Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
This book is an excellent read for anyone interested in the war at ground level. It is basically a collection of stories and personal accounts from both sides and it is fascinating to read the views of German and Russian soldiers as well as civilians. The Russian contribution to the war has, I feel, been somewhat overlooked. In Britain we tend to say we won the war and...
Published on 5 Jun 2003 by Mr. R. J. Millington

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and shocking
This is a book that seems to tell the true horror of this, the decisive battle of WWII.
I would not deem it essential reading to a WWII Historian, but I would certainly recommend it to a Russian History enthusiast. Similarly, to any who beleive Russia's role in the war was not crucial, this book will certainly put them straight!
A must read for those who find...
Published on 21 Oct 2004 by Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. R. J. Millington "Richard M" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent read for anyone interested in the war at ground level. It is basically a collection of stories and personal accounts from both sides and it is fascinating to read the views of German and Russian soldiers as well as civilians. The Russian contribution to the war has, I feel, been somewhat overlooked. In Britain we tend to say we won the war and give the USA credit too, but The USSR played a vital, if not the decisive role in WW2. You must read this book. Also the film Enemy At The Gates with Jude Law is based on one of the personal acocunts in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a confusion, 5 Sep 2004
By 
MR J D C SLADE (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
I very much enjoy examinations of military history, and did find this book to convey much of the detail (including the horror) of the battle for Stalingrad. However, I think that the book did not really display a true historians perspective of the time, and instead read more like a novel than an historical review of information. I also felt that there was insufficient information on the wider implications of the failure of the Germans to capture Stalingrad, and little about the overall impact the battle had on the outcome of the war. Compared to something written by, say, Martin Middlebrook, I thought this was lacking. Overall, recommended, but approach with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and shocking, 21 Oct 2004
By 
Gregory "g_campbell1" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
This is a book that seems to tell the true horror of this, the decisive battle of WWII.
I would not deem it essential reading to a WWII Historian, but I would certainly recommend it to a Russian History enthusiast. Similarly, to any who beleive Russia's role in the war was not crucial, this book will certainly put them straight!
A must read for those who find the Russian (and, indeed, the German) war tactics and army system's of interest.
Recommended, but not light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic, powerful, but very touching and humanist, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
War is a nightmare and this young sniper Vassiliy Zaitsev chosen to be hero without a name --even the propaganda paper treat him as the legend. I do like his beliefs; za Volgoi dlya nas zemly ne bylo (there's no land behind the Volga), which made him have to protect his land with every single bullets. And James Horner (the composer for OST 'Enemy at The Gates') makes the movie adapted from this book was very touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful and personal account of the battle of Stalingrad, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
Stories are always powerful, and personal stories even more so. This book tells the story of the battle of Stalingrad through the voices of those who took part.
Seen through the eyes of both Germans and Russians, it takes us from Hitler and Stalin in their capitals, to field marshals and their aides, through to officers and soldiers and civilians. We move from individual sniper duels and house-to-house fighting to tank armies manoeuvering accross the Russian Steppe, from grand strategy to basic survival in the hunger and cold.
Anthony Beevor's "Stalingrad" was a bestseller in 1999: This book compares favourably as an account of the battle and its strategy. And unlike some military histories, this is not a dry narrative, in the style "and then the General sent in the 13th Division on the right flank".
Instead, the story comes from the participants and their memories, carefully arranged and in chronological order. Like Mark Baker's "'Nam", it is based on interviews with hundreds of survivors. But Craig balances the many vivid incidents with the bigger picture.
We are reminded of the sheer scale of this battle, with its cost of some 2 million lives and involvement of millions more, and of its importance as a turning point in World War II.
We are also shown, at the individual level, something of the struggle and suffering, the heroism and horror.
"Enemy at the Gates" is now a paperback at a paperback price, labelled as "Classic Military History". "Classic Military History" is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for a movie, 13 Mar 2001
By 
skywakr360@aol.com (Des Moines, Iowa USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book about the often forgotten conflict between Germany and The Soviet Union during World War Two. The duel between the two snipers is only a section of this book. For a book which is primarily about German snipers, read "Grandfather's Tale: the Tale of a German Sniper."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly remarkable, 3 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History) (Paperback)
An outstanding insight into the terrible bloodbath that was Stalingrad. Throughout this book we see the war through the eyes of Field marshals, Generals, right down to the humble infantryman who suffered unspeakable horrors in this war of the despots. One of the many reasons why i like this book is that it gives a pretty unbiased account of the war. The soviets are not portrayed as the good guys, far from it as the book draws to a close we see that the red army were guilty of many crimes against humanity as well. Read this book! And avoid that awful movie of the same name, it has virtually nothing to do with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wider than the story in the film, 4 Nov 2002
This is a sweeping book of the history of the battle - written from both a historical and very personal perspective.
Some very grim and shocking details, but also includes incredible heroism.
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of the madness of war., 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This book is excellent, and covers the German invasion of Russia and the Russian counter attack in the Second World War . The book reads more like a story than a true account. Some of the atrocities committed by both sides are horrific. The siege of Stalingrad highlights the stubbornness and folly of Hitler and Stalin to sacrifice countless thousands of men. Read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 6 Mar 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book in a couple of days, and found the amount of detail fascinating. I found myself sorry for both sides in a battle of ideologies. The last couple of chapters dragged a little as they mainly contain telex messages between Paulus and OKW (supreme command), other than than brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy at the Gates: The Battle for Stalingrad (Penguin Classic Military History)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews