Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars165
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2002
Imbued with typical Dahl wit these rhymes skip and slither along at a sweetly irreverent and highly infectious pace.
This book takes some of our best known fairy stories, from Cinderella to Red Riding Hood and gives them a twist, a mischievous and thoroughly enjoyable twist.... read these ryhmes and you will never think of Red Riding Hood in quite the same way.
Although the topic of these rhymes are essentially children's stories, don't deprive yourself of a good, healthy dose of Dahl's deliciously revolting prose.
Read them aloud to children and you'll find yourself led by the rhyme and building the tension, hamming it up as Red Riding Hood, "one eyelid flickers, she whips the pistol from her knickers...", as Dahl manages to covey the naughty in a thoroughly refreshingly, innocent way.
An enjoyably revolting and delightfully digestible book. You won't be dissapointed, Dahl is an intelligent and inspired master of mischief. You might even be tempted to write a review of your own....
0Comment|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2008
Everyone knows the original stories of Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood and The Wolf and The Three Little Pigs, written by Charles Perrault (Cinderella), Brothers Grimm (all the rest); but Roald Dahl has changed the stories and put in some gruesome humour - these rewrites are not suitable for grumpy old grown ups so be aware! My favourite story out of all of Dahl's altered fairy tales is definitely Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf & the three little pigs because they are linked together with Little Red Riding Hood who gives the wolf and the pigs' horrible endings! I would rate this book 9/ 10 because it could have had another one or two other famous tales included like The Princess and the Pea but apart from that it was really good. I would recommend it to kids only and parents should not even have a peep because they cannot enjoy such humorous things like us.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2003
Revolting Rhymes is a great way to lift your imagination,and it has to be the funnyist book I've read so far!The book has fairy tales that are retold so that they rhyme and sound funny.Btw...READ IT!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
Fantastic rhymes, great fun. our five year old took great pleasure in some of the more irreverant lines - who'd have thought of keeping a gun in your knickers! Would highly recommend it (the book not keeping a gun in your knickers!)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
I teach a Year 5 class and we ahve recently been doing a someone staid narrative poetry topic in Literacy. To brighten it up I hae been reading thre Revolting Rhymes to them, and they have absolutely loved them! It is an ideal way of getting kids enthusiastic about poetry, not always an easy task. The are modern and in simple everyday language, hilariously funny and make poetry accessible for every child. My class gasped with delight, giggled, cringed, and raved. They have been talking about Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes non stop to anyone who will listen ever since - what better recommendation can you get?
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2005
Amazing recreation of your favourite classic fairytales.
Great reading for any age.
I found this book a helpful tool in encouraging my younger sister to practice as well as enjoy reading. The way which Dahl presents the fairy tales which we all know and love is innovative, commical and imaginative.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2000
Roald Dahl captures the imagination of young children with his amusing and alternate take on the classic 'fairy tales'. When reading all his books you realise he had a flair for understanding what children really wanted to read about and yet often still managed to get all the moral messages across. The beauty of this book is furthered by the amazing illustrations by Quentin Blake, they really bring the characters of the book to life, and guarantee the attention of young children.
All in all this is a must buy book for any child, and also for any parent with fond memories of hours spent reading it at home or in school.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Roald Dahl is so witty and imaginative, this has to be a book for any kids collection. Noticed one reviwer pathetically said it was for teenagers and not for her young children..why? Their is no swearing, no gore, no violence, just plain, simple fun that is a bit different to his normal books. Admittedly, its a turn from the normal nursery rhymes, but thats the whole point. Quentin Blake does another great job with the pictures, and theirs enough stories to last you along time with memories.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2006
I was read this book at school, about 18 years ago now. Children do find it funny and so do adults. Okay so I didn't get all the jokes when I was 9 or 10, but Red Riding Hood's wolf slaying had us giggling for ages.

I cannot believe there are bad reviews, with violence as the reason! Have you never read any Grimm brothers?
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
Bought this book after I watched the BBC2 kids poetry competition with my 9 year old daughter, we loved the Red Riding Hood poem with it's great line 'she whipped a pistol from her knickers'. Great poems for any child with some classic lines which hook kids and leave them wanting more.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.