Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars67
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2006
To fans of the Artemis Fowl series, the last book, 'Opal Deception,' was almost sacrilegiously bad, totally out of character for Eoin Colfer. I opened the 'Lost Colony' with some trepidition, but my fears were soon put at rest. It starts a bit shakily, but soon unfolds to be just as good as the original three. The plot is perhaps not quite as strong, but the action more than makes up for this. Some very interesting developments, so I'll warn that there are

Warning: SPOILERS BELOW, DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT THE BOOK TO BE A SURPRISE!!!

Where to start? The introdcution of the Demon island of Hybras is a novel idea, one that hasn't been mentioned before now. Perhaps some more coverage of this novel world and its ways would have been nice, but maybe this will be expanded on in the next book.

Okay, to the really interesting things. First and foremost, Holly follows in commander Root's footsteps by... dying! Don't worry though, as in one of the weaker plot moments, Artemis goes back in time for a few seconds and saves her. (Although this does make sense in the content). So Holly is only actually dead for about three pages. All credit to Eoin Colfer though for making her death very dramatic and moving (although it's obvious she can't die, as it would mean losing one of the main characterss; like JK Rowling killing Harry Potter in the middle of the fifth book)

Artemis fowl is 'lost in time' for three years, although this passes for him in about an hour. However, in this time, Butler grows a beard (shock horror) and Artemis's parents have twins! So the next book will be very interesting, as we'll see how Artemis copes with being a big brother.

One of the most important facts is that Artemis gets magic! Whilst travelling through space and time with a number of magical companions, Artemis manages to 'borrow' some magic, enough to perform some pretty cool tricks!

Artemis also gets a demigirlfriend, a fellow criminal genius who starts the book at 12, but ends up the same age as Artemis after he is gone for 3 years.

All in all, a very impressive offering from Colfer, making up for his very poor show with the last book. An excellent read, although a slightly weak plot.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
This excellent audiobook came out of my Christmas stocking. Thank you Santa. I'm a bit old for this sort of thing really but as I'm known to love fantasies, ghost stories and fairy tales, someone thought I might like it. And I did. The foundations are missing because I haven't read any of the previous books, but I had no difficulty in following the plot. The characters are strong enough and the reader (Adrian Dunbar) no doubt adds a degree of solidity to the characters too. I listened contentedly for 5 hours. There were some plot-holes and loose ends but those were easily accounted for by my having started at book 4 or 5 (or however far in to the series this is), the audiobook being an abridged version and more books are intended to follow.

A very enjoyable audiobook. Recommended for kids of all ages. Upper limit? Just think of an age and add a zero.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
After the Opal deception, which i personally found a weaker link in the series, I was interested to see what Eoin Colfer would come up with next. And i am pretty impressed.

This book has taken on a bigger bolder plot than its predecessors, and i think that its come up trumps. This has been very well written, and kept me riveted right until the end. Although there are a few slightly disappointing parts, such as how easily Artemis overcomes his rival, and a little part early on that uses the word retorted three times in a line, this is not enough to discredit the book at all. Colfer has crrated an un-put-downable thriller with lots of new exciting characters and inter-dimensional stories- you will not be disappointed bu this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2006
This is read by Adrian Dunbar and is abridged. It isn't very good. Far better are Nathaniel Parker's unabridged readings. His Foaley is unforgettable and the rest of his character voices (from Commander Root to Butler) are superb.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2007
The first Artemis Fowl book was an action-packed romp with a thoroughly original anti-hero.

The second was an adventure of epic proportions with thoroughly engaging heroes and villains and it was interesting to see Artemis, the bad guy, working in cahoots with his arch-enemy.

The Eternity Code was a big let-down and an anti-climatic end to the series. Not only that but most of us were like "Huh, Artemis is working with the good guys AGAIN?" When Colfer revealed he was doing another trilogy we all breathed a sigh of relief. And when it was released I personally was excited to hear that one of my favourite characters, the villainous Opal Koboi was going to be a main character (but why was it called The Opal Deception and not The Koboi Deception?). It wasn't my favourite but it was better than The Eternity Code. And I think we'd all figured out by then that Artemis wasn't going back to being an evil genius anytime soon. Now Colfer's released The Lost Colony and it does not disapppoint. Yes Artemis is definately a good guy now although admittedly a good guy with a cynical sense of humour and an unhealthy liking for cash. But now he's got a deadly adversary in the form of the seductive and brilliant Minerva Paradizo, a 12 year old criminal mastermind who's every bit as smart as Artemis and as ruthless as he used to be. And terrifyingly she's out to capture a demon, one of the last species of faerie. If she does it could plunge the planet into a cross-species war. Hmm, Deja Vu anyone? The time spell that banished the demons to Limbo is fast unravelling and if Artemis, Holly, Foaly, Mulch and Butler don't rescue this demon from the evil clutches of Minerva and her psychotic henchman, Billy Kong and get him back to his island in time it'll mean the end of two worlds! So prepare for witty one-liners, explosions, riveting action-sequences, high-tech gadgets and huge plot-twists as all our favourite characters (but if you're thinking Juliet, Koboi or John Spiro then sorry to disappoint you) return to save the universe from power-hungry maniacs once again.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2006
Artemis Fowl returns in an entanglement with the mysterious 8th family of the fairy people, a vicious species that dwells outside space and time. But he soon finds that he is not the only one interested, as his investigations lead him into a duel of wits with a second child genius...

This is the darkest and most tense yet of the Artemis Fowl series, although perhaps not the best of the plots.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
What a winning combination: Eoin Colfer's wit and humour, and the vocal dexterity of English actor Nathaniel Parker. The Lost Colony demonstrates, once again, the author's marvellous blend of fantasy and techno-know-how (mind-spinning,at times) with delightful humour; and Nathaniel Parker hits the nail on the head with every character, bringing them brilliantly to life. Make sure you start with the first in the Artemis Fowl series, though: you won't want to miss the fun. For kids from 10 years to 110.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
At his request, I ordered for my Grandson book's 5 & 6 Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. On Checking I found that there
were eight book's in this series so I ordered 7 & 8 as well. The delight on his face when he realised he now had the full
set had to be seen to be believed. I can't say enough except to say he was one happy boy. I know he has started to read
them and feel sure he will give a five star rating
From one happy Nanna and her Grandson, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
I can't really say anything about this book that I haven't already said about the first four books. They keep developing and growing without losing touch with the original ideas and without getting too big and outlandish. I'm looking forward to the next one and will probably be sufficiently enthused to buy the hardback, about the highest praise I can give a series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
i bough this audio book because it is firstly one of the best books of the Artemis fowl series, and because it is very hard to find at the price at which i bough it.
on the other hand i must say that i was rather deceived by the fact that the third and fourth CD's have some (small) scratches.

other than that i'm quite happy with what i bough :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.