Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing, imaginative, humourous, child interactive fun!!
Meg and Mog is a fantastic story to read and share with children. It stimulates interaction between parent and child and encourages the child to remember a short catchy story by ear. The story also helps children to identify objects and encourages them to shout out their answers to various fun objects,i.e recognising pictures with words. Therefore encouraging the child to...
Published on 28 Feb. 2002 by embletonclaire@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dated and very boring!
I bought this book for my 3 year old son but I was very disappointed with it - whilst brightly coloured this book has very little stimulating content. It is dull, unimaginative and very dated - so much so my son got down from the sofa and went off to get another book by the time I had reached the 3rd page. It has now been donated to charity so SAVE YOUR MONEY and don't...
Published on 26 Sept. 2010 by A Wilsden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing, imaginative, humourous, child interactive fun!!, 28 Feb. 2002
Meg and Mog is a fantastic story to read and share with children. It stimulates interaction between parent and child and encourages the child to remember a short catchy story by ear. The story also helps children to identify objects and encourages them to shout out their answers to various fun objects,i.e recognising pictures with words. Therefore encouraging the child to start early reading by keeping them involved in the story.
By the end of the book your child will be telling you most of the story themselves by prompting your child's imagination!!
This book will create a Meg and Mog fan and your child will be screaming for more fun stories and adventures of the famous Meg and Mog.(Who surely every parent must remember from somewhere in the childhood.)
A great read for anytime of day but particularly good reading fun at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anni Ed., 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Meg & Mog (Paperback)
REVIEW FOR the 35th year anniversary of MEG and MOG
2007/PUFFIN BOOKS

This edition is slightly larger than the regular book, MEG and MOG, measuring in around 22.25 cm square, with silvery embellishments to the front cover.

Inside the front cover reads:-

'Thirty-five spellbinding years of Meg and Mog.

Meg the witch and Mog her cat go off to a wild Hallowe'en party with all the other witches.
The spell they cast goes off with a BANG!

The bestselling MEG ANG MOG stories have been casting a unique spell for thirty-five years. They are perfect for sharing or reading alone and children love exploring the colours, sounds and shapes.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly recomended book for all those young readers!, 9 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This book is a great introduction to an enchanting series where children are warped into the lives of Meg and Mog, not forgetting the owl of course! As a young child i really enjoyed reading this book and found it a pleasure every time. Although I have slightly outgrown this series now it is a must on the christmas list of every child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for toddlers, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
S. Paynter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meg and Mog (Board book)
I bought this book for my 15 month old and she loves it and wants it read again and again. She joins in with stretching when Meg wakes up, stirring the cauldron, and saying "sorry Mog" when Meg steps on his tail. Luckily, the story's fun enough and there are so many different ways to read it that adults don't get too bored either! Lots of learning opportunities packed in as well (happy/sad faces, getting dressed, clocks (for older children), identifying foods & creepy crawlies, counting eggs/spoons) without getting in the way of the story. Fantastic. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meg & Mog, 6 May 2004
By 
H Clarke "Plocket" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was delighted when I found the Meg & Mog books on Amazon. I loved them as a child and have recently introduced my 2-year-old to them. She loves them as much as I do! They are fun stories and have lots of learning potential with the bright colours, shapes, and numbers of things on the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 2 year old knows this by heart, 25 May 2009
By 
E. Judge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meg and Mog (Board book)
Brilliant book, my 2 year old has had it read to her so many times she can 'read' it herself. I think it will really help her to start learning to really read, as she can point out some of the words already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb first story, 29 Mar. 2006
I started reading this book to my daughter when she was 1 year old. It was the first story book that she was interested in. Meg gets out of bed, puts on her clothes, comes down the stairs and has breakfast, and so it is a story that a child can relate to at a very early age. For the next five months, she always wanted either this book or one of the sequels as a bed time story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hallowe'en story - designed to appeal to the very young and still going strong nearly 40 years later!, 25 Oct. 2010
Review for the 1972/PUFFIN BOOKS paperback edition, measuring 20 cm square.

Text from Helen Nicoll & superb illustrations from Jan Pienkowski.

From inside the front cover:-

'Meg the witch and Mog her cat go off to a wild Hallowe'en party with all the other witches.
The spell they cast goes off with a BANG!'

A bewitching cover opens to 28 colourful shiny pages in double-page spread format.
Seemingly simplistic illustrations in vibrant colour throughout are far more detailed than you first notice. Discussion opportunities include the basics of getting dressed, having breakfast, counting, time, colours, moods from facial expressions, rhyming names and repetition. Varying levels of artwork opportunities exist particularly based around the pages where Meg gets made up for the night. I have seen some delightful 'witches' from the youngest of children who are encouraged by the four stages of dressing up, step-by-step, and have a go, too, not forgetting the changes in Meg's expression!
Possible extension exercises for older children include memory games including recalling what was on the pages and what went into the cauldron - 'bubble, bubble'!

Clear, easy-to-follow text is enhanced in places FOR EFFECT, and a handful of speech bubbles present an opportunity to join in with!

Example of text:-

'Once upon a time there was a witch called Meg.
At midnight the owl hooted 3 times and woke her up
WHOO WHOO WHOO

She got out of bed to dress for the spell party.
She put on her black stockings....her big black shoes......her long black cloak, and her tall black hat........'

Meg gradually gets herself dressed up and goes off down to the kitchen for a very early breakfast! Mog the cat is asleep in the kitchen but............not for long!
The cauldron is out and the ingredients are in, resulting in a hearty breakfast for Meg, Mog and Owl, before the flight up the chimney......off up into the night sky to meet four friends all with similar sounding names......then the mixing of a spell begins, on a hilltop in the light of the moon!
BUT, despite some typically witchy ingredients and a likely sounding chant.......it doesn't all go quite to plan......to say the least, with an interesting conclusion!
Goodbye!

Roll on next Hallowe'en!

Also available as part of a neat set in a bag & the 2007 SPECIAL 35 year anniversary edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Meg and Mog (Board book)
I bought this for my 14month old as I remembered it from my childhood. He absolutely loves this simple story - I read it 5 times in one day. Highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Oct. 2008
Like all the Meg and Mog books, this is a fantastic story for toddlers and young children.

I had this book read to me as a child and now have the pleasure of sharing it with my 2 year old daughter. A funny story, lots to discuss on the page, plus I love the way the text forms part of the story (such as the word 'bubbles' being written in tiny bubble-like circles).

My daughter asks for it over and over and it is securing its place amongst our favourites. The story is simple enough for a young child to follow yet not so simplistic it becomes monotonous and repetitive. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meg and Mog
Meg and Mog by Jan Pienkowski (Board book - 27 May 2004)
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews