Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Published on 18 Aug 2008 by M. Warren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by Tina


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turning pleasure, 7 Aug 2008
Page turning, pleasurable and just about smashing all round. I have read all the Arty books and this one does not fail to disappoint. Unlike many others I found The Lost Colony a bit of a let down but having Artemis afce himself in this somewhat psychological teen book works very well. Of course Holly and Foaly provide many a dash here, dash there type adventure.
The best thing about thses books is the way Colfer dosn't shy away form big words, or twists in the plot. All in all a very satisfying read.
Eoin colfer has a great imagnation and has created a really enjoyable series of books.
Perfect for teens and adults alike in my mind.
If you liked this you should also try
The Spook's Apprentice: No.1
The Elements of Lore - Volume 1 of The Books of Lore: 1
Artemis Fowl
Or to keep younger readers quiet whilst you enjoy Arty get them these modern day Fairy Tales.
Spiderwick Collector's Trunk (Spiderwick Chronicles)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best fowl book, 25 Aug 2008
By 
Ms. M. Patel "chocoholic_5000" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is no way as good as the first three and I don't like the reformed Artemis Fowl too much either. The whole idea of Artemis ending up in a paradox was really good but the execution of this could have been a lot better. I was also expecting the twins to feature a lot more in this book too (they would have made a great addition I think). Personally, I think Artemis is a lot better off bad (or at least as bad as he was in the Eternity Code) as this made him a lot more exciting and original. This is probably Colfer's weakest Fowl book but I'm still looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 2 Aug 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As an ardent fan of Artemis Fowl from the first book onward, I was more than just a little excited to find out that THE TIME PARADOX was in the works. The previous book in the series, THE LOST COLONY, was one of my favorites, and it opened so many doors that I wanted desperately to see explored. After reading THE TIME PARADOX over the course of a single day, my reactions are mixed, but one thing's for sure: with Artemis Fowl in the mix, there's never a dull moment.

The storyline opens only a short while after the end of the previous book. Fourteen-year-old genius Artemis Fowl has been out of his home time for nearly three years as the result of the events of THE LOST COLONY, and the world has changed around him. But the presence of younger twin brothers at Fowl Manor is not nearly as surprising as the fact that Artemis has managed to retain some of the fairy magic that he stole while in the time tunnel, making himself part magical in turn. Early on in the story, the readers find out that Artemis has used this small magic to mesmerize his parents into forgetting all about his three-year disappearance, and is learning how to control it for specific purposes.

So when Artemis's mother develops symptoms of several deadly illnesses overnight, Artemis's first instinct is to use his fairy magic to save her. When that fails, draining all of the magic out of Artemis, his first call is to Holly Short, reinstated Captain in the Lower Elements Police. Holly arrives and diagnoses Artemis's mother with a rare disease known as spelltropy, usually passed between magic users by the use of power. The only cure is the brain fluid of a silky sifaka lemur--a species that became extinct nearly eight years ago, thanks to the work of a younger Artemis Fowl desperate for money to fuel the search for his then-missing father.

Artemis is convinced there's a simple solution to this problem: go back in time using the magic of demon warlock No. 1 and steal the lemur from his younger self before returning to his own time. Of course, with Artemis involved, nothing could ever really be that simple. Nonetheless, he and Holly both make the journey almost eight years back in time to outsmart the ten-year-old Artemis and a group of Extinctionists bent upon getting their hands on the lemur--not to mention a mysterious third player who may be manipulating everyone from behind the scenes.

The storytelling is vivid, the jokes are always funny, the puns are horrendous in the best of ways. The repartee between Artemis and Holly gets better in every book. But for whatever reason, I didn't enjoy this Fowl adventure as much as I did previous ones. It seemed somehow like there was less at stake. It was an interesting ploy, since the "villain" Artemis faces off against for the first half of the story is himself, but a lot of the major weight of the story felt psychological.

Of course, there were the requisite explosions and high-speed cross-country chases, but the focus of this book seemed to be more upon the minds of the characters involved, particularly Artemis and Holly, and their relationships to their own pasts. That's not to say the book wasn't good--it just had a different kind of depth from the others, one that I probably couldn't fully appreciate on a first reading. Some of the doors opened in THE LOST COLONY were closed rather suddenly, in my opinion, or led down passageways I hadn't thought they would explore, so that the main developments of this book were not what I thought they would be at all. But then, what would be the fun of a predictable book?

If Colfer is one thing consistently as a writer, it's unpredictable, and this book is no exception.

Reviewed by: Candace Cunard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, 5 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, these books have no failed to give me delight in reading them. I may be older than the age bracket intended but I really feel this is a book that anyone with a spark of imagination can enjoy.

From the start it was intriguing, full of mystery and unexpected twists and turns. I will not give away the plot as that spoils half the fun in reading it and finding out what misfortune and excited befalls out Hero Atry fowl and Holly. Many surprises and a very unexpected moment of passion.

Extremely humorous, exciting and over all a smashing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good 'un, 30 April 2009
Great book, as always. Funny and the whole time travel business is dealt with excellently when it could be quite baffling... Go and read it :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book i've read in years!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Jay Rainbow (bolton england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I began reading these books as a teenager and am now in my mid twenties and still love it! I don't like any other books of this genre but ther is something about artimis fowl that makes you want to know the full story. The characters are so realistic you could almost think they were real.
this lastest in the sage is the best one yet. with a little chemestry between the main charaters you just have to read it in a day as its impossible to put down. I did that they re read it the next day!
excellent as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 April 2009
I cannot express enough how much I enjoyed reading this newest addition to the Artemis Fowl series. It was lively and - not to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it yet - there's even a touch of romance, which I'd been dying for since the begin. I love Eoin Colfer's writing style and his unique way with words. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoyed his other books and even those who haven't read them (though I suggest you read them in order, obviously) - it was absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet I'd say, 3 Sep 2008
A few people said this was one of Eoin Colfer's "weaker" books, I say they couldn't be more wrong. In my opinion this is by far the best Artemis Fowl so far. Considering I'm not exactly the target audience, at 19 years old, just adds further credit to how riveting, consuming and exhilarating this book is.

It is good that the style is slightly different with more in depth character development. We don't want the first book repeated again but in different words.

Well done Eoin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, probably Colfer's weakest effort though., 20 Aug 2008
Sure the summary sounds pretty interesting but the execution is, all in all, pretty weak. Two things bother me especially;

Artemis is just not that smart. In the other books he was obviously and ridiculously brilliant, but in this one he merely seems like an intelligent 16 year old - just so the opposition seems credibly formidable. Basically Artemis was jobbing.

It seems to me to be a very lazy book; as if Colfer needed to write another AF novel but he wasn't quite sure how to do it. Or maybe he just wasn't struck with inspiration this time. Either way it felt like a rehash, or half assed.

Still there where plenty of jokes, the dialogue was full of pretty brilliant humour, and it was jam packed full of the usual AF mayhem.

Overall verdict; worth reading but its probably best to get it from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of the series, yet., 17 Jun 2009
By 
Manolis Platakis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am always reluctant when it comes to time traveling. Although I find the idea intriguing and fascinating, I usually end up watching/reading a movie/book full of loopholes. Fortunately, this was not the case for "The Time Paradox". Eoin Colfer delivers the best Artemis' adventure to date, full of clever plot twists, intimate feelings, dangerous adventures, magic, high-end technology and all those familiar ingredients that have made us Artemis' fans all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox
Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews