of morgan freeman as a physics lecturer and he should write more of these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
FOR THOSE WHO'VE BOUGHT THE HARDBACK "THEORETICAL MINIMUM" ALREADY

Gorgeous Nicko's suspicion (1st review) is right. Having already bought the original hardback "Theoretical Minimum" it was most annoying to discover that "Classical Mechanics" is only the paperback version of the same book - which perhaps is why you can't "Look inside" this one on Amazon, as that would give the game away (no criticism of Amazon, but of the publisher, Penguin Marketing).

Some of the text on the cover differs enough that one might hope that the paperback focuses more explicitly on classical mechanics, as at least three of the 11 chapters ("Lectures") of the hardback original are not, strictly speaking, classical mechanics per se.

The content is fine (in that regard I agree with Nicko's 4-star rating), but from a marketing perspective it's rip-off - hence 1-star from this review!
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This looks very much, from comparison of this title and the contents of the book "The Theoretical Minimum" as if it is a rebadging of that earlier work. Quantum Mechanics:The Theoretical Minimum appears to be coming real soon, if not here already, which might be part of the reason for a name change. Either way, The Theoretical Minimum is pretty good but I would be unhappy if I ended up paying for two copies of the same thing under different names. My star rating is based on the assumption that my surmise is correct.
1212 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
It does exactly what it intends: give the refer what they need to understand the subject. It is supported with web content which effectively expands the content.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Brilliant, simply brilliant brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
My boyfriend loved it! It's good for physics lovers and... Lovers of physics lovers!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
good thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)