Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant instalment in the Artemis Fowl series
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is...
Published on 9 Dec 2003 by Will Lockwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this book better than the rest?
When i heard Eoin Colfer was to release another book from the Artemis Fowl series i jmped at the chance to pre-order it. But one thought was niggling in my mind, could it be as good as the magnificent pair before it?
I recieved it and read intensely overthe nigh, by the morning i had finished it, it was so good i did not putit down once, however it began with a...
Published on 21 May 2003 by luke_jones2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl Strikes Again!, 4 Jun 2003
By A Customer
I suggest you read the first 2 books (Artemis Fowl & Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident) before starting the Eternity Code.
This book is fun to read and easy to get into. People of all ages enjoy reading about Artemis who is a rich criminal genius, an anti-hero, in fact, who makes a refreshing change from all the jolly decent chaps around in children's literature these days......
Artemis, after discovering the People (fairy folk), continues to exploit them & their highly advanced technology, with which he creates a small, wireless, and practically priceless super computer. However in the wrong hands this precious little object could reveal the fairy folk's whereabouts to unscrupulous mud people....
The pace is fast-moving and the wide variety of characters makes for some highly entertaining action coupled with witty Raymond Chandler-like dialogue. I read the book aloud to my family and though there were times when we chorused 'oh no, not another flashback!',we enjoyed the book a lot. I have to say that the first in the series is still my favourite, but I do hope that Eoin Colfer gives us more rollicking high-tech cyber thrills in a fourth adventure some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jr. journalist, 8 April 2004
By 
jr. journalist (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
My fav of the 3 books was The Eternity Code. I loved its storytelling techniques and the characters are nothing short of amazing. If you like technology, humour, weird animals and missions, then you'll love this book. One thing i am not sure about is the code at the bottom of each page. I have not cracked it yet and i am desperate to find out what it says. Anyone who does know, please contact me on carmen_tammy@hotmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Is this book better than the rest?, 21 May 2003
When i heard Eoin Colfer was to release another book from the Artemis Fowl series i jmped at the chance to pre-order it. But one thought was niggling in my mind, could it be as good as the magnificent pair before it?
I recieved it and read intensely overthe nigh, by the morning i had finished it, it was so good i did not putit down once, however it began with a huge upset and created many questions about how the series could continue, infact throught the whole book you will probably be thinking wheather or not this is the end. I'm not going to tell you.
The book uses the same formula ar the previous installment and so does not provide as many surprises, althought there are a few extremely exciting twists toward the end. This is a good book but not as inventive as the previous two. I still believe the 2nd was slightly inferior to the 1st, which was a landmark in childrens literature.
I do not discourage you from reading this book, but wouls advise you to invest in the first book as it will never be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book., 10 May 2003
Now with Artemis father found and alive, it's an end to Artemis' criminal achivments. But Artemis is determind to do one last deed before he settles into more legal interprises, after all with Butler what can go wrong. But while showing off his C Cube to an american buissness man, tides turn and Butler is left mortally wounded. Only the people will be able to help.
But under the earth people have problems of their own. The power system has been cut and the back up system running. It can mean only one thing - the humans survillence systems have beaten the peoples, and who knows what the mud men will do now they no about the underground world.
But together Holly Short, Mulch Diggums, Artemis and Juliet Butler can steal back the C Cube, and so save the peoples way of life. But the conditon is that Artemis, Butler and Juliet get mind wiped.
This a very good book, similar to the others, but it brings the trilogy to a fantastic end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars artimas fowl, 14 Jun 2004
This is a great book i would reccomend it to anybody definately worth buying p.s. if you found the reveiw below helpful please mark it on this one as i dont know how to delete my other reveiw p.p.s. i know i spelt subtle wrong (sorry). Anyway buy this now. also by the same author - the other two artimas fowls (three if you count the seventh dwarf), the wish list and the supernaturalist. 9-10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It won't take you an eternity to read this! You'll devour it!, 20 Dec 2006
By 
Trixy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
When our favourite teenage criminal mastermind creates a computer from purloined fairy technology, you can imagine what the huge consequences could be for the People living on and below the earth would be... (enough said) But, rest assured, Artemis isn't going to sell it - he's having a rather nice lunch with callous american businessman Jon Spiro; where he will unveil his miracle of technology. Butler will be with him so nothing will go wrong.

But it does, and when Spiro closes his grubby hands onto it, it is disastrous. It seems that Artemis can never beat the man - he is a toy for Spiro's enjoyment. Always one step behind.

But, with Fairy technology on his side, and feisty Captain Holly Short can Artemis prevail over the 'foe'? There is a lot at stake here, but will Artemis win?

Fabulous and gripping stuff. Grab a copy of delight...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Dust Magic, 13 Aug 2003
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Artemis Fowl is back for one last heist, before comtemplating an honest life. One last deal, and he walks the straight and narrow in accordance with his dad's wishes.
From salvaged fairy technology, he has built the C-Cube, a technological marvel, capable of tapping into any system. Unfortunately, he shows it to the wrong person, and it is stolen in a highly-charged, high-octane opening section.
The cube must be retrieved or the fairy world could be exposed. He calls on Holly, Foaly and other familiar magical characters, including Mulch the dwarf, who makes a hilarious appearance. Butler plays less of a part in this novel, allowing his young sister Juliet, who is much more interested in wrestling, to come to the fore.
For a children's book this is packed full of adventure and technology (all fairy created). Some of the detail will only be truly appreciated by an older child or adult reader. But there is no doubt that it is a good story which moves along at a lively pace. Colfer has struck fairy gold again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl- the Eternity Code, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This book is not to be missed. The Eternity Code, the latest book in the Artemis Fowl series, transports you on a whole new journey of thrilling fantasy. Eoin Colfer combines fast, punchy wit with an original plot to create an amazing cinematic adventure. Although it is recommended that the first books are read first, one can pick up the story and fully understand what is going on in the 12 year old genius' criminal mind without having read the previous books, something not possible without excellent characterisation, detailed but quick reflections on past events and intriguing storytelling- writing qualities that Eoin Colfer, without a doubt, has got mastered.
I highly recommend that you discover for yourselves the laugh-out-loud jokes, high-tech wizardry and pure, enjoyable fantasy locked away in this precious gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boy Genius does it again (with help from his friends), 8 May 2003
By 
P. M. Esq "hurumphh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Artemis Fowl, boy genuis, has promised his parents that he will turn over a new leaf and give up his life of crime. That is, except for one more job. Unfortunately, he chooses the wrong person to blackmail. So begins Artemis' most dangerous mission to date. This will threaten not only his own life, but that of his family and close friends. Fairyland (not what you may think!) is also threatened by the fall of their technology (originally stolen by Artemis) into the wrong hands. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I would suggest, however, reading the first two books in the series before reading this, the third book. Without this, many of the references might be confusing - even with helpful memory joggers in the book about earlier plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life is good when there is a new AF on the block!, 30 May 2003
This book lives up to all expectations and the standards set by the first two. It's lively, funny, fast paced and the plot is brilliant. This book, however, has a different side of artemis - he is more thoughtful and he is much less evil. This is kind of bad.
The best bit of Artemis Fowl was always the fact that he was evil and everything - the first book was great, the second book was good but artemis was getting tied down with family and now, by the third he is not only attached to his family and his bodyguard but ALSO all the fairies.
Everything gets very teary towards the end and it's all a bit emotional for a really good Artemis Fowl book, but it doesn't really matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code by Eoin Colfer (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews