Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girly in a dark way, with wonderful pictures
A lovely retelling of the Princess and the Pea, with its tongue just far enough in its cheek, and the most wonderful pictures. The storytelling sends up the characters and modern sensibilities in a good-natured way, the Princess has exemplary manners, and the pictures are dark in a way that hints at Grimm Brothers or gothic for the under-tens. The pictures are photographs...
Published on 4 Dec. 2006 by Helen Bennett

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, shame about the printing...
The story of the Princess in the Pea retold with Lauren Child's trademark quirky use of idiomatic language. Using real dolls' house furniture and cut-outs for her characters, Child recreates the classic story with a few modern twists in the tale.

This is an imaginative book by a very talented writer / illustrator, there is no doubting that ... so why the 3...
Published on 13 Sept. 2010 by ladywebslinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, shame about the printing..., 13 Sept. 2010
By 
ladywebslinger (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
The story of the Princess in the Pea retold with Lauren Child's trademark quirky use of idiomatic language. Using real dolls' house furniture and cut-outs for her characters, Child recreates the classic story with a few modern twists in the tale.

This is an imaginative book by a very talented writer / illustrator, there is no doubting that ... so why the 3 stars? I have to say the reproduction of the photos is so gloomy on some pages, (not just in the darker forest scenes) that it spoils what could have been a truly magical picture book. (For instance, on same pages the characters fade into the background, but it looks as if their clothes should have been brightly coloured).

That aside: I bought this for my daughter two years ago for her 5th birthday, but I would say she is getting more from it now she is approaching 7, for two reasons. 1) Being an 'updating' of the classic story, I'd recommend your child get to know the classic story well first and 2) the idioms / jokes do need some explaining - they may be lost on a younger child.

All in all, a lovely book which has lost its va-va voom because of the printing quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girly in a dark way, with wonderful pictures, 4 Dec. 2006
By 
Helen Bennett "helen7741" (Lancaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lovely retelling of the Princess and the Pea, with its tongue just far enough in its cheek, and the most wonderful pictures. The storytelling sends up the characters and modern sensibilities in a good-natured way, the Princess has exemplary manners, and the pictures are dark in a way that hints at Grimm Brothers or gothic for the under-tens. The pictures are photographs of exquisite dolls-house interiors, with the characters modelled as paper cutouts dressed in real fabric. This book is a work of art as well as being great fun to read.

Makes me think of The Princess Bride ("true love!"), Johnny Depp films, and National Trust properties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuously illustrated and delightfully funny!, 20 July 2006
This wonderful book re-tells the classic tale of 'The Princess and the Pea' in distinctive Lauren Child style. The illustrations are superb and the text absorbing and funny. This book works on two levels - one for children and another for adults. The little asides in the narrative are what appeal to me the most.

My family love the Charlie and Lola books, but I would say that this one will appeal more to older children (5+) because it is longer and the references more grown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made bed time enjoyable for all of us!!, 24 April 2007
By 
E. Steele "Elle" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wee girls are 4 and 2 and both enjoy this book. I love the way that Lauren Child tell the story like a conversation, and the illustrations are fabulous. My eldest has had almost every member of our family read her this story and it's a hit with everyone. They have all commented on it in a positive way, and it's a particular favourite of Grandpa's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of the English Association's Key Stage 2 Fiction Award, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
H. Lucas (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
This re-interpretation of the classic tale is richly illustrated. Lauren Child has collaborated with Polly Borland to create a book which captures the reader's interest through a clever blend of artwork and photography. Whole page illustrations explore the text, which uses different fonts and sizes.

It is the tale of the prince who agrees to marry - as long as the princes is 'more mesmerising than the moon ... more fascinating than all the stars in the sky'. There must be a 'certain ... something about her'. After the Prince's parents hold a Royal Ball and no princess with that 'certain something' is found, the prince goes everywhere in search for her, but with no success. So - who is it who comes dripping wet to the palace door in the middle of the night?

This re-telling of a Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale creates much discussion about the story - its organization, illustrations and use of language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books my daughter has!, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
Me and my 6.5 year old daughter love this book! It's beautifully written ("mesmerising" would be the right word, as it is also often used throughout the book) and has amazing illustrations, with certain depth to them. My daughter is a princess lover and I always have to struggle to find princess stories that are not dumb or stereotypical (btw. I also recommend "Paper Bag Princess"). When we were first reading this book both me and my daughter got truly enchanted by it, with my daughter exclaiming every second page "It's so interesting!". I could only wish there were more books like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely MINITURE version..., 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely story, beautiful illustrations and lovely descriptive language to read to children. I must however do Amazon's job here as they have been poor enough not to do so.... This is THE 'MINITURE' version, which Amazon does not state in the title or the description. Sadly it is unusable for me as it was to read to a class or children, and it's so miniature it's hard to read close up! Another annoying mistake on Amazon's part. Will have to now re order the full sized one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
S. Hewitt (West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
Lauren Child is the most fabulous author- her illustrations are bright , imaginative and inspiring, and her version of this traditional tale is humorous and full of typically extensive vocabulary and humour for children and adults alike. Have given this to several four to eight year olds and all have loved it. Brilliant- perfect present- buy all her books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 3 July 2010
By 
Ms. K. Fox "peepo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
Have just purchased this book for a friends daughters 6th birthday after we were bought it as a present a couple of years back . I can't recommend it enough, the pictures are fantastic it shows you at the back of the book how every shot was painstakingly created, this along with the quirky text makes for a really lovely book to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to write this story, 5 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Pea (Paperback)
I love this story and remember it well from childhood. I'm also a big fan of Lauren Child, so when i found out she's done this I had to get it for myself.... oops sorry my daughter. The addaption of this story is heart warming and lovely as they should be, but it has humour too. A book that makes you smile from page to page even at 37...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess and the Pea
The Princess and the Pea by Lauren Child (Paperback - 7 Sept. 2006)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews