Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Published on 18 Aug 2008 by M. Warren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by Tina


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- Another Great bok By Eoin, 18 Aug 2008
By 
M. Warren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the Artemis books but definitely worth reading!, 16 April 2009
I am a big fan of this series, and have read and re-read each installment with glee. This is not my favourite of the series and I have re-read it less often. However, it is still a fantastic and enjoyable book that I would heartily recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis gets Kraken, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Those who have been faithfully following this series will know that this is book six of the adventures of the teenaged criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl II.

Picking up at Fowl Manor, we learn that three years have passed while Artemis was otherwise occupied, and that he now has two brothers, twins named Beckett and Myles. This book goes in a different direction to the previous plot, making no mention of some of the characters introduced in The Lost Colony. There are references to certain events, but other than the main characters, most of the story is new material.

As the title implies, an older and more mature Artemis Fowl enlists the help of his friend Captain Holly Short, dwarf Mulch Diggums and the imp warlock No.1 to journey to the past to correct a mistake he made earlier in his eventful life. His mother has contracted a rare disease that can only be cured by an extract from the brain of an extinct lemur, and ironically, the extinction was hastened by young Fowl himself.

The time trip gets very complicated when Artemis matches wits with his younger self, and rescuing the lemur from Dr. Damon Kronski, leader of the Extinctionists cult, proves to be much easier planned than achieved. To make it more complicated, there's now a fledgling romantic situation in play, and the return of an enemy from the past who also wants possession of the lemur.

Artemis isn't as devious and diabolical as in earlier books, but to his credit, the kid is growing up and has other things on his mind. This book is action-packed with the usual gadgetry and humor, but as is the case with time paradoxes, it is sometimes hard to keep things straight. The plot also has several twists, obviously getting even twistier in the final chapters. The story ends with an obvious hint for another book.

And "What about the Kraken?" you may ask. Well, that part of the story is explosive, to say the least.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as all the others, and better!, 17 Aug 2008
By 
This book has everything we all liked about the previous Artemis Fowl books:
* A pacy page-turning plot
* Entertaining dialogue and humour all the way through
* Lots of action, never a dull chapter

Arty's mother is ill and the only cure comes from a lemur, the last of which died eight years previously. Warlock Demon Number 1 sends Artemis and Holly back in time to rescue the last of the lemurs.

I liked two things in particular...

It's very funny, the humour is at a new level compared with the earlier books. Reading about Artemis battling with his 10-year old self is very funny, as they wise-crack and try to outwit each other. Artemis has to battle with others, and Dr Damon Kronski is one of the funniest characters in all the books. The humour is drier and cleverer than before.

There's lots of plot twists, and lots of time paradoxes. The way they are all woven together is brilliant. I had lots of fun trying to figure out how all the time paradoxes worked.

If you liked books 1-5, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastical fantasy/ sci-fi futuristic adventure which will get your heart pounding!, 12 May 2013
Reminiscent of `Doctor Who', Artemis Fowl is a young criminal genius travelling through time to face man-eating Trolls, high-tech Faries and flame-throwing Goblins. You could not find a children's/ teens adventure story with so much inspired creative vision beyond your wildest imagination; it is very exciting!

In `Artemis Fowl and the time paradox' he swaps criminal activity for a little bit of magic, (although complete with mayhem) Artemis travels through time to try and steal a cure from a devious mastermind, which he hopes will help his mother who is extremely ill. With, Fairy ally Captain Holly Short by his side, Artemis must face his deadliest enemy yet...

This brilliantly drawn tale is engagingly vivid, exciting and full of dry wit and humor that will make you laugh-out-loud. Reading one of Artemis' adventures is like reading a comic strip filled with non-stop action and nail-biting drama, which leaves you completely and utterly breathless. This is a real page-turner and one that both adults and kids alike will absolutely love, for it brings out the explorer in all of us. Ingenious schemes combined with a remarkable and quite extraordinary plot, left me in awe of Eoin Colfer's genius as a writer.

This exclusive, limited edition book contains extra material including another Artemis Fowl story inside, which contains even more fairy action and adventure! Additionally inside is an announcement regarding Colfer's new novel based on the incredible Douglas Adam's science-fiction series "The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy", and if that wasn't tempting enough snippets on the other books and `Artemis Fowl: the graphic Novel' are included.

Enter Artemis Fowl's wicked world at ~ artemisfowl.co.uk

Amid heart-pounding intensity and electric tension is a deeply engrossing storyline, which is so jam-packed and highly readable that it will have you clutching the pages tightly throughout. I love these books and cannot enthuse enough about Artemis Fowl who is so fantastic! If you love science-fiction and time travel, exploration and danger (complete with a colorful cast of captivating characters and curious creatures), then you will truly enjoy this spellbinding read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good 'un, 30 April 2009
Great book, as always. Funny and the whole time travel business is dealt with excellently when it could be quite baffling... Go and read it :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got the magic, 14 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just finished reading Artemis Fowl and The Time Paradox and I'm happy to say that I really enjoyed it. It's difficult to sustain a series without it getting old and repetitive, but I think Colfer has managed it. Maybe it's because it's been a while since the last in the series came out, I don't know, but I loved it. I was gripped by the action while still learning new things about the characters and having a laugh along the way as well. Bring on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the better AF books, 4 Oct 2008
I would definitely agree with Guest Reviewer Mo's write-up that this is the weakest of all the AF books, particularly after 'The Lost Colony', which was just brilliant. It does feel that Colfer is re-visiting old stuff and rehashing it, although there is a good twist at the end. Having said this, it was still a good read, and fans of the AF series will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adult's view!, 11 Aug 2008
By 
S. Gordon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and I'm so pleased to see that Eoin Colfer never fails to produce another exciting chapter Artemis Fowl's life. I really do love the way that all the main characters have more depth and personality with each new story. I'd recommend this book to mud people of all ages!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turning pleasure, 7 Aug 2008
Page turning, pleasurable and just about smashing all round. I have read all the Arty books and this one does not fail to disappoint. Unlike many others I found The Lost Colony a bit of a let down but having Artemis afce himself in this somewhat psychological teen book works very well. Of course Holly and Foaly provide many a dash here, dash there type adventure.
The best thing about thses books is the way Colfer dosn't shy away form big words, or twists in the plot. All in all a very satisfying read.
Eoin colfer has a great imagnation and has created a really enjoyable series of books.
Perfect for teens and adults alike in my mind.
If you liked this you should also try
The Spook's Apprentice: No.1
The Elements of Lore - Volume 1 of The Books of Lore: 1
Artemis Fowl
Or to keep younger readers quiet whilst you enjoy Arty get them these modern day Fairy Tales.
Spiderwick Collector's Trunk (Spiderwick Chronicles)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox
Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews