Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
All Roald Dahl stories are fantastic for kids, and in my opinion, this is one of the best! a classic tale that was made into a wonderful film.
I think ANYONE could read this story and love it. Adults and children alike!
Published on 30 July 2009 by Luna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok.....ish
This was the first Roald Dahl book ive read to my daughter that i couldnt wait to finish. Both of us found the singing centipede particularly irrittating to read/ listen to.
Published 10 months ago by Stephen & Amelie's books


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 July 2009
By 
Luna (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
All Roald Dahl stories are fantastic for kids, and in my opinion, this is one of the best! a classic tale that was made into a wonderful film.
I think ANYONE could read this story and love it. Adults and children alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read..., 8 Oct 2009
By 
Shahista Begum "bookworm" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book for my 6 year old son who is a huge Roald Dahl fan. He's half way through it and enjoying it very much. On the day it came through the post,I stayed up reading it and bought back fond memories when I read it as a child. Would definitely recommend it for any Roald Dahl fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book to read to 5-7 year olds., 20 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I love all Roald Dahl books because of his weird but exciting stories. Ialso love the what looks to be like brilliant and quick sketch drawings by Quinten Blake. James and the Giant Peach has to be his best book he has ever written because of all of his ideas that he made James do. Making over 200 seagulls carry a peach is just fantastic, also I would like to mention the way he described the charaters, it was just incredible. I liked the way James could talk to creepy crawlies and the different personalities they all had. It's just awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Reveiw On James And The Giant Peach, 23 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: James and the Giant Peach (Misc.)
The book I have read is called James and The Giant peach. It is written by Roald Dahl and it is illustrated by Quentin Blake. James and the Giant peach is a brilliant book. This book is Fiction. Moreover, it is adventurous. This book has all different types of settings: the first setting is in a house, the second setting is in a huge peach and the last setting is in the great city of New York.

Amazingly, this book is about a young boy named James Henry Trotter. Since, James' parents died he had not been happy at all. In addition he had to go and live with his horrible sinister aunts in the country side. Plus, he was being bullied by his ghastly aunts! Until one day when a man gave him some magical crocodile tongues. Furthermore James unfortunately fell over and dropped them. The next day, James found a tremendous peach. That's when the adventure started.

The characters in the book are James (The main Character) that has two aunts (Horrible and sinister things to him) and has some amazing friends: They are the Centipede, The Old green grasshopper, The Silkworm, Miss Spider, The Glow worm and the Ladybird. But on the other hand the Old Green Grasshopper is kind of a show off because he plays music but he brags about it.

James relationship with his aunts is terrible because they never get on also they call him name and beat him. James relationship between him and the creatures are very good. In addition, his best friend is The Centipede; he thinks that the Old-Green-Grasshopper is kind of his best friend because he always helps him when he needs help. Plus, with the rest of his peach friend they have a great relationship.

I love this book it is a great book that everyone will enjoy it. I will recommend this book for everyone because it has clear font it has pictures to help you recognise what is happening. Further more, it is a hilarious book that will make you laugh your head off! Moreover, it is worth buying it because you can read it over and over again and it will still be funny! I have enjoyed this book and so would you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James And The Giant Peach, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic Roald Dahl book, a great classic and is great for children aged from 5-10. I would highly recommend it to any child, my son loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jan 2011
I bought this together with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in an attempt to find a child's bedtime book that was as interesting and entertaining for the reader as well as the child. Children's books can be incredibly boring at times (Mr Men series anyone?). Both these books are brilliant. The stories are interesting and you are quickly drawn into the adventures the main characters have along the way. The books focus on the good and bad in people's behaviour, there is lots of humour in them and most chapters tend to short and snappy which make them perfect for bedtime reading. They are also illustrated every few pages which keeps little ones interested. I know that we will re-read these again in the future. They make great presents and I would happily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Wonderful story, remembered reading this in primary school, my 7 year old loved it and best of all, there are so many more Dahl stories we haven't read yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for Ben 10 / Fireman Sam fans aged 4 plus, 28 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James and the Giant Peach (Misc.)
I bought this and Wind in the Willows to entertain my 4 yr old son during a long car journey. W in the W was turned off pretty quickly, but James and the Giant Peach was listened to twice - back to back.

I think the difference is that "James" is the kind of high octain excitement that small boys want. It's unexpected, it's a little bit scarey, it has random songs and weird sound effects so you never quite know what's going to happen. This is good from an Adult point of view too; I have this on repeat play in the car and am not going mad yet.

You might remember Ratty and Moley fondly, but if your little boy has thrilled to the adventures of Fireman Sam (big ladders! rescues! danger!) or solemly informed you that he really needs an Omnitrix for this birthday, then this is your CD. I fully intend to buy more ... and shortly to buy the book. Oh and the film. Handy that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Feb 2008
Plot: Spiker and Sponge, James's aunts, are mean to him. They always call him names like filthy nuisance and disgusting little beast. They beat him; they starve him; overall they make his life miserable. One day, James receives a bag of crocodile's tongues from a mysterious man and that was the start of all of his adventures...

Fact about the history of this book: Roald Dahl wrote James and the Giant Peach in New York nearly 50 years ago and it was the second one he wrote!

Rating and recommendation: I would certainly and positively rate this brilliant book 7/ 10 because it is a bit too imaginative for me and it truly leaves reality unlike BFG which is a bit believable; I would definitely recommend this wonderful novel to all Roald Dahl fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Dahl!, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Fortunately, I read "James and the Giant Peach" before watching the movie. Give kids the same opportunity. Let them form their own mental picture without "interference" from having seen the film.
Books can open up a whole new world to youngsters. Consider what the lives are of adults who read often as kids as compared to those who didn't. Introduce children to the joy of reading and change their future for the better!
Wondering if your child would like reading, "James and the Giant Peach?" Wouldn't it be FUN to travel on an adventure in a humongous peach with several giant insects having human personalities?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James and the Giant Peach
James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl (Paperback - 7 Feb 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews