Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Writing outside of the box
A mere 16 months after the first novel in this new series debuted we have Book 2, but with such a short turnaround time is it any good? The answer is yes. The Hangman's Revolution loses a lot of the gore and time-hopping but goes much darker and ends up being an allegory of anti-religion.

Chevron Savano is back in her own time, but not her own timeline. The...
Published 5 months ago by Inspector Gadget

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
To similar to ArtemisFowl, a bit more frenetic.
Published 5 months ago by Nigel Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Writing outside of the box, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Hangman's Revolution W.A.R.P. - Book 2 (Hardcover)
A mere 16 months after the first novel in this new series debuted we have Book 2, but with such a short turnaround time is it any good? The answer is yes. The Hangman's Revolution loses a lot of the gore and time-hopping but goes much darker and ends up being an allegory of anti-religion.

Chevron Savano is back in her own time, but not her own timeline. The evil Colonel Box has used the WARP pad to take over 19th Century London (and the most of the world) and declare himself as some sort of self-appointed God or Saint. But it wasn't always this way. In another timeline Chevron Savano was someone else and had a different life with different experiences. These memories (if they can be described as such) come to her in dreams visions and she is not sure what is real and what is not. It's a nice way to explain the logic/faults so often prominent in time travel fiction.

Back in 1899 young Riley is having bad dreams about Garrick but is mainly concerned with Otto Malarkey bullying him for the dues paid to the Battering Ram gang. However, one of Otto's men is actually an undercover Box agent (the Hangman of the title) and he's bent on taking out Otto and his top men in order to lead the Battering Ram's himself. Savano arrives from the future (the book's one and only instance of time-travel) and reunites with Riley and Otto to take down Colonel Box and save the world from a gloomy fate.

I said before that Eoin Colfer would need to work hard to transform the character of Otto Malarkey as still seemed unnecessarily cruel after his appearance in the first book and Airman. Thankfully, he does manage to turn him around and Otto has a bigger and better character arc this time around. I can't say I was rooting for either side at the end though as saving Parliament and the pig politicians within is not something I would bother doing myself, but if it's the lesser of two evils.

Book 3 is hinted at in the closing chapters, but depending on how many Colfer has in him I rather see this not fizzle out like Artemis Fowl did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast paced easy reading. Leaves you wanting more. Would recommend for Colfer fans of all ages , especially Artemis Fowl followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cor blimey, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leave it out. What a waste of time. We are not amused. I feel I have been robbed of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hangman's Revolution W.A.R.P. - Book 2 (Hardcover)
This book was bought for a gift and it was in brand new condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slightly disappointing - not as good as his previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hangman's Revolution W.A.R.P. - Book 2 (Hardcover)
To similar to ArtemisFowl, a bit more frenetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FANTASTIC SECOND INSTALLMENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hangman's Revolution W.A.R.P. - Book 2
The Hangman's Revolution W.A.R.P. - Book 2 by Eoin Colfer (Hardcover - 26 Jun. 2014)
£9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews