Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eleven Doctors, eleven stories
This book, designed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who contains 11 original stories by different authors (one for each Doctor) which were originally published individually as ebooks.
1. The First Doctor: A Big Hand for the Doctor / Eoin Colfer * star
This story didn't really hit it off with me, I'm afraid. It just seemed like a bland pastiche...
Published 10 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who is the best writer?
The stories in this book vary in quality and are - I feel confident in saying - not a patch on the quality of the Target Doctor Who stories.

Poorer stories feature the 6th, 10th and 11th Doctors.
Average stories feature the 1st 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 7th Doctors
Better stories feature the 4th and 8th Doctors.

Probably the best-written story in...
Published 11 months ago by Dog Drove North


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eleven Doctors, eleven stories, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
This book, designed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who contains 11 original stories by different authors (one for each Doctor) which were originally published individually as ebooks.
1. The First Doctor: A Big Hand for the Doctor / Eoin Colfer * star
This story didn't really hit it off with me, I'm afraid. It just seemed like a bland pastiche of Peter Pan. The character of the First Doctor, and his environment just seemed really off kilter. So not much to celebrate in this story, I'm afraid.
2. The Second Doctor: The Nameless City / Michael Scott **** stars
Now this is more like it. The Second Doctor and Jamie find themselves drawn to the home of an ancient enemy, the Archons. The feel of this story was exactly right for the Second Doctor era, and Jamie got a good share of the story as well.
3. The Third Doctor: The Spear of Destiny / Marcus Sedgwick **** stars
This is definitely a good Third Doctor Story, as he and Jo as they try to find an item that is acting as a PTN (Physical Temporal Nexus). I did wonder a bit about them going back in time to find the item because they couldn't get hold of it in 1973 - isn't that against the rules?
4. The Fourth Doctor: The Roots of Evil / Philip Reeve **** stars
This was another really good story, featuring the Fourth Doctor and Leela. Taking Leela to see the Heligan Structure, the Doctor finds the residents waiting for him, and they don't have a ticker tape parade in mind for him. The characterisations of the Doctor and Leela were really good, and it had a solid `feel' of the Fourth Doctor era.
5. The Fifth Doctor: Tip of the Tongue / Patrick Ness * star
Dire. The Fifth Doctor with Nyssa finds himself in Maine during the Second World War, where truthtellers are the latest fad amongst the youngsters. Characterisation of the Doctor and Nyssa in this story was non-existent and the story seemed like a wartime story that the Doctor had just been plonked into, so it could be called a Doctor Who story. Just dire.
6. The Sixth Doctor: Something Borrowed / Richelle Mead **** stars
Peri narrates a story where she and the Doctor find themselves in trouble on Koturia, a place modelled on Las Vegas. Definitely a great Sixth Doctor and Peri story; the action, the characters are all spot on. The Doctor is his usual rather insufferable self, and Peri is well matched with him in this really good story.
7. The Seventh Doctor: The Ripple Effect / Malorie Blackman *****stars
This story really captured brilliantly the Seventh Doctor and Ace, and their quite unique relationship. The story features the results of the Tardis being stuck in and extricated from a Temporal Plexus, and I felt it really did epitomise the whole Doctor Who ethos in a Seventh Doctor story.
8. The Eighth Doctor: Spore / Alex Scarrow ***** stars
In this story, the Eighth Doctor (without companion) finds himself having to go into a small town in the Nevada Desert when something seems to be out of place. This was a really good story featuring the Eighth Doctor; I thought the author captured his manner of speaking and his character perfectly. Great stuff.
9. The Ninth Doctor: The Beast of Babylon / Charlie Higson ***** stars
Ali has something the Doctor wants, no, needs, to get back. But she knows he's a Timelord; she learned about them in her ancient history class. This is a really good story; we only learn about Ali bit by bit, and the Doctor in his new incarnation is really well characterised.
10. The Tenth Doctor: The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage / Derek Landy **** stars
The Tenth Doctor at his manic best, with Martha find themselves in a world that seems to bear an uncanny resemblance to a series of books Martha remembers reading. This was a great story; it takes a premiss that could seem like the Second Doctor adventure in the Land of Fiction (and the Doctor does poke a bit of fun at that story) but gives it a refreshing new twist.
11. The Eleventh Doctor: Nothing O'Clock / Neil Gaiman **** stars
The Time Lords imprisoned the Kin; as long as the Time Lords existed, the Kin would remain imprisoned. But what happens if all but one of the Time Lords has gone? The Kin will be free, and they will remember. A really good story, with the Eleventh Doctor and Amy - well characterised and well plotted.
Overall impressions - a slightly mixed bag, but far more positive than negative. This collection is definitely worth reading. **** stars all up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50th anniversary edition!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
Well this is a must for any die-hard Doctor Who fan! I have every classic Doctor Who novel published and I couldnt believe it when this book was published that included a story featuring every single Doctor. This is a highly collectible book as well great to read.

Stephen R Johnson
London

30th March 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 8 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
An excellent collection of short stories. Each one captures the essence of a particular doctor, usually accompanied by their best-known companion. I agree with other reviewers that the even-numbered stories are generally better; the most entertaining of the lot is possibly Philip Reeves' nostalgic take on the Fourth Doctor, clearly influenced by the classic story "The Face of Evil" both in plot and production values, with some great laugh-out-loud moments. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 book 11 stories, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
Fantastic to seee this released as a book as this was originally released over 2013 as e-books.
This is a single softback book - quite thick with fairly large print - bought for my Doctor Who mad son (13) and he has loved the stories - he imagined that it would be 11 short story books in a case but that is definately not the case. He still loves it though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
I fail to understand how anybody could dislike this. It's wonderful. They have got some of the biggest names in youth fiction - Neil Gaiman, Eoin Colfer and Alex Scarrow to name but three - and have got them to write short stories to celebrate Doctor Who in this anniversary year. As to be expected, these outstanding authors have delivered magnificent stories. The stories vary in tone and style but are great. I think Gaiman's is probably the best. You will not be disappointed. So why not get the book and have a good ol' fashioned knees up celebration of the fantastic Doctor Who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctors Return, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
originally these stories were published online individually, this book pulls all those stories together the writers evoke the spirit of the past doctors wonderfully I particularly enjoyed the stories of the 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th doctors especially the 4th doctors story with his disdain for bow ties!. As these are short stories they're easily digestible they are great for all ages and are great fun, so read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great gift, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Stephanie Okupniak (Southampton, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
I gave this as a gift and it was welcomed not only for the dr who subject manner but also for the versatile authors who contributed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value. will use, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
fab! on time, as advertised, great value. will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
This was a Christmas present that I really could not put down. It's perfect for absolutely any Dr Who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whovians, 22 Nov 2013
By 
KatyScott "Katy Scott" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) (Paperback)
At the time of writing, unusually not available in Kindle format.

I think the reason being is that this is simply a book that feels and reads wonderfully.

The concept is 11 stories by writers who are obviously Dr Who fans.

All very well written and very humourous too. If you are or know a DR Who fan this is an ideal stocking filler.

My favourite two were the Charlie Higson story and Neil Gaiman.

Katy Scott
==========
Author of [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who)
11 Doctors, 11 stories (Doctor Who) by Various (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
£9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews