Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind blowing
this book is the first HG Wells i have read, which i think is a different way round of doing it... but i have other books of his i intend to read!
anyway, the imagination and writing and everything is just amazing! and because it's short stories you can leave this on the bedside table for months without touching it, then pick it up again and read a whole story in one...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Joe

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of Ideas
These thoughtful and largely sci-fi themed short stories are literary Marmalade - full of zest and interesting chewy bits, nicely suspended in a well made and rich structure but somewhat old fashioned and strangely masculine. Not everyone will want to take the lid off but recommended for those who enjoy invention.

I thought this collection of short stories was...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Brownbear101


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of Ideas, 28 July 2010
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
These thoughtful and largely sci-fi themed short stories are literary Marmalade - full of zest and interesting chewy bits, nicely suspended in a well made and rich structure but somewhat old fashioned and strangely masculine. Not everyone will want to take the lid off but recommended for those who enjoy invention.

I thought this collection of short stories was fantastic when I read it as a young teenager and many of them have stuck in my mind - especially the title piece - so I was really looking forward to a second helping. However, I'm forced to agree with the comment in the introduction that 12 is the perfect age to enjoy this volume, because Well's power of imagination imposed on a mind of that age is like nothing else experienced. Older readers will be more inclined to regard his ideas as simply amusing diversions, partly because they are not built into the structure of a full blown novel and partly because his science is 100 years old but, in my view, if Wells had turned almost any of them into a novella they would have equalled Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein or his own War of the Worlds. Wells understood the limitation of these stories and makes it clear in his introduction that they are something to be dipped into for between 15 and 50 minutes and nothing more. He certainly wouldn't have approved of reading this cover-to-cover as I did, and he would be right because rather oddly there is a tendency to become impatient with a very short story in order to get onto the next one, rather than letting go and simply enjoying the piece.

Despite their brevity, Well's traditionally muscular prose is not diluted and his landscapes and characters are surprisingly fully formed. His creativity and acute observation are used to build each little world and he puts the various characters through a range of emotions from love to loss through fear and detest. In general the lead characters are men and it is difficult to get away from the idea that this is a man's book - although I am hostile to that concept. Partly this is because most of the stories have a sci-fi angle to them and that tends to be a boyish pre-occupation, and partly because the worlds he conjures up are slightly clubby or tribal. That said, at least three of them have a love story at their heart and moreover they often capture the feeling of their male characters slipping in and out of control that is a feature of the best women's writing.

The range of ideas is fantastic and includes a viperous and decrepit old man who body steals from the fit and young, a dead man who comes back as a moth, a prehistoric tale of love, bravery and primitive technology, a patent medicine that slows down other people's time, and the terrific Land of the Blind where a sighted traveller seeks and fails to become king, and is left agreeing to surgery so that he can lose the disadvantages of sight. It only becomes clear what fabulous invention Well's has deployed if you try to plausibly construct such a story in your own mind.

If you are a teenager, or young at heart, and interested in ideas then you will greatly enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind blowing, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
this book is the first HG Wells i have read, which i think is a different way round of doing it... but i have other books of his i intend to read!
anyway, the imagination and writing and everything is just amazing! and because it's short stories you can leave this on the bedside table for months without touching it, then pick it up again and read a whole story in one evening. even though they are 'short' stories, you don't feel cheated or in want of more, or lost even because the characters and plot are perfectly developed and presented! i love this book and i intend to read from it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half complete, 2 Sep 2011
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I have been a fan of H G Wells since my youth and I would say his short stories are essential to anyone's library. Having ploughed through The War Of The Worlds recently (I don't usually like novels) I think that it is in the short story that the greatness of his fiction lies. My favourite stories are The Moth, The Cone (both included here), The Diamond Maker, The Flowering Of The Strange Orchid, The Apple (not included here). This book is good, with a decent-sized typeface, but H G Wells's appeal requires a second volume containing the rest of the short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
although the plot of many of these stories is promising, the actusl writing ang flow of the prose is disappointing. Title story is excellent but rest are uneven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well and quickly delivered, 20 May 2009
By 
Brian Saker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Wonderful and diverse selection of stories from a writer whose every sentence (almost) is enjoyable in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father of modern sci fi, 24 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
I first read this as a boy and loved it. Wells had such a vivid imagination and such a gift with words. It's still great and the best introduction to the work of the grand/father of modern science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae4880d8)

This product

The Country of the Blind and other Selected Stories (Penguin Classics)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews