Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy tale to teach every child!
I've read negative reviews of these books and that surprise me.
These are childrens books, written for children, by a mother who was getting despondant that she couldn't find any books that taught her children morals.
I think its important to forget that this book was written Madonna the superstar, and concentrate on the content. (Though, lets be honest, is...
Published on 26 Nov 2004 by H. R. Trigg

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An improvement from English Roses
The second book in a series of 5. Based on the teachings of the Kabballah. I'm not sure which age group this is for, as it's a bit too short for an older child and I'm not sure a younger child would understand the message the book is trying to convey.
As with The English Roses, the illustrations eclipse the story. Beautifully illustrated and very different from...
Published on 14 July 2004 by Nicky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy tale to teach every child!, 26 Nov 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
I've read negative reviews of these books and that surprise me.
These are childrens books, written for children, by a mother who was getting despondant that she couldn't find any books that taught her children morals.
I think its important to forget that this book was written Madonna the superstar, and concentrate on the content. (Though, lets be honest, is there anyone more qualified to combat the books subject matter?)
This particular book deals with THE POWER OF THE WORD, and is perhaps aimed more at boys (simply because of the characters and illustrations), though all kids should be taught the aim of the book. The story has been inspired by some of the teachings of the Jewish spiritual faith 'Kabbalah'. The reality is, the message forms the basics of any sprituality, and general moral that every child should be taught, and the earlier the better.
Yes, its simply written, but the story is well told, and its beautifully illustrated.
I would expect this to be a welcome and worthy addition to any childs book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smashing book, 22 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
This book is smashing to help young children understand the importnce of honestly and chivalry in a person and to step into other people's shoes and walk around in them. One of many few books which teaches children subtly and makes an impact on them. I would STRONGLY reccomend this book, as it can help influence a childs way of looking at life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apples and feathers are used to teach the power of words, 5 Feb 2006
By 
F. Orion Pozo "Orion Pozo" (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
Mr. Peabody's Apples is the second of five children's books written by Madonna. The story is a retelling of a 300 year old classic from the Jewish tradition of Ukraine. Set in a small American town in the 1950s, it uses a misunderstanding and rumor to show the importance of a person's good name and the ease with which it can carelessly be destroyed.
Mr. Peabody is a school teacher who is also the coach of the local little league team. One day a boy sees him take an apple from the green grocer without paying. How does the child react when he thinks this respected member of the community is a thief? How does Mr. Peabody clear his name? This is a tale that will appeal to the young at heart regardless of age.
The book is beautifully illustrated in a US Depression era style by Loren Long. Full page color illustrations alternate with pages of text that are boxed in with monochrome drawings. A sumptuous treat to the eye as well as the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Peabody's Apples, 7 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
What a fabulous story and with such a great message, it is so true - we are so quick to judge others and also to spread the wrong message.
Not enough people take responsibility for their actions nowadays - I have read it over and over to my children and they are absolutely fascinated with it and it has prompted a lot of thought and questions - which is what a book like this one should do.
The illustrations are also wonderful, a great book to have and to keep for a very long time. It has also prompted a lot of thought from an adult perspective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
THIS BOOK IS TO GOOD TO LET CHILDREN PLAY WITH. REALY NICE PICTURES & NICE WORDING. GREAT BOOK TO SIT CUDDLED UP IN CHAIR WITH YOUR LITTLE ONES. I WOULD SAY THE BOOK IS FOR 3YRS & ABOVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY NICE, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
It is a very subtle book and written with tons of wisdom and sensibility. A good choice for a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story, With A Great Life Lesson., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
This book contains one of the best life lessons that everyone should know, but what makes it even more special is that it is beautifully illustrated. Well written, and an eye-opening book- it is an essential for ages 1-100!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting story, well written, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
I read this book in the local library, and loved it. I didn't notice the author at the time. It contains a truth which my 6 year old loved as a bedtime story, and it made me think. Lovely pictures too. I don't buy many books, the library is free after all, but I am buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good lesson, well taught, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
It has received some very mixed reviews but in my opinion, this is actually well written book. I was so ready not to like it on account of it's author being a pop-star (I'm such a snob) but it is a really nice children's book with a powerful message for everyone, regardless of age.

The story of Mr Peabody speaks of the power of gossip, the danger of presumption and the impact of words upon other people; specifically, the fact that once something is said...it cannot be 'unsaid'. The illustrations are unusual, old fashioned and charming and the story is told in a way which is simple but does not patronise it's young audience.

I read this book with my daughter when she was 5 years old and it provoked some very interesting questions and discussions about responsibility and judgement. I would recommend this as a read to or read along book. Older children may find it a little bit too simplistic.
I loved it so much that I bought an extra copy for the children at my friend's Nursery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very re-readable, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mr Peabody's Apples (Hardcover)
I have no idea why pepole are low-rating this. It's a great story that teaches a very valuable lesson. The illustration is very warm and fits the story very well. It's just the right length and feels like a mini-movie. Very nice and better than most picture books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Peabody's Apples
Mr Peabody's Apples by Madonna (Hardcover - 10 Nov 2003)
10.17
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews