Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chase with a twist in the tail
An excellent Hairy Maclary tale. Children love the chasing of the cats and the rythmic style makes for easy reading. The joke at the end is not lost on even the youngest of children. Tom and Jerry in prose!
Published on 28 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny
My grandaughter; the real expert, is not so taken with this as some of the others in the series, It is a little boring
Published 20 months ago by janetg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chase with a twist in the tail, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
An excellent Hairy Maclary tale. Children love the chasing of the cats and the rythmic style makes for easy reading. The joke at the end is not lost on even the youngest of children. Tom and Jerry in prose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for even the smallest children, 4 Jun 2007
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jude is 13 months old and this is his favourite book. He mightn't understand the words, but he knows the story -- and the credit for that goes to Lynley Dodd. Everything about this book is right: the rhythms and rhymes are beguiling; the pictures and words complement each other perfectly; there is plenty to point at and to laugh at; even parents with minimal acting skills will find it easy to dramatize. Above all, the pacing is perfect. Jude can't talk, but when we get to the crucial page, he turns around and looks me in the eye and says ... well, something. Something that tells me he knows what's going on.

Don't hesitate to pick up any of Lynley Dodd's delightful books; just be prepared to read them out loud two, three or four times in a row. At least you probably won't have to fetch them yourself: a simple "Where's Hairy McLary?" gets Jude scampering to the cupboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Lynley Dodd, 22 Dec 2009
Once again Lynley Dodd has penned a winner. This time she introduces the cats in the neighbourhood, as Hairy Maclary, in a mad mood, chases them, much to their annoyance. However, he gets his comeuppance when he tries to chase an old antagonist! Read and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant for reading aloud, 21 Aug 2008
this book has a great repetition that littluns love. each page has a cat being chased by Hairy Mclary, with the repeated phrase 'But along came Hairy Mclary ...' on each page and my little boy loves saying this with me!

the text rhymes beautifully, the pictures are beautiful and Hairy Mclary gets his comeuppance (in a funny way) at the end.

i bought this as part of a set of 5 but this is the one my little boy wants read most, tho all of them are well-read (and not in the usual tedious vein that the majority of stories for under 5s seem to fall into).

If you and your offspring enjoy the Julia Donaldson books you'll love these too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 April 2014
Love this book, had it as a child and using it for bedtime reading. Can't wait to get the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my son loves it, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. E. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
turned up fast and was in great condition what more could you want.My son loves this book and all the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Hairy Maclary Scattercat (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
Fantastic book .a joy to read. My 2yr old granddaughter loves it. this is her third Hairy Maclary book and we are already looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ace!, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Me And my daughter have hours of fun reading these books. Everyone should read them to their children at bedtime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure to Read, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hairy Maclary Scattercat (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
As with all the other Hairy Maclary books, I would highly recommend it to any adult who is happy to read to very young children On Condition that they aren't bored out of their own rather more mature minds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandaughter; the real expert, is not so taken with this as some of the others in the series, It is a little boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hairy Maclary Scattercat (Hairy Maclary and Friends)
Hairy Maclary Scattercat (Hairy Maclary and Friends) by Lynley Dodd (Board book - 6 April 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews