Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Published on 18 Aug. 2008 by M. Warren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Published on 4 Oct. 2008 by Tina


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin, 18 Aug. 2008
By 
M. Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the Artemis books but definitely worth reading!, 16 April 2009
I am a big fan of this series, and have read and re-read each installment with glee. This is not my favourite of the series and I have re-read it less often. However, it is still a fantastic and enjoyable book that I would heartily recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as all the others, and better!, 17 Aug. 2008
By 
This book has everything we all liked about the previous Artemis Fowl books:
* A pacy page-turning plot
* Entertaining dialogue and humour all the way through
* Lots of action, never a dull chapter

Arty's mother is ill and the only cure comes from a lemur, the last of which died eight years previously. Warlock Demon Number 1 sends Artemis and Holly back in time to rescue the last of the lemurs.

I liked two things in particular...

It's very funny, the humour is at a new level compared with the earlier books. Reading about Artemis battling with his 10-year old self is very funny, as they wise-crack and try to outwit each other. Artemis has to battle with others, and Dr Damon Kronski is one of the funniest characters in all the books. The humour is drier and cleverer than before.

There's lots of plot twists, and lots of time paradoxes. The way they are all woven together is brilliant. I had lots of fun trying to figure out how all the time paradoxes worked.

If you liked books 1-5, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis gets Kraken, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Those who have been faithfully following this series will know that this is book six of the adventures of the teenaged criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl II.

Picking up at Fowl Manor, we learn that three years have passed while Artemis was otherwise occupied, and that he now has two brothers, twins named Beckett and Myles. This book goes in a different direction to the previous plot, making no mention of some of the characters introduced in The Lost Colony. There are references to certain events, but other than the main characters, most of the story is new material.

As the title implies, an older and more mature Artemis Fowl enlists the help of his friend Captain Holly Short, dwarf Mulch Diggums and the imp warlock No.1 to journey to the past to correct a mistake he made earlier in his eventful life. His mother has contracted a rare disease that can only be cured by an extract from the brain of an extinct lemur, and ironically, the extinction was hastened by young Fowl himself.

The time trip gets very complicated when Artemis matches wits with his younger self, and rescuing the lemur from Dr. Damon Kronski, leader of the Extinctionists cult, proves to be much easier planned than achieved. To make it more complicated, there's now a fledgling romantic situation in play, and the return of an enemy from the past who also wants possession of the lemur.

Artemis isn't as devious and diabolical as in earlier books, but to his credit, the kid is growing up and has other things on his mind. This book is action-packed with the usual gadgetry and humor, but as is the case with time paradoxes, it is sometimes hard to keep things straight. The plot also has several twists, obviously getting even twistier in the final chapters. The story ends with an obvious hint for another book.

And "What about the Kraken?" you may ask. Well, that part of the story is explosive, to say the least.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastical fantasy/ sci-fi futuristic adventure which will get your heart pounding!, 12 May 2013
Reminiscent of `Doctor Who', Artemis Fowl is a young criminal genius travelling through time to face man-eating Trolls, high-tech Faries and flame-throwing Goblins. You could not find a children's/ teens adventure story with so much inspired creative vision beyond your wildest imagination; it is very exciting!

In `Artemis Fowl and the time paradox' he swaps criminal activity for a little bit of magic, (although complete with mayhem) Artemis travels through time to try and steal a cure from a devious mastermind, which he hopes will help his mother who is extremely ill. With, Fairy ally Captain Holly Short by his side, Artemis must face his deadliest enemy yet...

This brilliantly drawn tale is engagingly vivid, exciting and full of dry wit and humor that will make you laugh-out-loud. Reading one of Artemis' adventures is like reading a comic strip filled with non-stop action and nail-biting drama, which leaves you completely and utterly breathless. This is a real page-turner and one that both adults and kids alike will absolutely love, for it brings out the explorer in all of us. Ingenious schemes combined with a remarkable and quite extraordinary plot, left me in awe of Eoin Colfer's genius as a writer.

This exclusive, limited edition book contains extra material including another Artemis Fowl story inside, which contains even more fairy action and adventure! Additionally inside is an announcement regarding Colfer's new novel based on the incredible Douglas Adam's science-fiction series "The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy", and if that wasn't tempting enough snippets on the other books and `Artemis Fowl: the graphic Novel' are included.

Enter Artemis Fowl's wicked world at ~ artemisfowl.co.uk

Amid heart-pounding intensity and electric tension is a deeply engrossing storyline, which is so jam-packed and highly readable that it will have you clutching the pages tightly throughout. I love these books and cannot enthuse enough about Artemis Fowl who is so fantastic! If you love science-fiction and time travel, exploration and danger (complete with a colorful cast of captivating characters and curious creatures), then you will truly enjoy this spellbinding read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By Angus Nicholson, 7 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. Simon L. Head "Shed" (Old Windsor, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Artemis Fowl is a fantasy book about a teenage criminal mastermind who discovered subterranean fairies. It is an action-packed book filled with wacky characters and jokes.
The plot is about Artemis having to travel back in time to find a cure to save his mother. The cure is a lemur which Artemis had killed when he was ten-years old because Mother had spent the money that Artemis was going to use to help try and get back his father who was taken by the mafia. This was a childish piece of revenge and he's now going to have to retrieve it from his younger-self's clutches.
Artemis, until recently, had been a criminal sought on becoming the most powerful one in the world until he discovered that that wasn't the most important thing in life. Now, he had a new outlook on life and was using his brains, power and wealth to help the environment and he had now given up his criminal lifestyle. You see that Artemis is now a family man with two younger brothers and is set on making his family's life as enjoyable as possible.
The storyline was brilliantly thought out with characters from the different books reappearing. However, you started to become slightly confused as you began to wonder who was from the present and who was from the past, so it started to turn into mayhem. Once having discovered where you were in the book (after reading it back a few times), it was a very entertaining read. The story kept going at a fast pace so you were always on the edge of your chair. I was gripped from start to finish so the author succeeded in that department yet the plot became, in some places, too thick to handle.
Overall, it was a great book and I would happily re-read it over and over again as it was a vastly enthralling experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fowl wishes, 19 Sept. 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It's been two years since the last entry in the Artemis Fowl series, and although Eoin Colfer's Airman was enough to sustain me during that time I would prefer them to come once every year. But I do understand that authors need to try something new one in a while.

This entry has Artemis and Holly jump eight years into the past to find a cure for a rare disease that is about to be lost forever with an nearly-extinct species of lemur. But since Young Artemis was the one responsible for the animal's demise it's not going to be so easy for them to outwit and outmaneuver their rivals. Obviously the plan does not go smoothly and the mayhem escalates until the closing chapters.

Anyone who hasn't read the previous five books (and if not, why not?) won't have a clue what's going on here, and sound knowledge of the series is needed in order to fully keep up with the story. I did begin to notice a few plot holes here and there and a couple of bits that didn't make exact quantum physical sense, but that's why it's called 'The Time Paradox' after all. Colfer must have a wonderfully active imagination to keep a hold of all this in his mind before writing it down.

It sets up the story for another sequel but I would like to see Artemis and Holly move on as friends next time instead of them always falling in and out, I've had enough of that, and the lack of love between them cost this entry a star. Still, a solid 4/5 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got the magic, 14 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just finished reading Artemis Fowl and The Time Paradox and I'm happy to say that I really enjoyed it. It's difficult to sustain a series without it getting old and repetitive, but I think Colfer has managed it. Maybe it's because it's been a while since the last in the series came out, I don't know, but I loved it. I was gripped by the action while still learning new things about the characters and having a laugh along the way as well. Bring on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books, 4 Oct. 2008
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adult's view!, 11 Aug. 2008
By 
S. Gordon (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and I'm so pleased to see that Eoin Colfer never fails to produce another exciting chapter Artemis Fowl's life. I really do love the way that all the main characters have more depth and personality with each new story. I'd recommend this book to mud people of all ages!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox
Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews