Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step into the past
Really enjoyed reading this selection of the Diaries. Great if you like history and especially if you know London well, particularly the City and along the Thames. It gives a wonderful insight into how people lived back in the day along with important moments of history decsribed and perceived by a man of the time in a way that brings everything to life, you can almost...
Published on 11 Oct. 2011 by Xanadu

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My mother gave me this as a gift so
felt obliged to read it but not really my cup of tea. Someone else would find it fascinating as detailed but you have to be interested. I found his work on the Navy Board the best bit.
Published 4 months ago by Lindsey Clare Gee-Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step into the past, 11 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed reading this selection of the Diaries. Great if you like history and especially if you know London well, particularly the City and along the Thames. It gives a wonderful insight into how people lived back in the day along with important moments of history decsribed and perceived by a man of the time in a way that brings everything to life, you can almost feel lke you are there walking the streets alongside him. Want to read all his Diaries now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a Must-Read for All Students, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This version had most, but not all, of the "smut" removed from it (graphic descriptions of his multiple extra-marital liaisons were mostly removed), which made it a much more gripping read. I could barely put the book down as I read his personal descriptions of the Black Death flowing through London and it's surrounds and the events surrounding the Great Fire. A classic for good reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Fascinating Character, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
This is another fascinating historical biography that reads more like a novel than a stuffy factual book. Virtually everyone knows the name of Samuel Pepys. Ah yes, he's the man who wrote the diary. This is of course true, but do they actually know anything about the man behind the name of Samuel Pepys. What for instance were his feelings on the politicians of the day. What were his own ambitions and aspirations.

Pepys was a naval administrator and friend and confidant of some of the most famous and powerful people in London. Sex, the plague, music, marital conflict, naval life, public executions and incarcerations in the Tower of London. These are just some of the colourful events in the life of a man famous for his writing of a diary.

The book contains a wealth of interesting material about the life of a man who's name goes before him. Everyone knows his name, but few know of the life of the man himself. More importantly his diary gives a wonderful insight into the period that he lived in. Written not from the point of view of a historian but simply as a man who is living his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terry williams, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
always a good read and as I am interested in history this book is great. Would recommend it to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The diary of Samuel Pepys, a Selection., 18 May 2015
By 
Pat45 "Pats" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
A shortened version of the original diary. An excellent, highly readable book which brings Pepys' life & times to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable excerpts from the the famously candid diary of a fascinating man living in troubled times, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
First of all this is a review of Maloney's abridged reading for Naxos Audiobooks. Many of the other reviews here appear to be about either the diaries themselves or other Pepys related products. 'Tis a pity when this happens, as it misrepresents and misinforms re the actual product customers are seeking to learn more about.

I have to admit I've not heard of Michael Maloney before. There's a Kenneth Branagh version out as well, which I haven't heard, and which Amazon have mistakenly referred to in their product description above (at the time of my submitting this review at any rate). He reads his part as Pepys very well, but with a decidedly affected plummily posh accent that I found simultaneously strange and charming. It leaves one, or me at least, wondering how such decisions about voice-casting are made. Maloney's characterisation is so affected that I feel it gives a slightly strange slant to the material at times.

But in the end what makes this so fascinating and compelling is the material: Pepys' candid confessional diary entries tell a marvellously vigorous and entertaining tale of a highly interesting life lived through very turbulent times. Pepys grew up during the English Civil War and Cromwell's 'protectorate', and this audiobook abridgement selects several key episodes, such as outbreaks of the plague, the great fire of London, the naval war with Holland - which his work for the navy meant he was intimately involved in - and, talking of intimate involvements, his relationships with numerous women, in particular his wife and Deb Willet, all of which give the abridgement some narrative shape and drama.

Mostly this is a solo reading, but it is augmented by some narrative comments, and a few brief interludes of period music, including a very short song which Pepys set himself, music being, amongst his other accomplishments and, alongside the company of women, his chief pleasure in life. Pepys' diaries are noted for their candour, including detailed and frequently hilarious relations of such things as bowel movements and ejaculations. Aside from a few coy references to hanky-panky (often in a strange jumble of tongues, inc. French and Latin), and a few bouts of flatulence, this side of Pepys rather 'earthier' nature is notably and sadly absent, which slightly emasculates this edition.

Despite these caveats, however, this is enormously enjoyable. I found myself very much compelled to listen to it - I/we always generally listen to audiobooks during car journeys - as near straight though as possible, albeit over numerous individual journeys. And indeed, I've already listened to several parts several times over. I'd like to hear Branagh's version (is that similarly abridged?). I generally dislike Branagh on-screen, but I'd be intrigued to see how his voicing of the part compares with Maloney's slightly effete rendering.

So this Naxos audiobook isn't necessarily the perfect Pepys for me, but it is nonetheless excellent, and great fun to listen to. As a result of listening to this (thanks mum!) I've started reading Tomalin's Pepys biog, The Unequalled Self. And at just over a tenner (at the time of writing), that's great value for a 4-disc set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
As expected and just as described. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics)
The Diaries of Samuel Pepys - A Selection (Penguin Classics) by Samuel Pepys (Paperback - 1 May 2003)
£14.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews