Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Published on 18 Aug 2008 by M. Warren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by Tina


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 2 Aug 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As an ardent fan of Artemis Fowl from the first book onward, I was more than just a little excited to find out that THE TIME PARADOX was in the works. The previous book in the series, THE LOST COLONY, was one of my favorites, and it opened so many doors that I wanted desperately to see explored. After reading THE TIME PARADOX over the course of a single day, my reactions are mixed, but one thing's for sure: with Artemis Fowl in the mix, there's never a dull moment.

The storyline opens only a short while after the end of the previous book. Fourteen-year-old genius Artemis Fowl has been out of his home time for nearly three years as the result of the events of THE LOST COLONY, and the world has changed around him. But the presence of younger twin brothers at Fowl Manor is not nearly as surprising as the fact that Artemis has managed to retain some of the fairy magic that he stole while in the time tunnel, making himself part magical in turn. Early on in the story, the readers find out that Artemis has used this small magic to mesmerize his parents into forgetting all about his three-year disappearance, and is learning how to control it for specific purposes.

So when Artemis's mother develops symptoms of several deadly illnesses overnight, Artemis's first instinct is to use his fairy magic to save her. When that fails, draining all of the magic out of Artemis, his first call is to Holly Short, reinstated Captain in the Lower Elements Police. Holly arrives and diagnoses Artemis's mother with a rare disease known as spelltropy, usually passed between magic users by the use of power. The only cure is the brain fluid of a silky sifaka lemur--a species that became extinct nearly eight years ago, thanks to the work of a younger Artemis Fowl desperate for money to fuel the search for his then-missing father.

Artemis is convinced there's a simple solution to this problem: go back in time using the magic of demon warlock No. 1 and steal the lemur from his younger self before returning to his own time. Of course, with Artemis involved, nothing could ever really be that simple. Nonetheless, he and Holly both make the journey almost eight years back in time to outsmart the ten-year-old Artemis and a group of Extinctionists bent upon getting their hands on the lemur--not to mention a mysterious third player who may be manipulating everyone from behind the scenes.

The storytelling is vivid, the jokes are always funny, the puns are horrendous in the best of ways. The repartee between Artemis and Holly gets better in every book. But for whatever reason, I didn't enjoy this Fowl adventure as much as I did previous ones. It seemed somehow like there was less at stake. It was an interesting ploy, since the "villain" Artemis faces off against for the first half of the story is himself, but a lot of the major weight of the story felt psychological.

Of course, there were the requisite explosions and high-speed cross-country chases, but the focus of this book seemed to be more upon the minds of the characters involved, particularly Artemis and Holly, and their relationships to their own pasts. That's not to say the book wasn't good--it just had a different kind of depth from the others, one that I probably couldn't fully appreciate on a first reading. Some of the doors opened in THE LOST COLONY were closed rather suddenly, in my opinion, or led down passageways I hadn't thought they would explore, so that the main developments of this book were not what I thought they would be at all. But then, what would be the fun of a predictable book?

If Colfer is one thing consistently as a writer, it's unpredictable, and this book is no exception.

Reviewed by: Candace Cunard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, probably Colfer's weakest effort though., 20 Aug 2008
Sure the summary sounds pretty interesting but the execution is, all in all, pretty weak. Two things bother me especially;

Artemis is just not that smart. In the other books he was obviously and ridiculously brilliant, but in this one he merely seems like an intelligent 16 year old - just so the opposition seems credibly formidable. Basically Artemis was jobbing.

It seems to me to be a very lazy book; as if Colfer needed to write another AF novel but he wasn't quite sure how to do it. Or maybe he just wasn't struck with inspiration this time. Either way it felt like a rehash, or half assed.

Still there where plenty of jokes, the dialogue was full of pretty brilliant humour, and it was jam packed full of the usual AF mayhem.

Overall verdict; worth reading but its probably best to get it from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a favourite series for everyone in my house. This is one of my personal favourites.

It's witty, funny and excellently written.

I definitely recommend this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE ARTEMIS FOWL!!!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sorry. I have no comment. Other than OMG I AM OBSESSED WITH ARTEMIS FOWL!!!!! Eoin Colfer is an INCREDIBLE writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eoin colfer's magical mind, 28 Aug 2013
By 
P. A. Fleck "flying girl" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully crafted book that draws you into a fantastic world of elves and fairies. Not your traditional fairy tale though. Be prepared for a tricky plot that hooks you in from the beginning and takes you on in an adrenalin rush to the final conclusion with some complicated mind twists on the way. Written as a book for older children, but still a compelling story for the young at heart adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not the best in the series., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grate book very imaginative and made me want to read more and more although opal is slightly getting on my nerves !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always written well and well structured. Good characters and there is always humour there too. A good read and they should make a film based on the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time Paradox, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox (Paperback)
Love this series and really like Eoin Colfers books full stop.

Not disappointed at all, finished reading it very quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was one of the best books that i have read!!! However, you may find it a little bit hard to follow the plot after a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl books, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox (Paperback)
As an over 50 yr old i find some childrens books quick and easy to read in between more adult books - some are really good too. i find these ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9f11ec)

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox
Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews