Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting, unforgettable memoir
Felicity Kendal has resisted the predictable and frothy luvvy autobiog and written a wonderfully resonant memoir of her extraordinary Indian childhood instead. As her father Geoffrey lies in a coma in a London clinic, Felicity sits by his wasted body and remembers the brilliant, mesmerising, volatile, insufferable man who strode, collossus-like, through her childhood...
Published on 6 Nov. 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming person
I read this book as it was about Barbara from The Good Life which I had enjoyed. I found the style of the book tedious and some of the typeface difficult to read. I would have preferred a straightforward narrative.
Published on 27 Mar. 2013 by interested reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting, unforgettable memoir, 6 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
Felicity Kendal has resisted the predictable and frothy luvvy autobiog and written a wonderfully resonant memoir of her extraordinary Indian childhood instead. As her father Geoffrey lies in a coma in a London clinic, Felicity sits by his wasted body and remembers the brilliant, mesmerising, volatile, insufferable man who strode, collossus-like, through her childhood and adolescence. Her story unfolds as she moves back and forth between the past and the present, making sense of her journey between the two, and coming to terms with both. As well as painting a classic portrait of the relationship between the father and the daughter, she also beautifully captures the complex tones of India in the dying days of the Raj. This book is magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars painfully magic and honest account of life and love, 14 Mar. 2000
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
Being a younger reader - I remember Felicity Kendal in the Good life as a bubbly, well spoken, toff who you wouldn't ever imagaine held such emotion, passion, culture or experience of life. This book transforms that image, and was a read i couldn't put down. So painfully honest, I marvelled at the frank way she dealt with the pain in her life and the humour and magic she recalled from what would seem an idyllic childhood. India has never really appealed as a setting for me, but this book seemed to give a funny and magical account of it. Totally unexpected account - which just goes to show what a good and courageous actress she must be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely revised my view of Barbara Good, 4 April 2012
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
This is a well written and moving recounting of scenes from Felicity Kendall's life before she became popular as one of the stars of "The Good Life". It remembers her parents who took her all over India as part of their travelling theatre company and although her father is the eccentric colossus, her mother is an equally striking character in a quieter way. It tells of her childhood and her beloved sister Jennifer and the way that as an outsider she acquired the quiet, observant air that characterises her as an actress.

Observation is something she does very well, her pictures of a Raj in decline and the rise of independence are very evocative of what is now a lost world, the India that the Kendalls called home. Her description of Geoffrey's decline and his final journey were very touching, I shall read this again for the beauty of some of the writing.

Sweet little Felicity Kendal, aka "rear of the year", who would have thought her such a tough and capable woman. I'm off to watch "Shakespeare Wallah" and try to experience some of what is in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Cargo - a Memoir, 5 Sept. 2009
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
A very moving memory of the daughter of a man who was driven- so driven, that his family life suffered. The story tells of Felicity Kendall's British father's dedication to bring Shakespeare all over of India, from school halls to Maharajas' palaces at the end of the colonial era. As he lays dying in a London hospital, she remembers how they went from feast to famine, always on the road, but that her father never gave up his quest. She returned to England at 18, and later became a famous actress, causing a great rift in the family. Like India, I loved this book, and come back to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing read, 16 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
Felicity Kendalls book is a very well written book and at times painfully touching as she is reflecting back on her past life with her fathers touring company in India. Even though I am not a fan of hers I throughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, get your hankys ready..., 24 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
Amazing life - hard to put the two together - I grew up watching the GoodLife - never knowing the depth of this womans life. A truly remarkable read and what I would give to have been a fly on the wall during it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands Out, 25 May 2012
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
I have to confess to being a biography addict and so have fallen foul of many a bad one. I was so pleased to come across Felicity Kendal's as it is so well written and feels completely sincere.
Self efacing and honest,even with the true thoughts of how she felt at times, about her father's coma, I found it moving.
If you love reading of people who have had an interesting life, you should read this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Cargo....a facinating story, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
D. Davis "Pearl Seller" (Somerset,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Cargo (Hardcover)
White Cargo is the tale of Felicity Kendal's early life in India with her father and mother who were actors. It is a well written and facinating story.
The book arrived well within the specified time and was in excellent condition. I am very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read, 22 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
Frank, honest with only the slightest hint of luvviedom. Good for Felicity Kendal - let's have a volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting new view of an "old friend"., 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Brenda Young (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Cargo: A memoir (Paperback)
This excellent autobiography is written with the skill and sensitivity of an author trained and groomed in creative writing, rather than as a stage and film actress. Her word-craft and story-telling are a joy to read, and the story of her early life is exciting and gripping far beyond my expectations. I not only feel I personally know the many characters who have contributed to the forming of her own personality, but I have also “lived” with her, travelled alongside her, experienced that which she herself experienced. To achieve that is a very rare gift, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Cargo: A Memoir
White Cargo: A Memoir by Felicity Kendal (Audio Cassette - 28 Oct. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews