Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Greeks siring kids
If you've been following this fascinating series, you'll already know that it is based on Greek mythology, with a touch of artistic license and a ton of humor. Apparently, the big three of Olympus (Poseidon, Zeus and Hades) had reluctantly agreed to stop popping over to earth and siring offspring with the local mortals, in order to nullify a prophecy that foretells...
Published on 19 May 2007 by Amanda Richards

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I would say this series did not stand out on the pages for me; very well written and the storyline does not get boring.
Published 5 months ago by Elliott Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Greeks siring kids, 19 May 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you've been following this fascinating series, you'll already know that it is based on Greek mythology, with a touch of artistic license and a ton of humor. Apparently, the big three of Olympus (Poseidon, Zeus and Hades) had reluctantly agreed to stop popping over to earth and siring offspring with the local mortals, in order to nullify a prophecy that foretells certain disaster when said offspring reach the age of sixteen. However, gods will be gods, and as we pick up the story from The Sea of Monsters), we have two potentially dangerous demi-gods running around, namely Percy Jackson, star of the series and son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, and Thalia, who formerly had roots on Half-Blood Hill, and is the daughter of Zeus, Lord of the Sky. This is not to say that some of the other gods weren't busy as well, and the majority of the supporting cast is made up of children of the other residents of Olympus.

This third book of the planned five book series starts with a rescue mission to save two newly-discovered demi-gods from a monster attack, and during the battle, a daughter of Athena is taken, despite the timely arrival of Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt and her hunters. While Artemis sets off alone to hunt another monster that is destined to cause the downfall of Olympus, the rest are sent to Camp Half-Blood for their safety. While there, The Oracle (whose description makes her sound like Norman Bates' mummy) delivers a prophecy that leads to the rest of the action that packs book three from cover to cover.

To cut the story short, a team of five is chosen to set off in search of Artemis, but there is a last minute unplanned substitution, who has another quest or two to fulfill along the way. The route takes them through Manhattan and across the country to San Francisco, where our hero experiences what it's like to carry the weight of the sky on his shoulders.

Cool monsters, skeletal warriors and bad guys abound, as well as gods behaving badly and making bad haiku, but the most upsetting thing about this book is that after reading the ending, it will be a very agonizing and excruciatingly painful wait for books four and five. This is one of those series where you just gotta get them all.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 25 April 2007
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The SEA OF MONSTERS ended with a bang, with another child of the three gods emerging from the tree guarding Camp Half-Blood. Percy Jackson now has his hands full in THE TITAN'S CURSE, the third volume of the series.

When he answers an urgent call from his best friend, Grover, at a school in Maine, unexplainable things start happening. Grover has found two more half-bloods, who are siblings, but the assistant principal is a powerful monster in disguise. Grover will never get the half-bloods to camp without help. Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia set off for Maine to help Grover, but don't realize that they're walking into a trap.

Dr. Thorn, the assistant principal, has some tricks up his sleeve. When Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, arrives, things get out of hand. Dr. Thorn falls off a cliff with Annabeth. Artemis goes after her and everyone else returns to Camp Half-Blood. Here, they try to act as normal as possible, but two camper's dreams indicate severe trouble with both Artemis and Annabeth.

The Oracle speaks and five campers must find and bring back Artemis before the Winter Solstice. For the first time, Percy remains behind, but not by choice, and not for long. When Percy meets up with the group, the enemies start showing themselves--and the race to reach Artemis and Annabeth alive becomes more crucial. Can Percy save both them before the Winter Solstice?

THE TITAN'S CURSE leaves the reader hanging, waiting for several important questions to be answered in the final two books of the series. This fast-paced novel, along with the action, makes it a great series for fantasy lovers, reluctant readers, and anyone looking for a good story.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 8 May 2009
I am a 14-year-old girl and I started reading the books when they first came out. I was interested in Greek Mythology and found them interesting and absorbing. The characters were easy to relate too, especially as I was a similar age to them and they told the stories really well. Although I'm now above the age group they're aimed at I still enjoy reading them. I want to know what will happen to the characters - which is always good - and it's nice to know the main characters won't die because: a) It's a kids book, and b) because it isn't the last book in the series.

I'd recommend this to boys AND girls about 9-years-old and over. They are well written, enjoyable to read, not patronizing, and tell you a lot about Greek mythology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing read, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a great read and I literally read it in one day.. I read this once when I was 7 and decided to read it again now my bro got them on his kindle and i am loving them event more the second time round. I'm going to read the rest of the series and try other books by Rick Riordan. 5 stars every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good wholesome family read, 4 April 2010
By 
D. M. Barber (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife and I have read the entire series of the percy Jackson books now and really enjoyed them, after reading a lot of crime/thriller books written for adults it was such a refreshing change to have something gripping and entertaining without all the gore and woe of books aimed at adults. There is enough wit and depth to make the books enjoyable for adults, and enough cool action for kids.
Definitely recommended. (unlike the first film of the series, the lightning thief which is so far from the book it is a stretch to give it the same name) Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters, Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse, Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth, Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 24 Jun 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2) ended with a bang, with another child of the three gods emerging from the tree guarding Camp Half-Blood. Percy Jackson now has his hands full in THE TITAN'S CURSE, the third volume of the series.

When he answers an urgent call from his best friend, Grover, at a school in Maine, unexplainable things start happening. Grover has found two more half-bloods, who are siblings, but the assistant principal is a powerful monster in disguise. Grover will never get the half-bloods to camp without help. Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia set off for Maine to help Grover, but don't realize that they're walking into a trap.

Dr. Thorn, the assistant principal, has some tricks up his sleeve. When Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, arrives, things get out of hand. Dr. Thorn falls off a cliff with Annabeth. Artemis goes after her and everyone else returns to Camp Half-Blood. Here, they try to act as normal as possible, but two camper's dreams indicate severe trouble with both Artemis and Annabeth.

The Oracle speaks and five campers must find and bring back Artemis before the Winter Solstice. For the first time, Percy remains behind, but not by choice, and not for long. When Percy meets up with the group, the enemies start showing themselves--and the race to reach Artemis and Annabeth alive becomes more crucial. Can Percy save both them before the Winter Solstice?

THE TITAN'S CURSE leaves the reader hanging, waiting for several important questions to be answered in the final two books of the series. This fast-paced novel, along with the action, makes it a great series for fantasy lovers, reluctant readers, and anyone looking for a good story.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unfaltering brilliance - more please!, 15 May 2008
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the series that is the obvious front-runner to succeed Harry Potter. Percy Jackson, the teenaged son of a single mother has been adorable ever since he vaporised his Math teacher and discovered his dyslexia and ADHD were symptoms of being a demi-god. As the son of one of the big three Greek gods (Poseidon) now that Olympus has moved to America, he must survive until he's sixteen, and save the world. So far, he's done it twice. However, the twins Percy finds at another school haven't a clue about their powers, and when he, his best friend Grover the satyr and his almost-girlfriend Annabeth (daughter of Athene) rescue them from monsters it's just the start of another hugely enjoyable quest.

The wit and zest with which Riordan plays with both Greek myth and modern America is completely delightful. I loved Apollo arriving in his golden sports car, the enthusiastic Pegasus Blackjack and the statues that come to life to defend Percy just when he's hopelessly trapped by a skeletal army. They will make completely wonderful films, not least because Percy and his relationships are getting deeper and richer with each book. His Titan half-brother Tyson began as a seemingly slow-witted embarrassment but is touchingly sweet and loyal, and makes Percy a fantastic shield which springs out of a watch, much like Percy's magic sword Riptide which springs from a pen, is one half but so is Percy's loving mother. The emotional intelligence is very real. My kids love these books, and are bombarded by friends for them as soon as a new one appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Percy Jackson and the Titans Curse, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fantastic read! Riordan still continued to make the world of the demigods fascinating and tense! The introduction of new characters like Bianca and Nico do Angelo as well as Zoe Nightshade made the book really exciting but really sad as two of these characters have died already! I was really excited to learn more about Thalia but disappointed to find out that she was already Percys friend and then joined the hunters. Annabeth going missing was really annoying because she's my favourite character and didn't appear very much in this book! However, it did allow Percy to show a lot of his feelings towards her which was good! I particularly enjoyed how Riordan has slowly developed each book to have hints of the Titans war but this book had a lot and is one of the reasons why I'm most excited to read the next! Really want this book to come out in film because I think it will be brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Omens and Monsters, 13 Aug 2014
By 
tina walsh (Birkenhead, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book 3 continues the adventures of Percy Jackson. Attempting to rescue two new demigods from a monster, Percy, Annabeth and Thalia encounter The Hunters of Artemis escorting the Goddess. With Annabeth`s disappearance, Artemis begins a new hunt for an ancient monster while the hunters are sent to Camp Half blood.

There, The Oracle speaks a new prophecy, and five demigods leave to search for Artemis. Action follows action and leads to the location of both Annabeth and Artemis but there are further twists to be resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these books, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse (Paperback)
I love these books, as a 22 year old single working mum there is nothing better than putting your child to bed, cleaning then relaxing with a good fantasy book. I read all 5 in this series within 6 days (dinner breaks inc) i really didn't want to put them down or to finish. Just ordered the Heroes of Olympus books and i hope they are as good if not better than these. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse
Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse by Rick Riordan (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews