Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turkish delight: A feast of Arabian story-telling and an Aladdin's cave of illustrations, 16 Nov 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a sumptuous book, truly glittering with its gilt-edged pages, and on opening my daughter and I discovered a world of Arabian riches.
The exotic adventures include those of Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves, Aladdin and his Lamp, and Sinbad the Sailor as well as tales of the Birds, the Beast and the Carpenter; The Fox and the Cock; and the Fisherman and the Genie. All are set into the context of Shahrazade's own story: that she tells tales night after night for a thousand and one nights to try and prevent her own untimely demise.
The narrative is well-written, cleverly transforming an epic Victorian translation of ancient Oriental stories into straightforward English suitable for reading aloud to twenty-first century junior school children. Perhaps more importantly there is about a fifty:fifty split of words and illustrations throughout the whole book, so there are dozens of wonderful images are full of dancing light, glowing bright colours contrasted with soft silver and black. These striking silhouettes are truly enchanting. Bold yet detailed, they are overlaid over fiery illuminated backgrounds, many of which are richly patterned.
This whole book is a clever mix of classic and modern -there's a hint of humour in the pictures which lifts the dark nature of these old tales with their bloodthirsty sultans, wicked sorcerors, fantastical beasts and so on. It's a brilliant way to introduce ancient stories to a new generation and I'm enjoying revisiting these old tales with my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 11 Sep 2008
By 
I bought this book as i had owed the necklace of raindrops, illustrated by Jan Pienkowski, when i was a child. The stories are fantasically retold, the pictures bringing them to life in a contemporary way. My children now enjoy this book and i believe that santa is on to Fairy Tales and the Nutcracker for Christmas.
Looking forward to these books, but will be looking back over this one for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Storybook, 9 Mar 2009
By 
B Wolf (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is gorgeous. The stories are varied and interesting and the silhouette illustrations are beautiful and fascinating.

One to keep forever, I think.

I read it to a bright seven year old, who loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing illustrations, 7 May 2014
By 
K. Harrison (Morden, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thousand Nights and One Night (Paperback)
Amazing illustrations to capture children's imagination!!
Perfect for anyone planning for the new Baghdad in around ad900 topic at ks2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ali baba and the forty thives by jibril, 6 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This a great collection of stories the one i have chose is the one about ali baba and the forty thives. This is a fascinating story about a man who sees thieves
and gets there money his brother is very rich because he married a women who's father was rich. Ali barber or because he married a women with a poor dad when kasim had heard about this he wanted to get more gold like his brother he threatened him to show were the gold was or he would tell everyone. This book is very good the part I like best is the part when kasim forgets words and gets killed. The part I didn't like was the part when the chief ran away I wanted for the story to carry on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to treasure, 28 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely book with wonderful illustrations by the well-known children's illustrator of Meg and Mog. Something to sit down a read with your children or grandchildren or as a gift for a special occasion. The page edges are gold leafed and the colours are rich - the illustrations are based on silhouettes which give it a very authentic feel for this set of stories. All this for a reasonable price - great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thousand and One Night, Pienkowski/Walser, 18 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 'classic'. It could become a treasured book in any family, adored by adults and children. The cuttings are imaginative, yet easily understandable.The same easy access also applies to the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but gruesome, 2 July 2009
By 
J. Swainson "justy_one" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The opportunity to introduce our children to traditional stories is always welcome in our house. Our son has really enjoyed the stories (Aladdin, Ali Baba etc), but be warned, they are pretty gruesome, with people being cut up, sewn together, decapitated......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thousand Nights and One Night
The Thousand Nights and One Night by David Walser (Paperback - 6 Oct 2011)
7.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews