Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spud Murphy strikes a chord with reluctant readers!
Anyone who has ever read Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl series will know by now that this guy is a great writer. His skill is fast moving, neat and downright hilarious storytelling, whatever the subject matter.
With just five neat chapters, starting with Ugly Frank, the poor kid who earned his name as a victim of the legendary librarian's spud gun, this little story...
Published on 15 Mar 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
It is a good book because it has a lot of detail and characters my favourite character is spud because she seems scary at first but at the last few pages she gets nicer
Published 9 months ago by terry booth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spud Murphy strikes a chord with reluctant readers!, 15 Mar 2004
Anyone who has ever read Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl series will know by now that this guy is a great writer. His skill is fast moving, neat and downright hilarious storytelling, whatever the subject matter.
With just five neat chapters, starting with Ugly Frank, the poor kid who earned his name as a victim of the legendary librarian's spud gun, this little story leaps along with enough boys' action to appeal to them, and enough cute humour to keep the girls happy too.
The Legend of Spud Murphy is aimed at a slightly younger audience than Artemis Fowl, and is brilliantly illustrated on every page with action-enhancing pen and ink sketches by Tony Ross.
Nevertheless, this story of Marty and Will being packed off to the library to get them out of their mother's hair for the summer holidays is well-written enough entertain more advanced readers too, and is a great choice for encouraging reluctant readers to brave the horrors of the library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing book!, 20 Mar 2007
By 
Sarah Wood (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My seven year old daughter came home with this book from school. She asked if I would read it with her. It's perfect for children of her age and indeed for their parents too, as by halfway through I had to stop reading as I was crying with laughter.

My daughter said to me that all childrens books should be funny, because children like to laugh and this book certainly fulfils that expectation.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colferzz Besttt, 5 Nov 2005
I borrowed the book from the library after my friend recommended it to me after reading it I re read it twice in one hour its funny moving and generally youve just got a classic author This book was excellent and I would definetly recommend it to anyone who just needs cheering up its not a book for five year olds just because it short! Its a funny book that i would reccomend to all ages it may not be the age range for adults but I can bet you they will enjoy it anyway. I reccomend it as A MUST BUY!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promoting the joy of reading, 31 Dec 2006
This is a great short book for 7ish year olds. An easy to read novel for younger readers who are developing confidence with chapter books. The story is a wholesome and heartwarmimg tale of two troublesome nippers who, (after creating havoc at home during the holidays), are sent to the place of their worst nightmares .... the library. However, this library is patrolled by no ordinary librarian, for Spud Murphy, (armed with a gas powered spud gun), is a ninja-black-belt-librarian. Skilled at sneaking up, having eyes in the back of her head and knowing what you are going to do, before you've even thought of it. With nothing else left for the children to get away with, they have no choice but to read the books. It all turns out well in the end and is all in good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for 5-8s!, 7 Aug 2005
Will and his older brother Marty are reluctantly sent to the library to do something a bit more 'educational' with their summer holiday. But the library holds a much greater danger than just paper cuts. It is home to the legendry Mrs Murphy who uses a gas-powered, potato-shooting gun on children who cross her. The well known tales of poor 'Ugly Frank' and the Ninja Librarian make the Woodman boys dread even stepping inside the building.
Whilst the boys sit and pretend to read, an odd thing happens...they begin to take notice of the books surrounding them and find that the dreaded Spud Murphy isn't so dreadful after all.
This is great writing from the Author of the 'Artemis Fowl' trilogy. It is a fast-paced, easy story with a good mix of humour and action to suit younger readers. It can also be used as gentle persuasion for the reluctant reader to brave the horrors of the library. (Suitable for Ages 5-8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Entertaining Book, 19 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. E. Townend (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This hilarious book by a very witty writer deserves 6 stars
The Legend Of Spud Murphy would entertain alot of people!
If you love Books this is excellent for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPud Murphy - What a story, 18 Sep 2012
We have been reading this book as a class and decided to write a review. According to Tia it is a mind blastingly fantastic book that you won't be able to stop reading, it is cool and funny. You will laugh so loud your next door neighbours will wonder what you are reading wrote Kian. This is not a book for babies, but definately anyone from the age of 7-33, it is that brilliant said Matthew.
We can't wait to read more about these brothers and their adventures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in a Library, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Will and his brother Marty are doomed to spend their holidays in the Library. This library has a formidable librarian in Mrs Murphy, otherwise known as Spud Murphy, legend has it that she has a gas-powered Spud Gun behind the desk and she wields a mean rubber stamp.

It's over the top and cool and fun and I almost empathise with Mrs Murphy. There are some kids I'd like to limit to a small patch of carpet and throw things at when they misbehave but that really wouldn't go down well with the powers that be!

The illustrations add well to the story and it's quite charming, the way that the two boys find that reading is in fact fun and start enjoying being in the library was heartwarming, particularly for a librarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book my daughter really enjoyed the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a good book because it has a lot of detail and characters my favourite character is spud because she seems scary at first but at the last few pages she gets nicer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend of Spud Murphy
The Legend of Spud Murphy by Eoin Colfer (Audio CD - 4 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews