Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,186
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2015
Great service, super fast Postage. Highly recommended. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
The book arrived speedily and is a welcome addition to my small library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
i bought this book as a present and we were both very pleased with it (:
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
I studied 1984 about 25 years for A level and at the time thought that it was a superb piece of literature but I considered the content to be fanciful and more of a metaphorical rather than literal warning of the consequences of a state evolve dystopia. Then along came New Labour in 1997 and I realised that Orwell was indeed able to glimpse the future so much so that you could be forgiven in thinking that New Lab used used 1984 as a blueprint for their assault on the sanctity of the individual and the creation of a dysfunctional society by oppressive state control.
Orwell's nightmare has arrived.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
a classic for all to read- dystopian past which will soon be our future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Still valid
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Arrived quickly. Looks as per picture. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Bought for someone else, but have read it and it is an excellent noel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In a society that has eliminates many imbalances, surplus goods, and even class struggle, there are bound to be deviates; Winston smith is one of those. He starts out, due to his inability to doublethink, with thoughtcrime. This is in a society that believes a thought is as real as the deed. Eventually he graduates through a series of misdemeanors to illicit sex and even plans to overthrow the vary government that took him in as an orphan.
If he gets caught, he will be sent to the "Ministry of Love" where they have a record of 100% cures for this sort of insanity. They will even forgive his past indiscretions.
Be sure to watch the three different movies made from this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2004
Reading this book many years ago and again recently I found how scarily true the world of orwell is becoming.
The first time i read this book i could not put it down!
if you are well into conspiracies and such then you too will never be able to put down the book.
if you are interested in expLoring a character's ability to fight a system where there are no friends, trust is not in the protocol and everyone is against you then this is the book fo you!
A deep and compelling read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.