Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summers Dream - not one to miss!!!
Have you ever wanted something so bad you'd do anything to get it?

Summer has dreamed of becoming a ballerina, ever since she went to her first ballet lesson with her twin sister Skye. So when her ballet teacher, Miss Elise gives her a chance to become a student in one of the top ballet schools in the country, you can only imagine how overjoyed she is. Summer's...
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by justanirishreader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
The book had a good plan to it but was not as gripping as the other books in the chocolate box girls series. I liked the idea of the book but it wasn't what I expected,
other from that it was yet another good book by Cathy Cassidy
Published 14 months ago by Ais


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summers Dream - not one to miss!!!, 28 Jun 2012
Have you ever wanted something so bad you'd do anything to get it?

Summer has dreamed of becoming a ballerina, ever since she went to her first ballet lesson with her twin sister Skye. So when her ballet teacher, Miss Elise gives her a chance to become a student in one of the top ballet schools in the country, you can only imagine how overjoyed she is. Summer's been here before though, she had the chance to audition before for a ballet school, but her dad and her mum were having major rows which lead Summer to get nervous and make a flop of her audtion.

This time it'll be different though. Summer's willing to do anything to make it happen, even if it means not eating, not having fun, not having a life. Summer's mum and new stepdad are on there honeymoon to Peru so they wont notice if she skives of the food a bit, neither will grandma Kate whos minding Summer and her sisters Coco, Skye, Honey and her stepsister Cherry while they're gone. Or will they???

Summers not the only one who's got a chance of getting into this dance school though. Her old friend Jodie has got a chance to even though she's not even in the same group as Summer. Jodie has got curves though which sets her back in ballet. So when Jodie sees Summer not eating and tries to help her, Summer pushes her away telling her shes just jealous that Summer's slimmer than her.

If you didnt know Summer, you'd think shes perfection. Popular, pretty, clever shes got it all... incuding a just as popular boyfriend, Aaron. Summers dreamed of going out with Aaron and now that shes with him, its horrible. He never stops trying to kiss her, he gets annoyed at her when she keeps having to go to ballet, they just don't have a spark. Theres one boy though who dreams of being with Summer and his name is Alfie. Alfie annoys Summer though and she thinks hes just a goof, but then they get to know eachother and Summer realises that real friends wait for you to finish ballet, listen to you, they understand how much she wants her dream to be reality.

Then the food thing gets out of control and Summer doesnt eat anything and regularly faints. Will she survive until the audition??? Or will someone find out what shes doing and her world come crashing down on her...

Great book, highly recommendable 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I read Cherry Crush I had no idea there would be other chocolate box stories about the other girls so when Marshamallow Skye came out I couldnt wait to read it and it was just as good as the first one. So, as you can probably guess, I couldnt wait to get my hands on Summers Dream. I preordered it for my kindle and got stuck in straight away when it arrived.

I loved reading about things from Summers perspective, and hearing about her passion for dance and not-so-perfect life. When I read from Skyes point of view, I thought Summer was really lucky, but I had the opposit opinion when I read this. I guess it shows you that things aren't always as they seem.

Summer deals with some really tough things in this book- she worries about her appearence, she doesn't much like her boyfriend, her mum goes away on her honeymoon when Summer most needs her and a massive dance audition is coming up, one that could change Summers life.

This book talks about anorexia but it does it in a way that doesn't make it so scary. Her friend Jodie got turned away from a massive dance audition once because she was 'the wrong shape' for ballet and Summer is so desperate not to have her chance ruined...

Anyway, I dont want to spoil ths whole book but i'll just say it has more in it about Finch and Skye and Alfie and also it reveals some interesting things about Honey. I can't wait to read about Coco and then, finally, Honey. It's good how the story carries on where it left off, just from someone else's perspective.

Over all, I loved this book. I wish Cathy Cassidy would release more books after, still about the chocolate box girls. I feel like I'll never get tired of hearing about those girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 12-year-old daughter LOVED it - the best Cathy Cassidy story yet, 30 Sep 2012
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third and latest in Cathy Cassidy's "Chocolate Box Girls" series. 13-year-old Summer Tanberry has always dreamed of dancing, and when a place at ballet school comes up, she wants it so badly it hurts. Middle school ends and the holidays begin, but unlike her sisters, Summer has no time for lazy days and sunny beach parties. The audition becomes her obsession, and things start spiralling out of control...The more Summer tries to find perfection, the more lost she becomes. Will she realise - with the help of the boy who wants more than friendship - that dreams come in all shapes and sizes?

'The Chocolate Box Girls' is a series featuring four sisters and their half-Japanese step-sister, the boys they know and one of author Cathy Cassidy's biggest loves - chocolate. They are called the Chocolate Box Girls because Cherry's father Paddy (who is step-father to the other four girls) runs a shop selling home-made chocolate.

My daughter loved this story. She felt as if she was living Summer's life, and that this was a much more realistic tale than the two previous ones probably because the other two were more complicated. She devoured it quickly in every available spare moment. It's nearly 300 pages long, she has already read it twice and says she will most likely read it again. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total fan, 15 Jun 2012
Summer's dream is so amazing. I am an altimate cc fan and when i read cherry crush i liked her even more. On the day m skye came out i brought it on my kindle and read it all that day. When summers dream came out i did the same and can't wait for sweet honey and coco caramel. xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is defiantly not for young readers but perfect for older ones.
As this book is about eating disorders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another must read!, 8 Jun 2012
when i heard about this book i had to get it. i had read the other two and did not know how she would top them. but she did! it has really targeted a common problem and for many has touched the heart. i cant wait to see cocos and honeys story. if you are a fan of cathy cassidy then this is a must read. if you have not though read any of the other chocolate box girls i would say read the other ones first because then it would be easier to understand and cherry crush is the key one to see what is going one and marshmallow skye had a huge part in this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved by my daughter, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolate Box Girls: Summer's Dream (Paperback)
An amazing price, very prompt delivery and an excellent read, my daughter loves Cathy Cassidy and I would recommend her books to other older kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every book and this is just as amazing as the rest
My favourite is lucky star because you don't expect the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summers dream, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor summer I know you won't get into the school but don't give up on ballet. I enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is such a good book it is quite short tho amazing and good buy you must I'm not joking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chocolate Box Girls: Summer's Dream
Chocolate Box Girls: Summer's Dream by Cathy Cassidy (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews