Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Harry
Harry and the Dinosaurs has recently been turned into a television series and a series of spin off books. My children really don't enjoy those at all and we have been waiting with baited breath for a proper Harry book for a very long time. The illustrations in the original series have so much humour, warmth and add so much to the stories that it was a real relief to...
Published on 17 July 2008 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't recommend
My son loves this book, and the idea of a water park. But for me reading it to him, the story is a bit dull, and the grammar is poor eg Nan says "What a shame them waves frightened you" - them waves?
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by RHA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Harry, 17 July 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
Harry and the Dinosaurs has recently been turned into a television series and a series of spin off books. My children really don't enjoy those at all and we have been waiting with baited breath for a proper Harry book for a very long time. The illustrations in the original series have so much humour, warmth and add so much to the stories that it was a real relief to find them fully up to scratch in this excellent tale.

Harry and his dinosaurs go with Sam and Gran to the big swimming pool that has water slides and waves. Harry gets knocked over by a wave and the dinosaurs lose their nerve. Harry wants to go back into the water with Gran to restore his confidence but Gran is nervous and Harry has to step up to the plate and be brave for Gran this time. Harry's relationship with his Gran is fabulous and one of the best parts of the ongoing Harry series. Here she really comes into her own and there is lots of subtle humour where Harry and Gran swap places. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry and his dinosaurs overcome their fears to enjoy a pool and water slide, 20 Sep 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Another great adventure for Nan, Harry, big Sister Sam, and of course the bucketful of dinosaurs, at the swimming pool. Harry and the dinosaurs are a bit worried about the pool and wary of the big slide after a bit of a splashing from the waves, a concern with which many young children will easily relate. To encourage them to return to the water, Nan has to buy a costume and, with Harry, she overcomes her own worry that she will sink: she doesn't and they all have a good time. For those followers of the series, it will amuse you that in this story Nan misbehaves by splashing big sister Sam and it is Harry taking Nan to settle down! A gentle sensitive story accompanied by beautiful cheerful pictures with clean lines and strong colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Storytime read, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
A fun read, great pictures that captivate the toddler/child, a great story, although some phrases rather odd but enjoyed thoroughly by my four year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and colourful, 8 July 2009
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
This Harry book is a great success and written so happily for five year olds who are also perhaps going to the swimming pool for the first times. I love the character of Nan especially being a granny myself. It is enjoyable for both the reader and the listener and encourages the little one to read along. The dinosaur theme is just the thing for my five year old grandson, he is so interested in them. A lovely story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry book, 21 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Marion J. Skeet "M J Skeet" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
Bought for my 3 1/2 year old grandson who is "into" Dinosaurs and he has this story + others at bedtime every night he stays with me since it arrived!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful book, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
Lovely illustrations and ideal subject for small children just starting swimming lessons who just happen to love dinosaurs as well!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry and the dinosaurs make a splash, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
Swimming is very much on my grandson s mind as we are about to go on holiday to a Caribbean Island and will be spending much time in the sea. As he is just beginning to be confident in the water this lovely story was really suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
This book is awful. The author and the publisher should be ashamed of the content. The story is weird, there are strange words like 'tree-mendous' and the grammar at one point is shocking. 'What a shame them old waves spoiled things for you.' THEM old waves??? Learn to speak author. This book will certainly not be read again to our son. We want him to get a proper education not to be educated by people who lack basic grammar skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't recommend, 24 Jan 2012
My son loves this book, and the idea of a water park. But for me reading it to him, the story is a bit dull, and the grammar is poor eg Nan says "What a shame them waves frightened you" - them waves?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash (Paperback)
My 2 year old son loves this and we have to read it at least 4 times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash
Harry and the Dinosaurs Make a Splash by Ian Whybrow (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews