Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved this ...
I bought this CD (and the book) for my 9 year old son after he had completed a Roald Dahl project at school, along with a number of his novels. My son has always loved poetry and this book has proved to be especially fun for him. Roald Dahl's innate understanding of those things that make children laugh is apparent here, as in all his other work. A real find and great...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by redpixie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed recitals
Nothing like as good as the original cassette version on which better known actors gave a far superior rendering of the these poems, which truly captured the humour of the verses.
Published 17 months ago by Roger the Lodger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved this ..., 23 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
I bought this CD (and the book) for my 9 year old son after he had completed a Roald Dahl project at school, along with a number of his novels. My son has always loved poetry and this book has proved to be especially fun for him. Roald Dahl's innate understanding of those things that make children laugh is apparent here, as in all his other work. A real find and great fun. Buy the CD along with the book and your children will enjoy reading the poems to themselves in quiet moments and also laughing out loud to the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Purchased this along with the book, although it doesn't run along with the book, e.g page turn cues missing it is possible that you can follow the two together. Great fun with classic stories and rhymes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed recitals, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Nothing like as good as the original cassette version on which better known actors gave a far superior rendering of the these poems, which truly captured the humour of the verses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!!, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Nat100 (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
I bought this for my sons 6th birthday and he loves it (as does my 9 year old daughter). We listened to it on a 4 hour car journey and were all in hysterics so great for adults too. I am a huge Roald Dahl fan but oddly had never read these rhymes. Yes there is the word 'slut' in one of them but my children have never made any reference to it so will worry about that should they ever mention it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Bought this for a 9 year old for Christmas, know it will be a hit! She will love it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply outstanding, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs (Clavering, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Beautifully written, wonderfully spoken. The whole family howls listening to this in the car!!! Timeless rhymes that everyone should get to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood favourite revisited, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Ms Claire Murphy (Bury, Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
I loved these books as a child and never really noticed the use of the word slut in cinderella as other reviewers have pointed out. The rhyming is brilliantly done and despite not picking the books up for 15 or so years I have fond memories of them. I picked this audio CD for my 10th old step daughter who is also a huge fan of Roald Dahl. Listening to the CD I can still recite parts of the verse. A great stocking filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
I remember loving the books as a child & thought it would be a big hit with my kids on those car journey. They thought it was fantastic & funny
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Your children are really missing out if they don't get to know Roald Dahl.
The narration of Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts by Alan Cumming is great. It is
wonderful to hear the children laughing so heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have every confidence, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts (Audio CD)
Obtaining presents for grandchildren has never been easier, once I know what they would like. Having an Amazon account and the swift delivery service has made it all very practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts
Revolting Rhymes and Dirty Beasts by Roald Dahl (Audio CD - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews