Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning DOES strike twice
Rick Riordan comes through again, and this follow up to The Lightning Thief is just as entertaining, informative and action-packed as the first book. This time Percy (son of Poseidon) is at school in New York when things start to go downhill fast, beginning with some bad dreams about his friend Grover the satyr, followed by an attack by cannibalistic dodge ball...
Published on 4 July 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like the Gods have abandoned Rick this time around.
I read this a while ago and have the third but barely touched it, Lightning thief was a great start, although i understand why this book may be a stand out for some, what i most adorned about percy jackson was the mythos, which sadly was too distant in the sea of monsters, it didn't have that twist of which creepy greek ghoul would lie around the corner nor did it present...
Published 17 months ago by Manny.S


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning DOES strike twice, 4 July 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Rick Riordan comes through again, and this follow up to The Lightning Thief is just as entertaining, informative and action-packed as the first book. This time Percy (son of Poseidon) is at school in New York when things start to go downhill fast, beginning with some bad dreams about his friend Grover the satyr, followed by an attack by cannibalistic dodge ball players.

When Annabeth (daughter of Athena) arrives on the scene with more bad news, Percy has to embark on another quest, this time unsanctioned, to save Camp Half-Blood, which is vulnerable to attack since its defenses have been breached. He also has to save Grover, who's found himself in an inter-species entanglement in which he doesn't quite see eyes to eye with his suitor.

Accompanying them is Percy's class mate Tyson, a street kid who counts Percy as his only friend, but who is much, much more than he seems. The three travel to the treacherous Sea of Monsters in the face of insurmountable odds to capture the Golden Fleece, which hopefully can counteract the poison and restore the magical protection of the Camp.

Steeped in Greek mythology, yet written for young readers, this one is highly recommended for developing the imagination with its combination of thrilling adventure and legend.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, laughed a lot, 29 April 2010
By 
L. L. Zoetmulder (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got the books just as the movie was coming out. I read the first one in about a day because it was just so good.. In my opinion the books keep getting better and better. The Sea of Monsters is a great read (both for a kid or an adult)and will teach you a thing or two about greek mythology too. The plot twists are inventive, making the book unpredictable and fun to read. I definitely recommend this book for anyone looking for a nice book to read or with an interest in Greek mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - Parents buy with caution :-), 23 Dec 2010
By 
This book needs an X rating because if you buy it for your children you will definitely be "eXcluded" whilst they are reading it - I "lost" my daughter for a whole day and a half; worse still, the kindle was my birthday present!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Adventure!, 4 April 2010
By 
Tasha (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Percy has almost made it througha whole year of school without being kicked out. Too good to be true? Sure it is. A run in with some monsters soon sees to that and has Percy fleeing to Camp Half-Blood where things aren't exactly as they were last year.

Finding the Golden Fleece appears to be the answer to putting the camp back to how it should be and off course Percy's the one who gets to retrieve it, along with Annabeth, Clarrise and newcomer, Tyson. They also need to rescue Grover while they're at it. All in a days work for a half-blood.

The Percy Jackson books pretty simple in style - Percy has to find something and deal with a whole load of mythical stuff on the way. It's mostly obvious what's going to happen before it does but there's a few twists and turns as well as the explanations of the myths that keep the interest factor. They're funny and full of action which makes them enjoyable to read and Sea of Monsters doesn't disappoint in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Mythology, brilliantly done!, 6 Jan 2011
Brilliant stuff. Really exciting all the way through. The plot was well thought out, with plenty of suspence, action and ups and downs thoughout to keep you on your toes, With an ancient quest brought back to life. The characters were really lifelike, despite their sometimes supernatural origins. They seem like real, everyday teenage kids, living a life full of magic and danger and treating it like it's pretty normal a lot of the time. Persy jackson really brings ancient mythology into the modern world, with things like the bermuda triangle thrown in, and Ares the god of war being owed a debt by the loosers of all wars. In this book it includes the spirits from more recent battles, and the magically enhanced technology of those wars with it. I like the way the mortal world and that of the gods, monsters and heroes are right on top of each other and interconnected, but also so far apart, and that most of the world dont really notice the magic all around them, despite the enormous explosions, one eyed boys and killer old ladies. Plenty of magic and mythical monsters, and not all the monsters are bad. It kind of has a message that it's not your background that defines who you are, it's who you are and how you live your life. It also has a message about accepting your family, warts and all, but i wont go into that. You can learn a lot of interesting stuff about greek mythology. This world of gods, monsters and demigods is fantasic. The way the book ended was really unexpected, but in a really good way. I can really recommend this book to anybody and I can't wait to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Jan 2011
Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters is a fantastic book with twists, turns and downright humor. If you have read the first one and like it, you will love this one. One of the reasons why it is good is because it explains a little bit about the other characters and it goes deeper in Greek Mythology. Finally, I would highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like the Gods have abandoned Rick this time around., 31 Mar 2013
By 
Manny.S (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this a while ago and have the third but barely touched it, Lightning thief was a great start, although i understand why this book may be a stand out for some, what i most adorned about percy jackson was the mythos, which sadly was too distant in the sea of monsters, it didn't have that twist of which creepy greek ghoul would lie around the corner nor did it present anything worth caring about, i felt myself reading to the end wondering why this and that was so important and hoping the whole book wouldn't stretch this seemingly little sub story into a full blown book, it did :(, hopefully the third did get the golden fleece treatment because the series did last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent adventure/action story, 14 Mar 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is an excellent action/adventure story, with very good artwork, which, while being a bit more ’European’ in style of than is usual nowadays for children’s books, is an excellent choice for such a high-profile book, as it deserves to be illustrated in a grander style.

I have not read the original novel (or seen the film), but this is in its own right an excellent adventure story, with a clear flow of the story from scene to scene, as Percy and friends (along with an un-friend) set out on a quest for the Golden Fleece. They encounter a number of characters (both old and new) and situations from the Greek myths as they progress; with plot-elements from the previous novel coming in to play, and revelations that will affect future stories discovered. I enjoyed it as a stand-alone story, while appreciating the continuity with other stories in the sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining book, 5 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining book. Has a handy guide to some of the main gods at the back, including pronunciations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning And Plot Twisting To The Very Last Page...Literally, 29 Jun 2006
I read this book today and i have to say it is brilliant. It takes place a school year after the events of The Lightening Thief and it's just as good if not better.

Percy has had a very uneventful school year with not one moster attacking him which has made him very on edge. He's made one friend(who happens to be homeless, poor and not to mention slow) and he's having strange dreams of Grover who seems to be in trouble. When monsters finally attack durring his dodgeball game and Annabeth turns up to help scratched and looking rather worse for wear Percy realises something's very wrong. They arrive back at half blood hill to a terrible sight; Thalia's pine tree has been poisoned and the border between Half Blood Hill and the mortal world is failing. What does this mean for Percy and the rest of the half bloods? A whole lot of trouble and the realisation that in their world nothing is as it seems and whatever Kronos's plans are he is just about ready to put them into action which will spell the end for half blood hill and the rest of the world too.

This book really concentrates hard on the prophecy that both Annabeth and Chiron know about and Rick pulls so many unexpected twists your head is left spinning in the best possible way. With new and old foes, with action and adventure and with the last twist on the book on the last page you are left wondering what the fates and the future have in store for our demi-god Percy Jackson.

All in all a fantastic book and i cannot wait for the next one which is due out early 2007, everyone who loves to read should definitly check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters
Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews