Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is even better than the first one on this series.
Michelle Paver is doing it again. I absolutely loved the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness with its multiple layers of adventure and anthropological tour de force. She writes very well and this new series is delivering the goods all over again! Just to make it clear, I am 67 years old, my son and daughter in law, who are both scientists and in their thirties, are avid...
Published 13 months ago by GCLima

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
A good book, it really provokes emotion in the reader. I also found the characters to be very well developed.
Published 7 hours ago by Nano


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is even better than the first one on this series., 5 Nov 2013
By 
GCLima (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning Shadow (Gods and Warriors Book 2) (Hardcover)
Michelle Paver is doing it again. I absolutely loved the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness with its multiple layers of adventure and anthropological tour de force. She writes very well and this new series is delivering the goods all over again! Just to make it clear, I am 67 years old, my son and daughter in law, who are both scientists and in their thirties, are avid readers as well, and now my sister has joined the ranks of the Paver's fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mediterranean Bronze Age Adventure novel, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning Shadow (Gods and Warriors Book 2) (Hardcover)
This a second offering, from what is to be a five-part series mixing magic with ritual from Michelle Paver. Her new series of books tells the narrative of Hylas, a 12-year-old goatherd, whose adventures take him to Ancient Crete and Ancient Egypt. He also has a potent ally in the form Pirra; the stubborn daughter of an Egyptian priestess, the scene is set during the Bronze Age. Other characters featured in the plot, of non-human variety are a lion cub, a falcon and a dolphin.

Book 2 shows our hero and co having to thwart the Crows, an evil family that uses slaves labour to run its copper mining operation – this dreadful enterprise is run in appalling settings. With the fore telling of a prophecy, Hylas manages against the odds to survive book one. However, there is plenty of misfortune heading towards him in the books to come. This volume does give some recap of book one for readers who haven't read it.

While a number of other fashionable children's authors imagine a future regularly described in dystopian terms, Paver’s work looks backwards more with a positive eye to the past. Her well rounded stalwart characters always do the right thing, helped by generous helping of flukes and a succession of eleventh-hour escapes. The authors’ story telling maybe a blend of fantasy and adventure, however, the background to the narrative is facts based archaeology of the Greek Bronze Age and its belief systems of that time frame. It is this attention to detail - innovative storytelling and clean grammatical style that has assured her popularity and success, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb Michelle Paver book!, 30 July 2014
Excellent. My ten year old daughter has rediscovered her love of reading with Michelle Paver's books. Would highly recommend her other series too. My daughter is a very able reader, but the storyline is complicated, so worth reading a few chapters of the first book in each series with your child and discussing it with them. Themes picked up from previous books throughout next in series. We kept hearing things like 'oh, so that's why she did that.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative fiction based on Minoan/Mycenaean myths for young teens and adults, 25 April 2014
By 
R. Harrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably appeals to those with an interest in myths and prehistory, and those who enjoyed her Wolf Brother series of novels.
Probably not for those before age 10 or eleven. Appeals to both genders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing and action pack filled with all the qualities that you look for in a book for example : action , friendship, violence , betrayal and tension. I highly recommend this book but I think the age limit would be +8.This book is for children , teenagers and adults so don't hold back if your older than 16. If you purchase this book enjoy, your going to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed every word! If you like legends and myths this is the book for you. A wonderful story that shows friendship and betrayal that will get you sucked into its pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Burning Shadow, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book and structured really welll - I would recommend this to my friends (direct quote from my 12 year old).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic stuff, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was absolutely amazing. Our mum read it to us and sometimes we convinced her to read more chapters late into the night. We can't wait for the next book to come out. We got the first book with our Christmas money. Very gripping tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars action packed, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was absolutely amazing there was action at every turn but it left on a cliff hanger which was kind've annoying the actual plot was so well planned there was turns and twists at every corner I really suggest anyone to read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burning Shadow (Gods and Warriors Book 2)
The Burning Shadow (Gods and Warriors Book 2) by Michelle Paver (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
£10.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews