Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
This is a brilliant book about a boy called Charlie who goes out into the almighty orbit. He's just won Mr Willy Wonka's marvellous, magical, chocolate factory. Mr Wonka accidently takes Charlie and his family into space. They link up to enormous space hotel USA, but an awfully scary creature attacks from outer space. Unfortunatly the president of USA thinks Willy Wonka...
Published on 27 July 2011 by class 3 LittleHeath primary school

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel
The number of positive reviews (4 or 5 stars) that have previously been posted for this book really surprises me. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory is a true children's classic which weaves a fantastic and magical tale, adding in a few lessons along the way, that so many children love. In contrast, this book tends towards bland, disjointed, drawn out and unremarkable...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by J. P. Horlock


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel, 1 Sep 2011
By 
J. P. Horlock (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The number of positive reviews (4 or 5 stars) that have previously been posted for this book really surprises me. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory is a true children's classic which weaves a fantastic and magical tale, adding in a few lessons along the way, that so many children love. In contrast, this book tends towards bland, disjointed, drawn out and unremarkable. In my experience it is a significant disappointment for children (or adults) expecting a genuine continuation to the Chocolate Factory story.
The story follows on immediately from the end of the Chocolate Factory, with the book covering two very different story lines in sequence. The Elevator in space, and then the return to the Chocolate Factory. While each of these ideas could have opened up so many opportunites, Roald Dahl - for once - sadly seems to have been devoid of any real imagination and both story lines are claustrophobic and tedious. The Elevator in space revolves around a U.S Space Hotel (making fun of the US Space Program, President, Chinese etc. along the way); the return to the Chocolate Factory around the Wonka-Vite pill and it's affects.
The book does have its positive moments, and there are a few laughs to be had, but all in all there is little that could justify a recommendation. It is, in my view, the weakest of Roald Dahl's work by a long way. If this were a music album, it would be "for collectors only".
Apparently Dahl completely rewrote Charlie And The Chocolate Factory after his nephew read a draft and said, "Unlce Roald, I don't like it at all." If only he had read the draft of this...
Three stars - it's okay and nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, 27 July 2011
This is a brilliant book about a boy called Charlie who goes out into the almighty orbit. He's just won Mr Willy Wonka's marvellous, magical, chocolate factory. Mr Wonka accidently takes Charlie and his family into space. They link up to enormous space hotel USA, but an awfully scary creature attacks from outer space. Unfortunatly the president of USA thinks Willy Wonka and his companions are aliens and threaten to freeze them. Eventually they get back but Mr Wonka gives the oldies Wonka Vite and something strange happens. Will Grandma Georgina get rescued from Minusland? See what happens next to Mr Wonka and his friends...We particularly liked the part when Charlie & his family soar uncontrollably into almighty orbit. We got really excited when verminous knids surrounded the great glass elevator. However, we especially liked the part when one of the knids gets a giant bump on his rear end. The Oompa Loompas continue to sing their hilariously enjoyable songs throughout this book; Mr Wonka also has a few songs to sing too. We give this book a whopping 10 out of 10. Reviewed by the children in year 3 Little Heath Primary School Hertfordshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The only misstep in Dahl's corpus of children's books, 25 July 2014
By 
Yi-Peng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Paperback)
The Roald Dahl stories still speak to adult kids like me. However, I've noted that this sequel to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the only weak link in his otherwise excellent corpus of children's books.

I will just offer my brief impressions of this book.

This story is made up of two halves. The first half focuses on the journey back to the factory. The Elevator links up with a space hotel and Mr Wonka and the Buckets are chased by Vermicious Knids. Once they are back at the factory the story changes gear to talk about the abuses of Wonkavite by the grandparents. The Elevator links both halves of the book because it is used for all the journeys that Charlie makes. However this does not disguise the fact that this book has two distinct halves that do not cohere together.

Given Dahl's constant striving for excellence and perfection in his other stories, the writing style is laboured here and lacks freshness. Also, the jokes come off as lame and feeble. Only Willy Wonka holds the book together.

As such, this book is not quite as compelling and coherent as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly disappointing, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. M. N. Wharram "wij201" (Brighouse UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Paperback)
I read all Dahl's books as a boy but had no memory of this one. After reading my 5 year old boy Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and us both enjoying it immensely this seemed like the obvious choice to follow it. Even the boy is bored. I am dumbfounded at how poor this book is. It must surely be Dahl's worst. Not looking forward to bedtimes at all at the minute.

If you want to know what's wrong with it then read the three star reviews and remember that they only gave three stars because of who the author is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Mar 2014
By 
S. Walker (Hampshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Logan, 5 years old, said it was 'fabulous'!
Luke, 8 years old, said it was 'super duper great'!
Mummy said it was wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roald Dahl - Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator | Review, 20 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Paperback)
Although its predecessor was wonderful, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator is an unconvincing sequel to one of the greatest children's novels ever written. It's worth reading, but only if you really loved Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

Still, at least it contains some of the same characters that we know and love from before, including Charlie Bucket and his grandpa and the erratic Willy Wonka. Here, they blast off in to space in the great glass elevator in the Wonka factory, and the book covers their adventures as they make their way back to earth.

What is cool, though, is that Dahl originally planned to write a sequel - called Charlie and the White House, it was supposed to tell the story of young Charlie's escapades in the home of the American president. Only one chapter was ever written, and judging from this story, that's probably a good thing - it's tragic when Dahl disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Paperback)
Mr Willy Wonka was very funny in the book. I also liked the song about the Knid with his purple bum sticking up in the air, it was really funny. Zach Kidd (aged 8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Dahl's standard, 9 July 2013
By 
L. Ross "Louise" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Paperback)
Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator leaves you cold. We ploughed through the fabulous Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with my son barely containing his excitement every night. This took us ages as he kept wanting to read other things instead. I didn't blame him. The plot has no real point and most of the characters spend most of the time shrieking at everything. Don't bother with it. Just leave the chocolate factory at its peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vermicious first half., 27 Jan 2013
Honestly, skip the first half of the book; it is awful. A grudging fulfillment of a contractual obligation? If you insist, I'd suggest you listen to the Lou Reed classic, Metal Machine Music, instead. That said, the second half of the book is much better. The Elevator returns to earth and a trip to minusland begins. Great stuff. If this is the first Dahl book you read, it may stop you reading his other works, which would be a right shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful sequel, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had forgotten how great Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Penguin Modern Classics) is when I read it to my two boys. They loved it and were happy to have more. So I bought this, the sequel.

Don't bother. Honestly it is just not the same. Going into space, endless dialog with the US president and odd aliens are so inconsistent with the first book that it makes no sense. Which would be fine if it was funny or interesting but it's not. It's boring.

Choose a different Roald Dahl instead - there are SO many good ones to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator by Roald Dahl (Paperback - 7 Feb 2013)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews