Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading cos it's brilliant, never mind all the hype!
If you can, skip the introduction to 1984.
Forget the film. Or any other adaptation.
Forget that it *might* be comment on society 50 years ago and that it *might* apply to Soviet / Sino governments which hardly exist any more.
The themes which Orwell tackles are completely relevant today, and his method for exploring them is as fresh now as when I first...
Published on 31 July 2007 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!
I first tried to read this book when I was thirteen. I got to the fourth or fifth chapter and gave up; I just didn't get it. My daughter is now reading the book at school and having the same problem with it, so I decided to give it another go to help her understand the story. I'm glad I did because it is a very interesting book and deals with relevant issues of today;...
Published 18 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 161 62 6394 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was fine but the delivery took simply to long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orwell got it perfect with Animal Farm, what about 1984?, 17 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Paperback)
Orwell's "fairy tale" 'Animal Farm' was as true-to-life as a book with talking animals can get - it even predicted the Cold War. As such many people view this book as a prediction, and think that it has fallen short because it didn't come true. But then if it had come true as it is written, I doubt any of us would have read it. Look closer, and there's a possibility that a lot of it has already happened, just not as it was written.
Orwell creates a completely believable enviroment in which the government (whoever that may be) controls both the past, the present and the future. At the time it was written '1984' was a disturbing dystopian future deemed possible by many, and to me it still is. Just because we have succeeded that set date, doesn't mean these things couldn't happen or aren't happening. The scariest thing is that looking around us, we can see aspects of the book becoming real, albeit in not quite such an extreme form.
Orwell exaggerates and accentuates things for this book, but at the base of it all is what is going on in our world at this very moment. If you want to view this as a prediction, some might say it has come true. The plight of Winston Smith is the plight of many today, trying to find a different course for your life that isn't set out for you, and finding... what? You'll just have to read it to find out, and then step back and take a look at your own life.
This book is a must-read for anyone with even an ounce of interest in having freedom over their own life. From it we can learn many important lessons, and the one that is the most valuable of all - if there is hope, it lies in the proles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
If you have read Animal Farm you will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Exactly what my son needed for his A level English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still excellent, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Well worth reading again read it about 15 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still as relevant today as the day it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars she thoroughly enjoyed it., 1 Oct. 2014
By 
B. Mackellar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Bought for my daughter. she thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still frightening, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-four (Paperback)
First published in 1948, this is still relevant, rivetting and utterly terrifying. Orwell's assessment of how power always corrupts may not be subtle but still feels very real. Despite his use of Ingsoc ("English Socialism") this isn't about party politics, and focuses instead on extremity whether right- or left-wing.

But despite the didactic and polemic purpose of the novel, Orwell never falls into the trap of other political commentators: the message doesn't replace the fiction, but is the fiction. Winston Smith, a kind of everyman, is someone we sympathise and empathise with not only because of his rebellion against the system, but because he retains a sense of humanity that has been overwhelmingly lost. Even his slightly feeble bumbling, and satisfaction in his job is spot on: there are no heroes in 1984.

My only slight quibble is that the love affair between Winston and Julia is so conveniently Mills & Boon: she declares her love and that's it, boom, they're in love... However that isn't of course what Orwell is interested in and so we just have to accept it. Given the time in which it was written there is a kind of subversive sensuality about Julia that was perhaps more shocking than it is now. But the betrayal at the end only has its true impact if we believe they really did love (or at least believe they loved).

But small quibble apart, this is a shockingly relevant book. Worth reading alongside very modern writing such as Standard Operating Procedure: A War Story and (more frivolously, but still importantly) Little Brother for a contemporary discussion of the erosion of civil liberties in the name of anti-terrorism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty-Four (Mass Market Paperback)
Beyond compare. The strength of the human spirit and sense of self triumphs over the worst oppression and torture that can be imagined. A celebration of humanity and demonstration of the horrors of what the same is capable of inflicting on their own kind. Sad, disturbing, provocative and superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got for wife she"loves it not put kindle down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 161 62 6394 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nineteen Eighty-Four
Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Jan. 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews