Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another charismatic kid, 21 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Hardcover)
To create one memorable fictional kid is a talent, to create a second is mastery. The world of Cosmo Hill may be far removed from that of Artemis Fowl but the air tastes the same, the action is break kneck and the underlying themes of crazy adolescence, noisy shoot outs and nothing being quite what it seems should keep Colfer fans panting for more. The supporting characters throb with life and Colfer handles everything from deception and the importance of family to first love and the transcendental nature of death with consumate skill. I've loved everything he has written and press his books on my children and friends as a must read. I treasure his imagination as unique and irreplaceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Increadible, 12 April 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
There are some books that are just a notch higher than others when it comes to length, storyline and inventiveness. The supernaturalist is one such book; the length, 304 pages, is short enough for children to read but long enough for teenagers if they want a quick, funny read. The storyline is inventive and very quirky, filled with twists and turns. The inventiveness is good and funny with the pigmobile, the cellophane wraps, the lightning rods, the street names (Abracadabra street) and, of course, the blue parasites.
Many people ask; Is this better than Artemis Fowl?
the answer is a resounding 'yes'. The supernaturalist is written in a much more mature way, and would appeal to not only children, but some teenagers also while the 'Artemis Fowl' series is written much less maturely, and usually appeals to the age group of 9-12.
The characters are NOT shallow and uninteresting as opposed to many other reviewers. Ditto is very interesting and quite funny. Cosmo Hill (the hero) is rather ordinary comparing to the likes of Ditto, Stefan, Mona and Faustino but when you think about it, they all had different backgrounds where they did many interesting things when they were young while Cosmo, the unlucky no-sponsor, has lived in the clarissa frayne institute (an orphanage) for 14 years.
If you like books set in a futuristic city in space with gangs, tanks, people (duh!), blue parasites that suck energy out of people, then this is the next book you should buy!
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop action for young teens!, 5 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
As an unwanted child, Fourteen-year old Cosmo Hill is determined to be free from the forbidding Clarissa Frayne Institute for Parentally Challenged Boys. The orphans are treated like lab rats and the average life expectancy at the institute is just fifteen years. Cosmo knows he must escape. But in the dark streets of Satellite City, in a time not too far from now, greater dangers await him in the outside world...
A ghost-like blue creature lands on Cosmo's chest and starts to feed on his life force. In the nick of time a curious gang of kids turn up and rescue him. They are the Supernaturalists: dedicated to ridding the world of these life-sucking blue parasites. The gang adopt Cosmo and in this unlikely new 'family' he must learn fast; on each death-defying mission, using Bond-type technology, to help the Supernaturalists destroy the creatures. The missions lead Cosmo into a world of high-level corruption where the gang must avoid the authorities, especially the Lawyers and Paralegals, who act like present-day Police. Paralegals are a 'three-way cross between lawyers, paratroopers and pit bulls'. The adults of the Supercity, however, should not underestimate the Supernaturalists, as they prove themselves a force to be reckoned with and certainly not a bunch of 'naturists running around with no clothes on'.
This is fantastic, non-stop action for the older reader. Colfer's use of technology - from texting to nitrous injection drag racing - enriches his futuristic tale. The soulless Satellite City, full of gangs and garbage, may paint a somewhat bleak future but this is mainly a story about extreme heroism and friendship. It is an excellent adventure from the bestselling author of the 'Artemis Fowl' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good even for adults, 27 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
Firstly let me say i'm not a teenager, but a 32 year old adult. I had heard about the Artimus Fowl series from a friend and saw this by the same author while i was on holiday. I thought i'd give it a try.
Although it wasn't satisfying at the start and took me a short while to get used to the 'universe' that Cosmo lives in, once i had read 40 or so pages i was hooked.
A great book and not just for Children. I'm now going to read the Artemus Fowl books next.
Recommended (and thoroughly deserves the 5 stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining book..., 28 July 2005
By 
A Britsh Brit (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
I've just finished "The Supernaturalist" and I have to say I enjoyed every minute of it. It was neither too long nor too short. One of the best books I've read in a while.
Eoin Colfer has created admirable characters with unique identities and I ended up (in my mind of course) giving voices to each character. The plot is very thorough and original and the feeling of excitement or anticipation never left me. For such a futuristic story, any non-science-fiction person will find it easy to cope with and the equipment and setting is well described with flair and simplicity.
I hope he does more of these single story novels or, if not, a sequel to this. Come on Eoin, my lad! Write, write, write!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but very very good, 17 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
This was an unusual book; imaginative, futuristic, and with a number of fascinating twists. A very interesting idea and very well written it's no Artemis Fowl but shows Colfer to be a very skilled and versatile author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best yet...., 17 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Hardcover)
I took the book on a 2 week holiday and read it with-in 24 hours. Its fast paced, supurbly written, and an interesting look into what the future could be like. The charectors are well develped but more could be said about there past lives, which im hoping will be in the sequel, which he left open for. If you like the artimus fowl seris this book wont fail to please. Go buy is my advise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, yet uplifting, 13 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Paperback)
I suppose this is technically for kids, but the bleakness of the main character's existence and the humanity that remains in spite of this, lift this novel outside its age bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 16 April 2014
By 
sooz2710 (West Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book! Eoin Colfer has a wonderful imagination and a lovely, intelligent way with words. Highly recommended :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Supernaturalist (Audio CD)
Great story that helped get me a degree. Great narration. Speedy delivery, reasonable price. Would like to see this as a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Supernaturalist
The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2004)
7.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews