Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great feline frolic for the festive season.
Dodd's writing style is rollicking rhyme in fast paced rhythm with scrumptious imaginative vocabulary. The warm and homely illustrations, on every left hand page, are festive in red and greens, bright baubles and trinkets enticingly dangling on the Christmas tree. Slinky Malinki is a sleek black cat that gets up to mischief and of course he can't resist having a climb. He...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by ELH Browning

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Lynley Dodd classic
Slinky Malinky gets his comeuppance after robbing the family Christmas tree of it's decorations and beautiful fairy.

My 18 month old daughter enjoys the rhyme, rhythm & illustrations in Dodd's books. And I enjoy reading them. A good Christmas story but not a patch on Dodd's, "Hairy Maclary Rumpus at the Vets"
Published 20 months ago by FiFitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great feline frolic for the festive season., 28 Oct 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Dodd's writing style is rollicking rhyme in fast paced rhythm with scrumptious imaginative vocabulary. The warm and homely illustrations, on every left hand page, are festive in red and greens, bright baubles and trinkets enticingly dangling on the Christmas tree. Slinky Malinki is a sleek black cat that gets up to mischief and of course he can't resist having a climb. He seizes a Santa in a smothery hug and the fairy gets whisked away under the rug.... Can she be found and what can the family do for a fairy? And there's a bit of a twist at the end of the story to raise a smile. It's a (Christmas) cracker of a picture book, perfect for the 2-5s. If you are already a Lynley Dodd fan then BUY!
If not, then this is great (apart from the word pothersome, which pothers me) or for a non-festive equivalent, appropriate all year round, then Slinky Malinki's Catflaps has the best twist or Slinki Malinki, Open The Door is great for repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slinky Malinki Strikes Again, 14 Dec 2006
By 
A. East (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another Lynley Dodd book much loved by my two year old. Not quiet as good as the original Slinky but great illustrations and words as usual. A lovely book to read in the run up to Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 3 Jun 2013
By 
M. Griffin (Salisbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Bought for my daughter to carry on the reading the books through Christmas. What you would expect from that rapscallion cat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Lynley Dodd classic, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Slinky Malinky gets his comeuppance after robbing the family Christmas tree of it's decorations and beautiful fairy.

My 18 month old daughter enjoys the rhyme, rhythm & illustrations in Dodd's books. And I enjoy reading them. A good Christmas story but not a patch on Dodd's, "Hairy Maclary Rumpus at the Vets"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Lovely book.
I work with Preschool children and loving all of the Lynley Dodd books, I have shared this love with my children.
I thought this book would be nice for the Christmas run up.
The children loved it and I enjoyed it too.Not sure it's as tip top as some of the others but we like it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
got this for my little girl for christmas and she loves it,all books by lynley are brillliant,wished i had read when younger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cats and christmas trees don't mix, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a spin off from the Hairy Mclary series, a naughty cat destroys the family Christmas tree in rhyme.
There are not the repetitive rhyme responses we usual see in this series - but the children still enjoy the naughtiness and the final outcome, I would recommend this book to families who have enjoyed the Hairy McClary series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for that Christmas calm down moment, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
My 2 year old son loves 'Slinky Linky' and this made a great little Christmas present.
Perfect to sit and read to capture a few quiet moments away from the hustle of Christmas day.
Lovely story, images and easy rhymes make this another great addition to this series of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slinky malinky, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Love all Lynsey Dodd books, this one did not disappoint.nice Christmas story.. Lovely rhyming verses .looks just like our naughty new black kitten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lynley Dodd - we love you, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Paperback)
Lovely book with Slinky Malinki getting up to more mischief. A lovely storey and wonderful rhymes. Pictures are great and children can have great fun spotting Slinky in tree on each page as the story progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slinky Malinki's Christmas Crackers (Hairy Maclary and Friends)
5.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews