Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book for pre-school children
Children and adults love this book. It is rhyming, which is a benefit for base line assessment - and great fun to read to pre-school children. The cat has loads of character, and there is a moral out there for all adults to pass on to their children! You should definitely buy this wonderful book.
Published on 26 Oct. 2000 by edward@oyediran95.freeserve.co.uk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far too small for the intended age.
It is a lovely story but the listing is quite misleading regarding its size. I purchased this along with two others as a gift for my niece but the books are so small that I think I shall have to get something else, not really much of a gift. Just be warned that they are very small, a little too small for the age of child they are intended for.
Published 15 months ago by ClareB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book for pre-school children, 26 Oct. 2000
Children and adults love this book. It is rhyming, which is a benefit for base line assessment - and great fun to read to pre-school children. The cat has loads of character, and there is a moral out there for all adults to pass on to their children! You should definitely buy this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 19 Dec. 2003
By 
jsm999 (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Animals being naughty and making a mess - the perfect combination for most small children. My daughter has loved Slinky Malinki (and the Hairy Maclary books) since she was about 3, and still enjoys them at 6. It's true that in some of these books there is vocabulary which is challenging for pre-schoolers, but that doesn't seem to matter when the story is this entertaining and amusing.
I would recommend reading one of the Hairy Maclary books first if you haven't already, so you can appreciate his guest appearance on the last page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troublesome pair, 9 Sept. 2005
This is the best book for preschoolers in my opinion (if that counts for anything)and generally is overlooked behind both Maclary books and other in authors such as Jill Murphy and the Ahlbergs etc.

A common complaint is that childrens books either aren't challenging enough, aren't funny enough etc etc but that is because they are not designed to educate, stimulate, amuse or engage childrens parents quite simply. Kids like them, they work even if not apparant and if an average adult actually tried to sit down and emulate that themselves they'd on average find it more difficult than a lengthy eloquent piece fit for an amazon review.

So why do I say it's good. Ok, you've got association- animals as comparable to mischevious children causing commotion and havoc around the house. You've got repetition, the foundation for learning to read and expand vocabulary through familiarisation. You've got a rhyming book - language development again. Children begin to remember the story and fill in the gaps - they can use these as beginner readers. don't be tempted into buying the Maclary dvd though, it's really awful.

This book went down best out of all the Hairy/Slinky books and would work for 18ms to 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great romp!, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
Mrs. Suzanne Ravenhall (Fareham, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliantly written (as are all Lynley Dodds' books) about animals getting into a mess. Hilarious fun, that brings Hairy McClary in on the act too! Bonus! Some challenging words, but how do you expect your child to learn new words unless you introduce them in context. My daughter's learnt all sorts of words I would never have thought possible for her age had it not been for reading "challenging" books. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slinky Malinky, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
S. Tomlins (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
We were already a fan of Hairy Maclary Hairy Maclary from Donaldson's Dairy (Hairy Maclary and Friends) So I was keen to find out what my our 1 year old would make of Slinky Malinky. He just loves it and will happily sit flipping through it himself looking at the lovely pictures but we enjoy reading it to him too, we thought the repetition would be annoying but it isn't. We would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter's Favourite book, 20 Dec. 2006
This is my daughter's favourite book. It's rhyming and repetition help children learn to recognise words and fill them in themselves, great for younger children as well as those learning to read. I've since bought many other Slinky Malinky and Hairy Maclary books which are also popular, but this is still the favourite. It would make a lovely gift for a child between 1 and 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely rhyming, big hit, 8 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful rhyming - lovely character - lynley Dodd is brilliant - we started with the Hairy Maclary series and loved Slinky Malinky in those so went for the Slinky ones too. Great for kiddies - my little one loved to learn the rhymes and would finish them for you. Lovely and funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open the door .............., 20 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
to reading and fun with the Hairy Maclary and Friends series. My grandson (2.5 years) loves the characters, their 'naughty' exploits, the repetition and the rhyming - to the extent that he takes the books to bed with him. My favourite is Slinky Malinki, just for the name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynley strikes again, 6 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
Great addition to the Lynley Dodd portfolio - made better if you've read Hariy Maclary first as the characters appear but having Hairy would prompt you puchasing it. A nice ditty and fun story. Not too long to read before bed! another bonus. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 2 Aug. 2011
By 
C. Kitchin "cakeroyd" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends) (Board book)
I can't believe a reviewer gave this one star for not making sense! It's such a lovely book, with just the right amount of repetition with the story that my 2 year old can already finish off some of the lines with me. It's his first favourite book and, even though I've read it to him about 1000 times since we got it a couple of weeks ago, I still enjoy reading it with him. Ignore any nonsense about not making sense and buy it right now - there's no way you'll regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends)
Slinky Malinki, Open the Door (Hairy Maclary and Friends) by Lynley Dodd (Board book - 5 Aug. 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews